We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tuco Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Tuco Hostel to your Saves list
El Tuco Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Av Grau 835, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 275 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

El Tuco is relatively centrally located in Cusco, with the central square within walking distance. The room was comfortable, breakfast was OK (bread rolls, jam and tea), and the showers were hot (!)

The service was good too. I got an eye infection during my stay, and they were very helpful, letting me use the phone to call my travel insurance and getting me a taxi to the doctors'.

I reccomend El Tuco wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    34
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
12
91
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just arrived at this hostel after making the 23 hour trip from lima. If you have a look on the website the only option is for double and twin rooms both at 12 dollars a night. On the website it says breakfast and kitchen facilities are both included in the price.
Anyway just arrived and the owner, coco, told us that we aren't getting breakfast or the use of the kitchen included, also towels are at a charge. No where on the website does it say this what so ever. He said the room is too cheap to include breakfast and the use of the kitchen and we need to pay an extra 10 dollars a night for these services. So actually he wants 22 dollars a night for the room which he is advertising on hostelworld and hostel bookers as 12 dollars. There are many better hostels in cusco for that price with better services and a better location. Give this place a miss.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had to stay here for a couple of weeks whilst trying to find an apartment, and ultimately it was difficult to leave. The room was comfortable, the showers really were the best... and Coco, the owner, is lovely. He's dead helpful and made us feel at home. The kitchen is decent, and we were very comfortable here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here before our inca trail trek and left our bags here with no problem without charge whilst we went. When we came back it was very welcome to have such hot showers constantly. The location is slightly out the main tourist area but its not a long walk and taxis are cheap at night. There's also a supermarket across the road. The kitchen is well equipped and the hostel is cleaned all the time.

Whilst we stayed here my boyfriend got sick and we had to extend our stay, not only were they very accommodating to us changing daily what we were doing but they sent me to the pharmacy with a list of what to buy to help. They really went above and beyond to look after us. When we eventually checked out they were happy for us to leave our bags and use the common areas including the kitchen until our bus went in the evening.

Would really recommend staying here to anyone visiting Cusco.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay only 10 minute walk to downtown felt safe at all hours walking to in from town. Cleanest place I have been to in South America and coco is very helpful and want to make ur stay enjoyable. Will def go back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in 3 hostels in Cuzco over a period of 2 weeks and this was our least favorite, mainly due to the location, the bed, and the somewhat sad atmosphere. We couldn't figure out how this hostel had such high ratings on hostelbookers until Coco approached me to say that he needed a high rating since he was in a close competition with the other top hostels and a rating of even 80% would make him fall far behind... but I thought that based on our experiences in Cusco, this hostel shouldn't be competing with the top hostels in Cuzco... So I'm posting our honest opinion.

What we liked:
1) Coco speaks great English and was always trying to be helpful (super service);
2) Room was large and clean;
3) Shower was hot and strong;
4) Wifi was good, but we wondered if this was because we were the only ones there;
5) There is a kitchen to cook and a grocery store just down the street.
Basically, this hostel will meet your basic needs.

What we disliked:
1) Location (feels unsafe around hostel at night, so have to take a taxi back, which increases the cost);
2) Sheets didn't fit the bed, so we ended up sleeping on the mattress (gross);
4) Terrible pillows; Basically, they need to replace all their bedding since it seems like it's been used for decades.
5) Breakfast was included, but it was instant coffee and bread with jam/butter (no juice or eggs).
6) The atmosphere was like staying in an old home that hadn't been updated in decades... a little sad. We stayed outside of the hostel as much as we could. This contrasted sharply with the other hostels we stayed in that had a fun atmosphere with a restaurant/bar/beanbag chairs/fun public spaces to hang out and chill...
7) Laundry was more than twice as expensive as laundry places in San Blas; Charges for soap, towels, etc... they seemed to be "nickel and diming" for everything.
7) Coco pressuring us for a 100% review, when we thought his hostel should speak for itself if it is truly worth a 100% rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at El Tuco Hostel for a few nights in September. It's not really like a hostel in that it doesn't actually have dorm rooms, but was a nice place to go for some rest and relaxation in Cusco. That said, I'd definitely recommend this place more for couples than solo travelers.

Plusses: owners were nice, wifi throughout the hostel worked very well, tea available all day, kitchen available for cooking, every room got its own bathroom, and free storage for guests (usually for people who returned after machu picchi but they even offered to keep mine for me knowing I was going to a different hotel when I got back).

Minusses: freezing cold rooms and no heaters (this was a big down side- had to sleep in all my winter gear the first night), breakfast was just rolls and jam- no eggs, and silly rules about not washing your own clothes or bringing in beer while their prices for both were very high for Cusco.

Also, depends on whether you want to be in the heart of the city or not, but the hostel was a little out of the way for getting to the main square. As someone traveling alone I would have preferred to be closer to the main square if only to feel comfortable walking back to my hostel after dark.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Tuco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tuco Hostel

Address: Av Grau 835, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 275 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Tuco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your El Tuco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tuco Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.