We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tuco Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Tuco Hostel to your Saves list
El Tuco Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Av Grau 835, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 282 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Really nice hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here for five nights in November 2012. The room was comfortable and there was always plenty of hot water. There's a decent sized kitchen and we cooked there several times. The wifi is fast and there's also a computer you can use and a tv in the living room, plus a book exchange. We also made use of their baggage storage when we went on the Inca Trail hike.

The hostel is about a ten minute walk from the central plaza, near some supermarkets and other shops. It's very secure, but be careful crossing the road outside as the cars come at you from all directions!

The staff were really friendly and helpful. They even have oxygen in case you get altitude sickness. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    35
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
12
94
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Highly recommended!!! This is a quiet and relaxing hostel with a very kind and thoughtful owner. It's a large house with spacious rooms and hot showers. There is great wifi and a computer to use as well. It's a little further than other hostels from the main square but is still only a 5 minute walk. We arrived at 6am and was offered breakfast and a we were able to rest in the lounge room until our room was ready at about 9am. Coco the owner got up at 4.30 in the morning to help us lock our bags away in the store room before our Salkantay trek to Machu Pichu for 5 days. I felt very safe and welcome in this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

El Tuco Hostel, truly proved to be a home away from home in Cusco. My girlfriend and I were in Cusco for the second time in two years. The first time we stayed at an incredibly fun and social hostel near the center of town. This time we wanted something a bit more "homey" where we can get some real quality sleep and experience the authentic Cusco (although I don't think any parts of Cusco are inauthentic).

We got our own private room with a bathroom with fully functional HOT SHOWERS that is invaluable after shuffling through the city the whole day.

The best part of Tuco is the service. Coco and his staff are simply the best. They are accommodating and put the guest first in every possible instance. We ended up having a terrible family emergency come up while in Cusco in which we had to leave town for the states right away. Coco helped put together our plan for leaving town and waved our last nights fee with only a few hours notice. Not to say they do this in all cases, however, this shows much they care for their guests and the foresight they have to create the happiest guests possible rather then tack on fees for two distressed travelers.

Thanks so much Coco and team!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

we had the best time in Cusco. We stayed in El Tuco, 10 minute walk from the city centre. Nice walk though, you pass some streets with only local people and local restaurants.
The staff was very friendly, helped us with laundry, taxi's, everything. Nice kitchen where you can cook for yourself, very nice hot showers, free internmet, televisionroom.... Thanks to Coco, we had a good time in this hostel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

we stayed with Coco at El Tuco twice in september - either side of our MP trek. Coco was extremely friendly wirh a lot of helpful advice about Cusco and surrounding region. Rooms were very clean and the showers were hot everytime!! A tv room and computer room provided lots of space to relax if required. No hesitation in recommending this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a great hostel and so worth the price! Coco is extremely helpful, the rooms are clean, the beds are comfy and warm and his shower has the best water pressure and hot water! It is a nice walk from the center of town and Coco holds your luggage for you if you are heading off to Machu Picchu. Stay here you'll be happy you did!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a great place to stay with friendly staff. The owner, Coco, goes out of his way to make you feel at home and has so much useful information about Cuzco and the surrounding areas.

The rooms are spacious and clean with a decent size bathroom (no squeezing in to get to the toilet here!) and the 24/7 hot water is wonderful especially when you arrive back at 11pm after a 4 day trek!

Wi-fi is free but was a bit dodgy, although that has more to do with the phone company and I think is pretty common all over South America. It worked most of the time and was fast when it did.

The hostel is in a great location, about a 5-10 minute walk from Plaza de Armas. Breakfast is your stock standard continental (breads and jams) but you are free to use the kitchen to cook whatever you like. There is a secure luggage room to leave your bags when you do the ?Inca Trail as well.

I would definitely stay here again in Cuzco and highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#4 of 150 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#6 of 282 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yawarmaki Hostel
Yawarmaki Hostel
#1 of 282 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal El Labrador
Hostal El Labrador
#11 of 282 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Piuray Hostal Cusco
Piuray Hostal Cusco
#3 of 282 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tuco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tuco Hostel

Address: Av Grau 835, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 282 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Tuco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your El Tuco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tuco Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.