We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice in Cusco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Second Home Cusco

Save Saved
You added Second Home Cusco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Second Home Cusco
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Atocsaycuchi 616 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 238 Cusco B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Perfect choice in Cusco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at second home at the start and end of our trip to Peru. Located in the San Blas area of Cusco so everything is very close and within walking distance. Beautiful apartment-like rooms, very clean and breakfasts were excellent. Carlos was very helpful in arranging anything that was needed. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
141
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Simply amazing. Stayed at Second Home in March 2012 and still will never forget the excellent service. A must stay. Perfect location, delicious breakfast, comfy rooms. Carlos could not have been more accommodating! My mom, brother, and I had plenty of space in our room and it was spotless and charming. Loved Cusco! Also a great walking distance from sacsayhuaman ruins.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Every step of the way - from inquiry to booking to arrival to departure was absolutely perfect. Carlos (the owner and manager) was so very helpful with everything and made our stay a delight.

The room was spacious (actually, two rooms...a nice living room with couch and a bedroom) and quite comfortable in every way.

The location is very convenient to the "main drag" of Cusco--about a 10 minute walk.

Breakfast was very tasty and well prepared, with eggs (our choice about how prepared), yogurt, bread, and cereal.

Room Tip: The room we were in (first room on the upper floor on the left) has a bit of a low ceiling (not a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This a beautiful period house tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean located in the district of San Blas (10 minute walk from the Main Square and walking distance o the major attractions in Cusco). Carlos was a very welcoming and friendly host who offered advice regarding restaurants and activities around town and went great lengths to make sure we were comfortable during our stay. For instance, we arrived early in the morning and he immediately ushered us to the dining room to have breakfast even through we would be formally checking in later that day. Also, he stored our luggage during our trip to Machu Picchu (3 days) and helped us to organise a driver for our airport/train transfers and a day-trip that we did to the Sacred Valley. Breakfast is basic but sufficient (eggs, cereal, bread, tea/coffee, juice). Rooms are ample and the neighborhood felt safe at all times.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My intentions were to get off the plane sign up for a trip advisor account just to write a review on Second Home Cusco. Fast forward a few years later and I'm now writing this long overdue review. Second Home's accommodations are clean and simple, yet there's an underlying style
that is not in your face over-the-top. It's like a pair of 501 Levi's with a stylish belt. I remember sitting in the entry way looking into Carlos' office thinking there's the world's smallest art exhibit going on in that room. #victordelfín It's a cozy place, not a mega resort. Go here if you don't want to feel like just a number. The breakfast and the conversation with the owner was one of the most memorable parts of our journey in Peru. Thank you Carlos.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The name says it all- Second Home is like being at home. We felt so comfortable during our stay. Carlos, the owner and host is very warm and welcoming. And If you appreciate art, you'll be impressed by the Victor Delfin pieces you'll find throughout. Carlos also has fantastic recommendations for restaurants, etc in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We visited Cuzco near the end of a three week trip to Peru, and we so pleased to find that the uniformly top reviews of Second Home Cusco were so well deserved. The owner is a generous and warm host, engaging and delightful. The inn is in a wonderful location, walking distance to nice restaurants, to the main square and the engaging sites of the city.

A wonderful touch is the handling of transfers from the airport or train station, and the owner also arranged a driver for us to spend a day exploring the ruins of Sacsayhuamán and the other nearby sites.

The location is so peaceful and quiet .. the entrance is on a car-less street (Atocsaycuchi .. not easy to find!) But after walking around the (interesting!) city and seeing the crowds and congestion, having a relaxing place to come in the evening was a treat.

Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Second Home Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Cusco

Address: Atocsaycuchi 616 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Second Home Cusco 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Second Home Cusco is a Bed and breakfast in the historic district of San Blas. Second Home Cusco offers 21st-century comfort in a colonial house. Second Home Cusco feature three juniors suites furnished in an eclectic style. Each suite has a private bathroom with shower, Queen-size bed, cable TV, telephone, wireless internet access and other amenities to ensure an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Second Home Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Cusco Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Second Home Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.