We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative hotel, best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andenes al Cielo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andenes al Cielo
Save
You added Andenes al Cielo to your Saves list
176 Calle Choquechaca | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 256 Cusco B&B and Inns
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superlative hotel, best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were three generations at Andenes for four nights and we could not have been happier. One, it is beautiful; two, it is conveniently located near the historic district, main plaza, shopping, restaurants; three, the breakfasts are more than ample with the freshest of fruits, juices and generous made-to-order omelettes. We were well fortified for an active day. The hotel itself is beautiful with a rock wall garden in the interior where large green humming birds can be observed fertilizing cascading flowers. All the amenities are top notch and the most important piece, the staff and service, put this hotel in a category of excellence all by itself. Javier and his staff are old world gracious, efficient, warm, thoughtful. We felt at home, well cared for. We hope to return.

Room Tip: no pool or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    93
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
62
139
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel should be far more expensive than it is. It's located just a few short blocks from Monasterio and other high end hotels and generally has the same bones that the great hotels in the area have. The rooms are clean and modestly furnished and the courtyard is peaceful and quiet (maybe overly quiet). The staff, service level and overall interior design is what holds this hotel back. Staff seems to be local, and well intentioned but not well trained. So much potential here. Some investor should buy this hotel and transform it. But until that happens, know that this is a good choice in the heart of the city, with much more affordable room rates than many others nearby. Ask for an upgraded suite with a fireplace - its worth the extra $20 USD. Breakfast is adequate and included. Easy walk to many great restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Upgrade to room with fireplace and windows overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed twice for a total of 4 nights during our 10 day visit to Peru. The staff, rooms, breakfasts and atmosphere are exceptional. The views include the Christo Blanco as well as a beautiful panorama of the city. The hotel is minutes walking from the Plaza. We'll stay there again when we next return to Cusco. We were two families: grandparents plus a young couple with two children under 8.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter for sleeping during the daytime. Room 305 has spectacular view of Christ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place proved to be a great value for money in Cusco. Service was very kind, helpful and responsive, we really enjoyed talking with them. The place was very clean and well taken care of. Everything that you need if you are looking for a place where you can stay in the heart of Cusco (the location is really good). The only "but" is that we came by car and they were not totally helpful in giving us recommendations about garage locations where we could leave our car. They could have made a reservation for us but they did not offer even if I asked them if they could help us. We went to the garage they referred when we arrived and it was an expensive dirty hole.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

After a long TA search we settled on Andenes al Cielo for our stay in Cusco. We booked two of the deluxe rooms along the avenue and one single room facing the courtyard. In sum it was a great stay. We found the arrangements easy to make in advance of our trip, confirming our rooms and flight by email several months in advance. The hotel sent a taxi to pick us up at the airport and had our rooms ready upon arrival. The rooms are large, very clean, with reliable hot water and firm mattresses. The hotel is really beautiful and really well-made. Breakfast is included in the morning and they had a range of options - eggs cooked to order, fresh fruit, breads and jam. There is also American coffee and coca tea. During the day there is a lounge and a computer for your use and you can make more tea if you like. What was most impressive was the kindness and helpfulness of the staff. They helped us make arrangements for tours that were very reasonably priced and very high quality. On the morning that we left at 5:30am for an excursion they called to see whether they could arrange for a breakfast for us before our departure. Whenever we sat in the lounge in the evening someone would run in and build a fire in the fireplace. On our way out they covered the cost of our taxis. The location is very good - a five minute walk to the main plaza along narrow streets. Overall, this was an excellent stay and very worth the value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was one of the best places that we stayed in all of Peru. The staff was amazing, helpful and spoke very good English. It was everything that you would be looking for in a place to stay - very clean, comfortable, awesome showers (lots of hot water and pressure!!). The rooms were warm with the space heaters and extra blankets. One of the staff even escorted us to the bus depot when our cab was very late to make sure that we got there in time and were brought to the right place. We used the laundry service twice during our stay, and both times were very happy with the results. They also stored our luggage during our 5 day trek. They were also willing to rent us a room for half of a day when we were waiting for our evening bus. The location is great, walking distance to everything, and everything is very safe. Breakfast was the usual eggs/bread/fruit/cereal, but lots to eat. It may be considered a bit on the "pricey" side compared to other places in Cuzco, but it is well worth the price - if I am every back in Cuzco again, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, Wyoming, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Excellent little hotel, around two blocks from the center (Plaza de Armas) of Cusco. Clean rooms, staff were all friendly & helpful, rooms & belongings felt very secure (including luggage storage while we left for a 4-day trek).

Rooms were not large, but were comfortable & good value for the price. Had a rooftop balcony w great views over the city & surrounding mountains. Downstairs courtyard was frequently visited by hummingbirds. Had reliable Wi-Fi, though the connection was better on the second floor than the third. Hot water was a little low in supply--you probably want to shower very early or very late in the day--but that's the only thing that wasn't perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andenes al Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andenes al Cielo

Address: 176 Calle Choquechaca | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Andenes al Cielo, a boutique hotel situated in the charming artisan’s district of San Blas, in historic Cusco. A short two blocks from the main plaza, our comfortable and well-appointed 15 rooms offer a distinctive level of comfort combined with an Andean hospitality that will inspire a truly memorable stay. We invite you to enjoy our hotel’s colonial ambiance, modern amenities and many custom services tailored to your travel needs. Our friendly staff awaits you here in the imperial city of the ancient Inca. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Andenes Al Cielo Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andenes al Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.