We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bagdad Cafe

Bagdad Cafe
Portal de Carnes 216 | Plaza de Armas, Cusco, Peru
084/238759
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 421 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Peruvian, Pizza & Pasta, Fusion
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Norfolk, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Food Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had our final meal in Cusco here before embarking on the 4 day Inca trail and having had some great and not so great meals we wanted a safe choice and we were not disappointed all four of us found the food delicious and the view across the valley as the sun went down was a bonus.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    54
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We ate here the evening before leaving Cusco. Restaurant is on the main Plaza on the first floor. There are tables overlooking the square and it was one of the few open on a Sunday evening. The menu is simple and basic on the whole. The kitchen is just a small space behind the bar and there is a large pizza style oven at one end, which seemed to be where various pre-prepared dishes were reheated.

Our food was poor - mine wasn't properly cooked through and I was violently ill for a week afterwards. Would not recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Terrible food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The meal started with room temperature cokes. Then the chicken noodle soup tasted very old.. I couldn't eat the chicken in it. When the meal came which was grilled chicken, it was stringy and looked grey. I proceeded to not eat it and let the waitress know about it and I had to pay for the complete meal. There was no courtesy that they were sorry or even cared. I should have realized by the extensive menu that they were unable to handle any meal. I would never recommend this awful restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One star is too many”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Saturday morning. The warm coca colas should have been a give away, no fridge. The avocado salad was average at best, with yesterday's beans and potatoes and tomato that was ancient.

Ordered a grilled chicken breast and vegetables,.. The chicken was translucent, grey and stringy, and the first small fork full went into the serviette. Non-refrigerated storage will do that. The cucumbers were limp an slimy, the tomatoes granular and that is as far as we went.

Service was far below par for Cusco, and there are so many great restaurants here, do yourself a favour and give Bagdad Cafe in the Plaza de Armas of Cusco a wide, wide berth. No attorney was even made to find out why our meals were untouched and it cost us 112 Soles to walk away. Gross and forgettable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the name, it serves delicious local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

To fight the altitude problem, our guide recommended we ate pasta, but we also wanted to try the different potatoes of Peru, so the chef owner prepared some small special dish for us outside the menu. within his menu, His stacked mashed potato dish was the best we had in Peru, he told us how to prepare it... The pasta dish with big juicy prawns and saffron, exquisite. We thought it would be touristy food due to its excellent location, but it was very local and the best food we had in Peru. An amazing generous chef/owner who spoke good English to whom we wish every success.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagdad Cafe also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Bagdad Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagdad Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.