We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LIVE LIKE A KING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pumacurco 336 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 144 hotels in Cusco
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LIVE LIKE A KING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We were on South America for a month, not only was cusco our favorite but this hotel is magnificent. Almost all the staff speak English. We paid $300 per night and stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the garden, it was HUGE. The spa is beautiful, with scenic views of the mountain and a perfect way to end a day of hiking in those altitudes. The restaurant was great and the history photos in there are truly amazing. This place made our holiday and when we saw the trip advisor award for 2013 we knew we were on the right track. Thankyou

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano B, Gerente at Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Casa Cartagena, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotel and I am delighted that staff have fallen short of their expectations.

We will be pleased to serve you again in the future.
Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Burneo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    29
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
72
146
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently and thoroughly endorse all the recent positive reviews. The location, ambience, comfort and facilities are excellent but above all the staff are outstanding. I'm still not sure exactly what it cost us, as our travel agent hasn't yet given me a breakdown of the various components of our trip, but I would not hesitate to stay there again. he only criticism is that the noise from the air con (on heat mode, as it was cold at night) was quite loud in our room, particularly in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is exactly what a luxury boutique hotel should be. Set up in a fantastic location right in the center of the colonial district of Cusco, the property occupies a magnificent historic building and is decorated in an elegant, sleek fashion. The rooms are beautiful, hugely spacious, extremely comfortable and perfectly appointed (We noticed one particular malfunction, though. Probably as a consequence of the state-of-the-art design in the huge and astonishingly beautiful bathroom, the water from the futuristic shower spills around rather easily, causing the normal unconveniences of a wet floor...) and the service is gentle, welcoming, warm and professional as can be. Simple but excellent peruvian fare is served at the cozy restaurant or in the delghtful patio. And you can trust the ever solicitous and smiling Fernando at the bar to mix the ultimate Pisco Sour.
This place is what hospitality is really all about.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

beautiful boutique hotel in cusco. everything was perfect during our stay : the room, the service, the spa, the quality of the food in the restaurant, the pisco sour, the people at the reception desk, the people at the bar and the restaurant !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Two friends and I spent three nights at Casa Cartagena before starting a trek. The hotel was a blessing. Beautiful, sophisticated, youthful. The breakfasts were excellent, and all the staff were so curteous and prompt. Very genuine and authentic. Great location too in Cusco. I would go back in a second.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Casa Cartagena for 3 nights last week to acclimatise before heading out on the Inca Trail. The hotel is absolutely lovely, quaint yet luxurious, impeccable service and perfect location. The breakfast is delicious and has a huge array of food - I went to bed every night looking forward to it! The giant hot tub/spa and cave sauna is divine. We jumped over to the Monasterio the night after we got back from the trail but wish we had just stayed at Cartagena again - it was a treat! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We liked room #6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved this beautiful Boutique Hotel in the heart of Cusco city! All the staff are very kind and helpful, the accomodation is very nice and comfortable.
You must try the massage and the pool with a great view!
Breakfast buffet is a delicious combination of international and local food.

Room Tip: Master suites are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Pumacurco 336 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cusco
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cartagena CuscoHigh in the Peruvian Andes lies the historic city of Cuzco, famous for its unique blend of Spanish and Incan cultures. Located just off a tranquil square behind the main plaza of Cuzco, Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa Cusco emerges after years of restoration, which respected the original design of the historic house, to become one of the most exclusive boutique hotels in the city. Its walls of carved stone, which combines warmth, elegance and perfection, invite you to experience the fascinating magic and traditional mysticism that will transport you through time in this historic Spanish house declared a cultural heritage site of Peru.Its lovely atmosphere was built on an ancient Incan site, occupied by the ruling nobility of that time and from which it takes its name: Casa Cartagena, former property of the local Spanish ruler of Cuzco, Don Fernando Cartagena and Santa Cruz.This luxury hotel in Cuzco is an intimate refuge that has only sixteen spacious and comfortable suites, which perfectly blend the modern with the ancestral and luxury with the historical. The rooms are distributed symmetrically along a spacious patio of your dreams where time is suspended. It is located in the historic center of Cuzco, which was declared by UNESCO as a world heritage site.Recovery from an exhausting trip to Machu Picchu or the Sacred Valley of the Incas with our Qoya Spa will be something truly unequalled. It can be perfectly complemented with a delicious dinner in our restaurant which offers the best of local cuisine, "La bodega de la Chola", where poet Pablo Neruda was inspired and Che Guevara shared bohemian nights; it is considered one of the best restaurants in Cuzco.All of these unique features of Casa Cartagena and our warm and personalized service will make your stay in Cuzco an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Cartagena And Spa
Hotel Casa Cartagena Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.