We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not centrally located on a very noisy road” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pacha Hotel Museo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pacha Hotel Museo to your Saves list
Pacha Hotel Museo
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Avenida de la Cultura 220, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 256 Cusco B&B and Inns
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“not centrally located on a very noisy road”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We did not stay in this hotel as the second floor was flooded out. But the owner took us to a different hotel on the same street. It was nice except for the location. It is a very busy street and with a lot speed bumps may be. We thought the traffic will die down but it never did. All through the night it was constant sound. We felt like we were on a roller coaster ride or something. We booked this hotel on our way back from Macchu Picchu and were leaving for Lima very early next morning. It served that purpose very well. Taxi was 10 soles and the airport was only 10 minutes away. But if you want to look around Cusco stay closer to city center.

Room Tip: I would rather stay close to city center cusco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
16
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel was disappointing for out first hotel in Cusco. It is on a busy street and too far from the cute part of town. Loud car and people noise all night long. Rooms are clean, but outdated with holes in blankets and dirty carpeting. Also, rooms are cold. The staff is very nice and helpful. For the same price you can do better. We stayed as Los Aticos after our hike and were happier. Casa Andina looked cute too.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice hotel, but no so centrally located. The staff were great. The beds were nice but way too short and I am only 5'9". There was no hot water. After a cold rainy day to Machu Picchu, a cold shower was a disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I sent an email request to book a room the night before me and my family were to arrive in Cusco and Jose replied immediately with a confirmation.

When we arrived late at night we were greeted by Jose's parents (I think), who were very warm and welcoming.

As we were travelling with a child we were given a matrimonial room (4 beds) and because it was the off season we got the room for $45 USD per night which I thought was fair. The room had hot water and was cleaned daily during our 3-night stay. The wi-fi connection was similar to most places I've stayed at in Peru (i.e. spotty), but downstairs in the lobby was a computer for guests to use that had a solid connection. Breakfast included the standard Peruvian fair of bread, jam, cheese and ham (if requested), coffee, tea, and juice.

Pacha Hotel Museo is about a 15-minute walk to the Plaza de Armas, but along the way you'll find some of the higher-end shops and also handicrafts shops that are more reasonably priced than the handicraft market. Speaking of which, if you walk in the opposite direction, the Central Handicraft Market is about 10 minutes away.

The best aspect of Pacha Hotel Museo is Jose, his family, and the staff (especially Elena and Tony who can help those who speak English), as they are super friendly and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and will also assist you in any way they can.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_Mellado, Owner at Pacha Hotel Museo, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks a lot for your words, recomendation and for your confidence in us.

Regards to your beautifull family.

Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was secure in the fact that you had to ring a doorbell to get in to the place near the town square but after buying a few trinkets that were stolen from my room... Lets just say I wouldn't stay there again. The management wasn't sympathetic ( if not involved).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_Mellado, General Manager at Pacha Hotel Museo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hello mrhesprich,
I don't understand, Do you await one year to write your complain? Because you write your review on January 2013 but supposedly you stay on February 2012? Is rare because we don´t have complains on February 2012.
Please could you write your full name, and when was your check in?.
I await your answer.
I´m the manager and I ever stay in the hotel. My priority is to avoid problems and if there are any, fix it immediately.
JOSE MELLADO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I've stayed her for 3 days in a row. Staffs were super friendly. I highly recommend it!
The hotel was closely located to the plaza. I stayed at the 3rd floor of hotel and room were clean. However, it was a bit hard to catch internet at the room. Other than that, I was satisfied staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_Mellado, General Manager at Pacha Hotel Museo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank a lot for your recomendation.

Regards
Jose Mellado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The staff here are very helpful. We stayed for a week and by the end they felt like family.

I was initially a little unhappy with the hotel as it has seen better (and in parts cleaner) days, but the service won me over.

We had a large room with a warm carpet and a very comfortable bed. There was a satellite TV in the room and although we could not initially get the wi-fi working, we did in the end. The location is out of the way, but fine and safe. I actually preferred being located here to being in some of the more touristy areas, as there were less touts and it gives you a break from full on Cusco.

They gave a friendly welcome; helped with queries; asked after our well being; supported us with cab fares and drivers; and did not mind what we needed. This was nice.

I think if you come knowing what to expect then it will be fine - it is not a flashy hotel and they do need to get a new cleaner, but these are good people who will look after you.

Room Tip: Higher up have carpets which keeps you warmer. They are also further away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_Mellado, General Manager at Pacha Hotel Museo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review.

Regards,

José Mellado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacha Hotel Museo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacha Hotel Museo

Address: Avenida de la Cultura 220, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacha Hotel Museo 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacha Hotel Museo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacha Hotel Museo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.