We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel with amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Encantada Casa Botique Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Encantada Casa Botique Spa to your Saves list
Encantada Casa Botique Spa
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Tandapata 354 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #20 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cute hotel with amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a very cute, clean and comfortable hotel, with decent sized rooms, a terrace with a beautiful view, and good breakfast (you can get freshly made eggs) and dinner. What makes it excellent is the staff - they speak very good English, are the nicest, friendliest people you will ever meet, and they go out of their way to help you in any way possible. They are very knowledgeable of the area, make travel arrangements, give you hot water bottles at night, will bring your food to your room after a long day at Machu Picchu, save you breakfast if you are sleeping late, and anything else you ask of them. They also have hot water in the shower and electric heaters for the rooms. As noted in other reviews, it can get loud from the dogs barking at night or the sound traveling up the spiral staircase, but I just wore earplugs to sleep and was fine. It's worth the stay given how amazing the staff is. The walk up the hill isn't bad at all unless you are in really bad shape.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    67
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
119
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore MD
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Encantada Casa Boutique is a really nice hotel, but before deciding to book it there are some things you need to know!

The good - the hotel is beautiful and charming, with a fantastic, kind and caring team. They are friendly, multilingual and will go out of their way to make your stay pleasurable. Rooms are on the small side but absolutely fine for a hotel of this type. Decor is classic South America. Showers are strong (and toilets are weak!!)

Breakfast is more than adequate and the dining area sunny and comfortable. (Tip: get freshly scrambled eggs instead of omelets!)

But.......

While the hotel is located in a very cool area (San Blas), it means that every time you need to go into town you will be faced with a long difficult walk back home. Sure - fifteen minutes may not seem like much, but combine the altitude with never ending steep steps and it is drudgery. This was especially difficult because it seemed like the drop-off point for all of our tours (hiking, biking, rafting, etc...) was near the main square downtown.

Secondly, the place was just downright LOUD! We could hear everything from our rooms (and between all of us we were in several different locations). Breakfast being prepared at 5:30 AM, the front desk phone ringing, diners chatting, dogs barking, hotel guests sneezing, talking, vomiting or worse - it all sounded as if it were right in our room! If you're a heavy sleeper this may not bother you, but be warned!!

All in all the hotel was so nice and the staff so fantastic I hate to say anything negative.. but you need to know!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My friend and I stayed here before and after our Inca trek to Machu Picchu. It was such a lovely stay! Encantada was one of the more affordable options recommended by our trekking agency and I was glad that I chose it. We were greeted with coca tea and a warm welcome before being brought to a twin room on the top floor that is near to the terrace which has a great view. The staff were very helpful with our luggages, and one particularly cold night, they even called to offer us warm water bottles. We slept so well there every night! They also took care of our suitcases when we were away for our trek. We paid a small premium for express laundry service after our trek and it was done nicely and real fast. Breakfast spread at the restaurant was small but very good, our favorite is the made-to-order omelette, and although I have since tried Lomo Saltado from other places, I still like the one from this restaurant best! I would definitely recommend this place, it's suitable for families, couples, groups or solo travelers. Would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights before and 1 night after our Inca Trail. Loved San Blas area (after 5 days just off Plaza de Armas), was a welcome change of pace, but still lots to see/do/eat in the area. It's around 15 mins into town (very easy pace) and a little more back up the hill. It is not a difficult walk unless you have mobility/health issues, just take your time as the altitude/uphill effects everybody.

As mentioned, staff are welcoming, efficient and all extremely friendly. Both rooms we had were good, spacious and clean. There is a lovely patio on the 4th floor with outstanding views across the city skyline.

Breakfast was great the first morning, but with early starts the other 2 mornings (05:45) they were still only half prepared, even though they say it begins at 05:30 there was very little out at that time. Something they need to work on as early starts are common for trips.

Another small gripe, US$60/hr to fill the spa bath??? Outrageous! Maybe it's because the bath is in the treatment room so puts it out of action for the time you are in it? Time to re-think?

All in all comfortable hotel in nice area, would stay again.

Room Tip: Upper floors are perhaps a little quieter, we had both 3rd and 4th floors during our stay with no is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, B.C. Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Encantada in Cusco before embarking on our 7-day Lodge to Lodge hiking in Peru and one night at the end of the week-long hike. The first 2 nights we stayed in one of the 3 garden rooms and although a good room, cozy bed, we had some minor problems with lack of hot water and toilet pressures. On our return to the hotel on our last night, we had a room on the 3rd floor and it was much more updated and very comfortable. Have to say the staff were amazing and very attentive to our needs. Darwin, Angela and Marco were great. The breakfasts were super. We both had a massage and it was also very good. Really liked the location and the hike to get there through cobblestone lanes. The view is great. Cusco is an exciting place to be and we loved the shopping and all the sites.

Room Tip: Preferred the room on the 3rd floor to that of the garden level. It was more updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great massage value. Breakfast included. Friendly and courteous staff. Good exercise because it's uphill from town (if this is a problem for you and you have knee issues don't stay here, it'll ruin the experience). Amazing view. Great value. Clean rooms. Attention to detail.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

great to be away from the noisy party area of the Plaza de Armad in Cusco. This small boutique hotel is located in the very historic and artsy San Blas district. A little walk uphill thru the narrow streetsfrom the main Plaza but well worth it. Very helpful staff who recommended restaurants, made reservations for local cooking class, and secured taxis for us. They even had some tea and bread ready for us at 3:45 AM (yep!) before we headed out to begin our Inca Trail trek. Cozy room with small patio. Lovely patio on top floor with great view of city--perfect place to enjoy your cup of coca tea! Nice touch in turndown service in that hot water bottles are placed in your bed to await your tired feet--great after a long evening of shopping in the rain.
Nice bonus: they gladly kept our luggage while we did the 4-day Inca Trail trek.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Top floor is quietest and closest to the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Encantada Casa Botique Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encantada Casa Botique Spa

Address: Tandapata 354 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#24 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Encantada Casa Botique Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City of Cusco is the perfect starting point to explore some of the most fabulous sites in South America like the Sanctuary of Machupicchu, the Amazon Rainforest and Lake Titikaka. In the bohemian, artisan district of San Blas in Cusco lies our jewel, the Casa Boutique Spa ENCANTADA. The tasteful, modern construction, offers a lot of comfort and is surrounded by fantastic, flower filled gardens where you can relax between your tours with great views of the surrounding red tiled roofs and the city center. Away from the noisy streets of the center but only a few blocks from the main square, overlooking the city, Encantada is located in a privileged area, where you are in walking distance of the city's many churches and museums and close by the archaeological park of Sacsayhuaman. An enchanted place in the archaeological capital of South America.Services:Breakfast buffet (5.30-9.00 A.M.)Bar/CafeteriaBeautiful social areas: Panoramic Terras, spacious salon with fireplace and flower filled garden areas Spa with Jacuzzi and MassageWi-Fi and free Internet service220V and 110V current Safe depositLaundry serviceMedical attention and oxygen upon requestFree lugagge storageTourist information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Encantada Casa Botique Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantada Casa Botique Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Encantada Casa Botique Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.