We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oasis in bustling city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andean Wings Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Andean Wings Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Siete Cuartones 225, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Cusco
chicago,IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful oasis in bustling city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This boutique hotel provided a great oasis from the strenuous hikes, the hill climbing and street strolling that is Cusco. An attentive staff was eager to please and the rooms were delightful. The central location made it easy to walk anywhere in the city.

Room Tip: This is a wonderful boutique hotel that has excellent service while maintaining a unique, Peruvian f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicago_ILComcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before going to Machu Picchu & were sad that we couldn't stay there when we returned but they were completely booked before we even left on our trip. The staff was very helpful & arranged for a private tour guide to take us through the ruins in the Sacred Valley. Tea & coffee were available all of the time. Breakfast was very good. They had the best granola in all of Peru! Rooms were comfortable & clean. Walls were very thin & we had very noisy neighbors the second night. We could hear their 4 am wake-up call which they never answered & the staff finally went up to their room to get them up for their train trip. We had booked 2 rooms & but they were on opposite ends. Too bad we weren't closer to our daughter as then we would have been able to share her nice sitting room outside her room. We liked this hotel much better than the one we stayed at after returning from Machu Picchu due to the staff, location & breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madannie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A very nice boutique hotel that was made better by the excellent staff. Being close to the main square of the city, I would definitely recommend this as a base for the many things to do in Cusco.

Breakfast food was excellent, but you might want the chef to lessen the salt on any of the menu items. This seemed to be true at most restaurants in Cusco anyway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Another Great Hotel in Peru. Amazing value, great service. Our room was called the Golden Matrimony, Beautiful ambiance. People were amazing and helpful. Room was slightly smaller than i expected but it wasn't a concern, we loved the set up and comfort of the room. we checked in very late so we didn't explore a lot but it was a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adeysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our honeymoon before and after doing our Inca Jungle Trek. This hotel is absolutely stunning and tranquil, and a perfect location. We stayed in the Saksaywaman room for two nights before our trek and the Illary Suite the night after, which has its own Jacuzzi in the room. The décor is colonial style and absolutely beautiful. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the inclusive breakfast was a buffet style with lots of choice, situated in a courtyard style dining area. The location is perfect, 5 minutes walk from the main square, and the bar is very cosy with a log fire for the cold nights. Cusco is a magical place, but this hotel made our stay and honeymoon complete.

Room Tip: The Illary Suite is a little more, but completely worth it, especially if you have completed the Inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in March during a one week trip to Peru. Small boutique hotel. Front desk area very small. There is a small bar and separate restaurant area.
Service - good, nothing special. Did continually get asked to look at spa menu and consider services, can get annoying after awhile. Did book one city tour through the front desk, which was okay, but ended up being a larger group tour, so nothing special.
Room - We stayed in the Purple Haze suite. Room was clean, had a piano (cute touch) and jacuzzi tub. Bathroom was otherwise small. Water pressure not great, but it is an old building, so hard to fault them for that.
Bad things about the room - No curtains over skylights and high windows, so definitely difficult to sleep. Also close to church nearby, so woken early by church bells. Wifi did not work in our room, had to go out to bar or restaurant area to use internet.
Breakfast - was just okay, definitely nothing average.
Location was okay. It was off side street ~5 min walk from Plaza de Armas, streets are quite dark at night. We probably would have preferred to be a little closer to the plaza
Overall, it was a good stay. We would probably stay somewhere different next time though because of noise and location.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

And the hotel still apparently feels that is sufficient enough of a reason for a weary traveler to put up with Andean Wings.

In comparison to the other places we stayed: the JW Mariott in Cusco, the Casa Andina Private Collection in Lima, Swissotel in Lima, and the Hotel Tapikaya in Aguas Calientes---the only hotel that even came close to comparing to Andean Wings was the Tapikaya. And if you were to in fact do a Tripadvisor search for said hotel, you would find many of the reviews in this much cheaper hotel to be in line with Andean wings---which I had to pay nearly $200/night.

If I were to do this trip over, perhaps the only thing I would change is our selection of the hotel.

First, the good:
-Rooms were well decorated and had a great aesthetic
-The bar was cool and the bartender pleasant

Then, the bad:
-Indifferent staff who nickel and dimed you for ANYTHING---you want a cab to the airport? Well thats cute you're speaking in spanish but I know you're an American so lets get you a cab that costs over $10 sol more than the one at the JW Mariott
-Coca Tea, which every other hotel had out in the open for guests to drink, in hopes of alleviating motion sickness? Nah, not here. And black coffee? You have to pay for that. At reception.
-Originally they tried to stick us in two twin beds, which I specifically paid an upgrade fee to avoid---luckily the man who helped us made sure we got a king.
-Paper thin walls, we had to be up at 6a for a flight out the next morning and were worried about not waking up---not to fear! We had a room on the first floor and hear thumping, clanking, and dropping of machinery seemed to happen in front of our room. And don't mind they gave us a wake up call at 5am---which was not requested.
-Restaurant was always eerily empty, as was the bar. I'm sure other people stayed here, but apparently there were not lively central areas. Oh, no free breakfast either. Not a deal breaker but worth noting.
-10:30am checkout. Didn't bother us since we were on our way out, but seriously? Is this to nickel and dime you to pay for late check out? To charge a fee to store your bags? Who knows, but I didn't bother to ask.
-As far as location---I should mention this is on a side street not really in the middle of town and a rowdy fight broke out the night we stayed there, in front of the hotel in the street/square.

In all I felt like this hotel was trying to make itself appear to be hip, modern, and luxurious enough to boast A-list celebs, but given the quality of service, lack of extras, and just overall rude vibe I got---I would prefer to have taken my $200+ USD elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becker4254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#7 of 157 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Cusco
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#22 of 157 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
#18 of 157 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andean Wings Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andean Wings Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Siete Cuartones 225, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Andean Wings Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel is a charming and majestic boutique hotel where the perfect mixture of style, harmony and top-of-the-line aesthetics blend. Located in a renovated 16th century Spanish colonial house, it lies just two blocks away from the Plaza de Armas of Cusco, the true heart of the Peruvian Andes. We provide all the amenities of a five-star hotel combined with the modern concept of a Boutique Hotel, promising personalized services, uniquely decorated rooms full of antiques and original works of art - simple, yet luxurious pleasures for our guests. Our objective is to offer our visitors a warm and welcoming stay which surpasses most other hotels in the area and thereby complimenting their travels in Peru. Try our menu at Mandela's Restaurant & Tapas Bar, located in the hotel's colonial courtyard, a cuisine created to delight the most discerning of palates. We offer a fabulous repertoire of International-Peruvian Fusion Cuisine using the highest culinary techniques in the world - try our exquisite Lomo Saltado and our famous Grilled Trout accompanied with Yellow Pepper Risotto, or enjoy our new Cusquenian flag cocktail, the Tic'aPukalla'c, a unique beverage that simply defines freshness and flavor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Andean Wings Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing