We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice play which make you stay longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tuco Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Tuco Hostel to your Saves list
El Tuco Hostel
Av Grau 835, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Caen, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A really nice play which make you stay longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our stay at Tuco Hostel was really good! First the hospedaje is well-situaded, not far from the centre of Cusco but not in a touristic area, which is nice. Then the hostel is great, with nice rooms (our room was big and its price was cheap!), common areas, kitchen etc... Finally, the staff is nice and Coco, the owner, is really helpful providing a lot of precious advices.

The only thing : don't do the touristic bus trip between Cusco and Puno (Coco might propose to you), it's a rip-off!! Just go with a regular company.

If I have to come back to Cusco, I'll go back to El Tuco, for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    31
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
87
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We recently stayed at El Tuco Hostel in Cusco Peru. The following are the reasons we loved it:
1. Friendly staff. The owner speaks Spanish and English. He could suggest places to go, where to catch a bus,etc. He also could inform us of Peruvian customs. Very interesting.
2. Convenient: An easy 10-15 minute walk to Plaza de Armas. Taxis are very easy to catch right in front of El Tuco.
3. We would use the kitchen to make our breakfast (you can pay a bit extra to have them make breakfast for you if you wish) and dinner. Thus saving time and money.
4. A market and grocery store was close by.
5. This hostel was filled with quiet, but very interesting guests from all over the world. We did not want to stay at a loud partying hostel so this one worked out perfectly.
6. People of all ages stay here.
7. HOT showers!!!
8. The owner, Coco, made us delicious Pisco Sours one evening.
9. Very clean.
10. They were very nice to us when it was necessary to check in at 2am due to our train/bus arrival time.

I would highly recommend this hostel and I hope I can return here someday. I would not look for any other place to stay in Cusco but El Tuco.

-Valerie Marquardt
(along with daughter Anne Brooker)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Really close to the main square, you have everything you need to relax and chill after a lond day of walking around the place you visit during the tours. The staff is great, also; Coco, the owner, is really cool and will make feel at home

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Very helpful staff and especially the owner, who knows all the trips and the city, safe luggage storage, nice big rooms with good beds, but rooms were not clean! They have a big functionary kitchen aswell as good WiFi and available computer. Can recommend this hostel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

El Tuco is a great hostel. It's quiet, relaxing, clean and has everything you could expect or need. But the best thing about El Tuco is the owner/host Coco. Coco was endlessly helpful to my friends and I during our stay, with recommendations and directions for Cusco, advising us on medications for our freind who was suffering altitude sickness and helping us plan our Machu Pichu trek.
When we returned from our trek and had some issues with the tour company we had booked with (independent of El Tuco), Coco rang the tour agent and organised him to visit the hotel and then supported us in voicing our complaints and obtaining a partial refund... More than you could possibly ask for from a host.

Thanks Coco!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here for five nights in November 2012. The room was comfortable and there was always plenty of hot water. There's a decent sized kitchen and we cooked there several times. The wifi is fast and there's also a computer you can use and a tv in the living room, plus a book exchange. We also made use of their baggage storage when we went on the Inca Trail hike.

The hostel is about a ten minute walk from the central plaza, near some supermarkets and other shops. It's very secure, but be careful crossing the road outside as the cars come at you from all directions!

The staff were really friendly and helpful. They even have oxygen in case you get altitude sickness. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Highly recommended!!! This is a quiet and relaxing hostel with a very kind and thoughtful owner. It's a large house with spacious rooms and hot showers. There is great wifi and a computer to use as well. It's a little further than other hostels from the main square but is still only a 5 minute walk. We arrived at 6am and was offered breakfast and a we were able to rest in the lounge room until our room was ready at about 9am. Coco the owner got up at 4.30 in the morning to help us lock our bags away in the store room before our Salkantay trek to Machu Pichu for 5 days. I felt very safe and welcome in this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Tuco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tuco Hostel

Address: Av Grau 835, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your El Tuco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tuco Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.