We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Jacaranda Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Jacaranda Inn to your Saves list
Hostel Jacaranda Inn
216 Calle Choquechaca, Cusco Cusc 01, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The assistance offered by the staff was terrific.... Nothing was too much trouble for them to do for their guests..... Very friendly people as well......We would recommend the staff as the most efficient and helpful people that we have encountered during our travels throughout Central and South America.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

There are plenty of very average places in Cuzco. The difference is that this place was a lot cheaper than the others I saw. I paid US$11 per night, and it was worth every penny! You get a sleepable bed in your own room with warm blankets and a clean shared bathroom. Because nobody was staying in the rooms near mine, it turned out to be a private bathroom. The showers feature lukewarm water. Very quiet at night. The place seemed relatively clean, but I avoided looking too closely at the bedding. When I returned for a follow-up stay after leaving Cuzco for a few days, I was even offered a towel, a roll of TP, and a little bar of soap. The proprietors, who appear to be a married couple, seem like they would rather be doing something else and don't understand much English, but we managed to communicate the basics. When I mentioned that the knob in the shower on the third floor transferred an electric current to my hand when I touched it, the gentleman expressed his appreciation for sharing this information. (Based on the rubric of cleanliness before safety, I decided to keep on showering, and turned it off by shielding my hand with some clothing.) At that price, though, I really couldn't complain.

Room Tip: Watch out for the electrifying shower on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

really enjoyed staying here,awsome staff,super friendly hostel.great value for money.delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

great location and value with lots of friendly staff with lots of local tips and advice,would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

A perfect place to stay in cusco if you dont want a party hostel. Small hostel, friendly staff, big rooms and great beds. Clean, comfortable and happy with good security.Great lounge with cable tv and lots of new release dvds to relax in after a hard day of touring,nice kitchen and common areas.Good internet as well and wi-fi throught out all the hostel A great place to stay. Fantastic value for money

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

It is in a good location just 2 blocks from the plaza.The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean.Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

The good is that the chap on the front desk tries to help, and they store luggage whilst youre away on trips.. The bad news is that the rooms need cleaning, cobwebs and dirty carpets although the bedding was clean. The shared bathrooms were horrid. The noise at night was also distracting through ear plugs - people shouting and on mobile phones at 3am. Itn wouldnt take a lot to improve this place - but having some quiet would be a start !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Jacaranda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Jacaranda Inn

Address: 216 Calle Choquechaca, Cusco Cusc 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacaranda Inn Hostel is a restored colonial house with modern quiet comfortable rooms and friendly helpful staff. We are located in the traditional and tourist safe San Blas neighbourhood just 2 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, bars, restaurants and shops. We offer comfortable and cosy dorm rooms as well as single, twin and double private rooms with shared bathrooms. Facilities include internet + wi-fi, lounge with cable TV, luggage storage, laundry service and a tours desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Jacaranda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Jacaranda Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.