We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Italy's pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pizza Carlo

La Pizza Carlo
Calle 381 Maruri, Cusco, Peru
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 466 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian, Pizza, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than Italy's pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

OMG...Best pizza ever...Was very disappointed with pizza in Italy and was not expecting much from Peru. Totally surprised at how delicious the pizza at La Pizza Carlo was.
Small restaurant with about 4-5 tables. Seems family operated. Very friendly.Best recommendation from our Tour Director.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    66
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, IL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly, Honest, and Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a tiny hole-in-the-wall gem in Cusco. We had a great lunch here. We watched the pizza being handmade from fresh ingredients (he even shredded the cheese by hand), then baked in the wood oven.

The menu is varied and extensive - look for the Glossary of translated terms on one of the front pages.

They don't accept credit cards - just soles and US dollars. The owner, proactively, figured out the amounts due and change to be given in both currencies before we paid - proving that he used a fair and decent exchange rate, We were impressed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Pizza & very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

After walking around Cusco with people trying to push us into their restaurants for about an hour my partner and I found Carlos Pizza half by accident but am so glad we did. The restaurant has a very homely feel and the pizza oven added to the warmth. The pizzas were great and the service very friendly. I'm from Australia and said to my partner when I left that if ever back in Cusco again I'm coming back here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Pizza house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a pizza in a different restaurant a few days before and the base was all wrong it was like a biscuit base. I was telling people in my tour group about it and they told me to go here that they did proper italian type pizza, and they were correct. My husband and I shared a caesar salad to start and then we each had a pizza. The food was all delicious, reasonably cheap. The staff were very friendly and really nice. Anyone in Cusco wants a pizza. go here.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Pizza house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

A small wood fired pizza house seating about 12 people. The pizzas or othe dishes are made on a bench in the restaurant and the cooking process was watched by all in the restaurant. Good quality ingredients, excellent hospitality and reasonably priced. Would strongly recomend the "PAZZA"

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pizza Carlo also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to La Pizza Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pizza Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.