We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco

Save Saved
You added Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Carmen Bajo # 257, Cusco 0000, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 237 Cusco B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nice rooms, nice interior patio, ok service at the reception. Upon request they brought heaters and hairdryers to our rooms. Breakfast could be better, there was no fruit. However their juices were excellent! And tea and coffee were available free all day long.

Location: close to the beautiful Plaza San Blas and Pacha Papa restaurant, 10 – 15 minutes walk to the Cuzco Cathedral … but beware that it is very uphill when you walk back.

Hotel has 3 floors and rooms are located around the main patio, most rooms have only windows into the patio. My room 203 was very nice!

Room Tip: Recommendable rooms (double bed) 203 and 204 on the second floor – really nice rooms with a window t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Director General at Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Huésped
Agradecemos sus comentarios, cada día nos esforzamos para brindar un mejor servicio para que el cliente se lleve una buena experiencia.

Éxitos y muy buena salud para que sigan disfrutando de sus viajes.
Atentamente.
Hotel Apu Huascaran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    35
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
33
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Apu arranged to have us picked up from the airport, at their cost. Even though we had gotten an earlier flight than planned, they accommodated us, and gave us an early check-in. Upon arrival we were shooed away from our luggage, which they took upstairs for us, and we were immediately offered a coca matte, before any other business was conducted. The courtyard is lovely and cool. We had one exterior room, which was fine but very loud. The interior room was great, and we had an excellent night's sleep. The bathroom was very basic, but the water was hot. Breakfast was of the continental variety, cheese and breads, jams and butter, coffee, tea, and juice. Eggs are available, but you have to ask for them. We liked the place enough that we came back to it a couple weeks later for another stay.

But the true above and beyond was the manager, Luis, who on top of being a warm and concerned host, went out of his way to accompany me and my girlfriend to the Terminale, an area of Cuzco that he considered dangerous, where we were heading to hire a collectivo (large taxi) to Ollantaytambo. He not only insisted on going with us, he was invaluable in negotiating a fair price for us. His concern for his guests and his genuine desire to make our stay at Apu a pleasant one stands out as one of the most best lodging experiences we had in Peru.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room, they are very quiet. Rm 208 has a loft and double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Director General at Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Joanne
Gracias por su comentario, esperamos que estén bien y disfrutando de la vida.
nuevamente mil gracias y esperamos que vuelvan
éxitos y buena salud.

Atentamente.
Hotel Apu Huascaran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a very nice hostal in a nice location and within walking distance of stores & restaurants. The staff was very hospitable and friendly. Also breakfast was delicious. The manager Luis is the best. We communicated before the trip and he was very prompt in his response. He was very helpful in planning tours and was always concerned for our well being. A memorable trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Director General at Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario y que bueno que todo haya sido de su agrado.
Éxitos y buena salud para seguir viajando.

Atentamente.
Luis Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I was annoyed greatly by the lack of WiFi. I stayed on the third floor, which did not help my cause, but even sitting next to the routers, WiFi was unavailable. Things could have been solved easily if there was a communal PC, but there was none. Also, there were no nearby Internet shops. If you need to make plans, find a restaurant, book a trip, etc., you will have to go elsewhere and far.

Also, Cusco is a cold city, all year round. Why not have heaters in the rooms all year round? I had to freeze on the first night and then I was able to get a heater for the second night and the rest of my stay. Of course, the lack of heaters was just an annoyance compared to the lack of hot water. I was not able to take a good shower at that hostal. Yes, maybe my blood pressure is better, and yes, some spas have cold water showers, but that is not what I paid for. This was very annoying, and unacceptable.

On the good side, they are very pleasing, very helpful, the beds are very clean and soft, the rooms are basic rooms. And like the rest of all the other accommodations, they will hold your luggage, offer free breakfast, offer mate de coca.

Obviously, this review is not to knock them down, but so that they improve. If you can do without WiFi, heat, and hot water, Apu Huascaran is for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Director General at Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Julio
Buenas tardes, lamentamos enormemente los malos momentos.
Somos conscientes del problema ocasionado y queremos trasmitir nuestra mas sinceras disculpas.
Hemos indagado y sobre el Wi Fi fue un problema de nuestro proveedor causado por los constantes movimientos sísmicos que hubo en la costa del pacifico.
Reiteramos nuestra más sincera disculpa y quedamos a su disposición para cualquier cosa.
Agradecemos su tiempo.
Atentamente.
Luis Sanchez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szekesfehervar, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Duration: 2+1
Pros:
- Nice, clean rooms
- Warm water, tea, coffee all the day
- Very nice garden, under roof

Cos:
- Sometimes the wifi don't work well

We had 2+1 nights here. All the rooms were perfect, clean. The staff not perfect in english, but they can speak. The breakfast is good. They let us to use the kitchen, the microwave oven to make our dinner.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumayaq Hostal C, Director General at Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Google Translation
Estimados Amigos
Gracias por compartir su experiencia y gracias por su preferencia.

Atentamente.

Hotel Apu Huascaran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

It is a very nice hostal, with friendly people, the manager Louis helped us very much in all are trip to Peru it has a very good location near the main streets. Very good rooms and also very warm with all the cold. I had a great time

Thanks for making my trip to Peru remarkable

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Director General at Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Isabella
Gracias por tu comentario y por compartir tu experiencia en el Hotel Apu Huascaran.
esperemos que estés bien y que sigas disfrutando de la vida, muchos Éxitos y buena salud.

Atentamente.

Team Hotel Apu Huascaran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel is welcoming with great service. Rooms are spacious with running hot water, room service and comfortable bed. Excellent buffet breakfast.
Close to main square and most facilities and shops.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Director General at Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Mitchell
Thank you for your time and comments, we are happy for your preference and the experience you get.
We wish you the best and hope you come back.
Kind regards

Hostal Apu Huascaran San Blas Cusco Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco

Address: Carmen Bajo # 257, Cusco 0000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huascaran Hostal Apu, opened its doors on April 28, 2010, The unique location of our hostel in the neighborhood of San Blas, allows our guests to live an exciting and unique experience in the historic center of this ancient city, known to the colonial legacy and Inca walking through the streets and visiting the various sights, among them the Plaza de Armas, the Cathedral, the San Blas district and archaeological sites of Sacsayhuaman, Q'enko, Puca Pucara and Tambomachay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apu Huascaran Hostal - Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.