We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best host in Cusco, best hotel in Cusco.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Second Home Cusco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Second Home Cusco to your Saves list
Second Home Cusco
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Atocsaycuchi 616 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 286 Cusco B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best host in Cusco, best hotel in Cusco.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This little hotel is just wonderful - the absolute best place to stay in Cusco. The nicely decorated rooms are spacious and clean and the hotel is very centrally located in old Cusco. It is also very safe. The best thing about this hotel, however, is the host, Carlos. Carlos arranged tickets, day trips and transfers for me. And as I was a female travelling alone he made sure I was safe at all times whilst doing my day trips and made sure my airport/train transfers were waiting for me. I have celiac disease and travel with my own food and Carlos cooked it for me without any problems. He was gracious, kind, went out of his way to help me. It really was my second home whilst travelling through South America.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
163
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles Area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Can't say enough good things about our three day stay at Carlos' B&B. Everything everyone has written about him is true - he could not have been more helpful and gracious. Breakfasts were excellent, with the best French bread this side of Paris. Carlos arranged taxis for us to tour the Sacred Valley ruins and sights. Our rooms were clean and comfy, with firm mattresses and Wi-Fi was included. Go and enjoy Cusco and Peru!

Room Tip: Any room is fine (including Carlos' "emergency room").
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed there in june 2014. You can’t find a better place in Cusco. Wonderful, quiet suites, excellent breakfast. Best of all is host Carlos Delfin himself, such a welcoming, friendly and charming person. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed a total of 7 nights here. Carlos was fantastic in helping us make arrangements for sightseeing, and didn't mind the early morning starts we needed on a couple of occasions. 2nd Home is superbly located in 'old Cusco' & close to some very good restaurants, plaza's, museums, and very safe for walking at anytime.
We appreciated that Carlos was able to store our un-needed luggage for us while we went to the rainforest for 6 days before returning to Cusco/2nd Home for a further stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

What a great find. Rooms are very spacious and such great value. Carlos is a great host that is always there to help you with any suggestions or to make things happen. Toby the dog is quite a mascot and so cute. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Cusco. We would also recommend spending at least 4 or 5 days in Cusco or more if you have the time. Breakfasts are more than ample with great bread! The location in San Blas is very convenient as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

If you plan on spending anytime at Cusco and the Sacred Valley, Second Home is far and away your best bet as a place to stay. Second Home is in excellent location, but what makes it special are the quality of the rooms and the outstanding service and attention provided by the proprietor. From the moment we arrived, Carlos really did make us feel at home, and provided us excellent advise on how best to see the local area. Every single one of his suggestions - from advice on visiting Machu Picchu, arranging for a driver to show us the area, and restaurant suggestions - was just perfect. The hotel is quiet and the rooms are clean, comfortable, and well appointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you are looking for a place to hang your hat while visiting the Cuzco area I can't imagine anywhere better than Second Home Cuzco. We arrived in Cuzco on a 7:30 am flight from Lima and were greeted at the airport (transfers included) by a driver who delivered us to the bed and breakfast before 9:00am. The proprietor, Carlos, served us coffee and breakfast before showing us to our room. Our room turned out to be a two room suite with a private bath and a very comfortable bed. There are only a few rooms at second Home and they are so quiet and secluded that I am not even sure where the other rooms were.
Carlos was able to give us valuable advice about the area and even set us up with a driver as the ruins are really far apart. His restaurant recommendations were right on the money and we enjoyed every one of them. His advice about our trip out to Machu Picchu saved us some money and freed up a whole day for other pursuits.
Aside from the clean and comfortable lodging, hot fresh breakfasts and advice we appreciated Carlos ability to always make us feel welcome in his home. i wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#4 of 150 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#14 of 150 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Home Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Cusco

Address: Atocsaycuchi 616 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 286 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Second Home Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Second Home Cusco is a Bed and breakfast in the historic district of San Blas. Second Home Cusco offers 21st-century comfort in a colonial house. Second Home Cusco feature three juniors suites furnished in an eclectic style. Each suite has a private bathroom with shower, Queen-size bed, cable TV, telephone, wireless internet access and other amenities to ensure an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Second Home Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Cusco Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Second Home Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.