We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the climb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Sweet Home-Mirador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Home Sweet Home-Mirador to your Saves list
Home Sweet Home-Mirador
Asociacion San Marcos A3, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Well worth the climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Home Sweet Home in Cuzco, Peru was comfortable, had hot showers, and had a delicious breakfast included in the price (which was small compared to most other places). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the views of the city were beautiful. You can not get there by vehicle and must climb many steep staircases to get there, but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you are looking for a cheap place that offers nice rooms and has a great breakfast included (pancake, eggs, bread, tea) look for this place!
It's a bit uphill, so you have to walk some stairs to get there (good exercise).
It's a quiet hostel, so don't expect a bar and lots of entertainment. It's basic, but clean and the owners are very nice and helpfull. I would recommend to all backpackers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We've stayed quite a while in this hostal. Son and father working in this hostal are really nice and hospitable. They helped us out to call for a cab and to call the tour agency who was going to pick us up at 5 in the morning but they were a bit delayed. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are nice. It can get a bit cold in there during the night, but hey, thats Cusco!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Obviously a great view from the hostel, although walking up and down the steps several times a day can get tiresome. Hostel is very cold, with communal areas unheated and open to the outside through gaps in the windows.

Owner is very helpful and speaks perfect English, we booked a jungle trek through him which worked out pretty well, and the details of the trip were almost as described.

We had hot water about one third of the time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights and loved it! The view of the entire city from the breakfast terrace is incredible. Its a few steps up to it, but its totally worth it!
The breakfast is great, pancakes, eggs, tea, orange juice and toasted bread.... exactly what you need to start the day to explore the beautiful city of cusco :)
The staff are amazing, the two woman that cook, clean and wash your clothes are lovely, and Luis and his dad (the owners) are awesome!!!! Luis speaks amazing english and is really cool!
There is even a huge wide screen tv where you can chill and watch a dvd....(they have hundreds to chose from).
The rooms are really clean and nice too, with a lock on the door, and the bathrooms always have toilet roll and hot water. It can get a little cold at night, but we were given a little plug in heater....amazing!!! Also there is free wifi and they provide towels. And even better its super cheap...11$ a night!
Ok so as you can see, we really loved this hostel and would highly recommend it, I have nothing bad to say about it......Definately stay and experience it for yourself!! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights to begin with and then an additional 4 nights after returning from Machu Picchu. The view from the hostel is amazing, well worth the steep climb up the stairs (it gets easier over time!).

Breakfast is great with pancakes, bread rolls, butter, jam, eggs and tea/coffee. It does get very cold though, as we could see our breath when breakfasting in the dining area/tv room. We had plenty of blankets and an electric radiator, but as June is mid-winter, we still needed our sleeping bags too.

Room 2 has dodgy electric sockets, which short circuited our room heater but the view was incredible. On the whole, the staff were friendly and helpful and it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Great hostel, the staff make an effort to take care of things. The room we had was small but had the best view in town, was clean, had loads of blankets plus a heater.
Breakfast is good, and you get that great view again while eating it.
The big screen tv and collection of dvd's available to use in a common area.
The walk up the hill is not that bad, and worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Sweet Home-Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home-Mirador

Address: Asociacion San Marcos A3, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Home Sweet Home-Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Sweet Home-Mirador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.