We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!!!! Amazing Hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Sweet Home-Mirador

Save Saved
You added Home Sweet Home-Mirador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Home Sweet Home-Mirador
Asociacion San Marcos A3, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 226 Specialty lodging in Cusco
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay Here!!!! Amazing Hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights and loved it! The view of the entire city from the breakfast terrace is incredible. Its a few steps up to it, but its totally worth it!
The breakfast is great, pancakes, eggs, tea, orange juice and toasted bread.... exactly what you need to start the day to explore the beautiful city of cusco :)
The staff are amazing, the two woman that cook, clean and wash your clothes are lovely, and Luis and his dad (the owners) are awesome!!!! Luis speaks amazing english and is really cool!
There is even a huge wide screen tv where you can chill and watch a dvd....(they have hundreds to chose from).
The rooms are really clean and nice too, with a lock on the door, and the bathrooms always have toilet roll and hot water. It can get a little cold at night, but we were given a little plug in heater....amazing!!! Also there is free wifi and they provide towels. And even better its super cheap...11$ a night!
Ok so as you can see, we really loved this hostel and would highly recommend it, I have nothing bad to say about it......Definately stay and experience it for yourself!! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights to begin with and then an additional 4 nights after returning from Machu Picchu. The view from the hostel is amazing, well worth the steep climb up the stairs (it gets easier over time!).

Breakfast is great with pancakes, bread rolls, butter, jam, eggs and tea/coffee. It does get very cold though, as we could see our breath when breakfasting in the dining area/tv room. We had plenty of blankets and an electric radiator, but as June is mid-winter, we still needed our sleeping bags too.

Room 2 has dodgy electric sockets, which short circuited our room heater but the view was incredible. On the whole, the staff were friendly and helpful and it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Great hostel, the staff make an effort to take care of things. The room we had was small but had the best view in town, was clean, had loads of blankets plus a heater.
Breakfast is good, and you get that great view again while eating it.
The big screen tv and collection of dvd's available to use in a common area.
The walk up the hill is not that bad, and worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights in total - first in single room, then in 4 bed dorm. beds are comfy (but in dorm is a downward slope, but magazines under lower end of bed help ;-) ) cold at night but plenty of blankets provided. Lovely sitting area overlooking Cuzco, staff very friendly and helpful. Great view from hostal and only short walk to city centre, restaurants, shops etc.
First few days had to stop every few steps on my way up the stairs to the hostal but gets better after a few days. Not all taxi drivers or people know the hostal so had to drag my luggage around unnecessarily, but owner Luis speaks english very well and is always ready to help in person or by phone if you struggle to make it there. Helpful advise and selling of tickets) for tours and busses. Nice breakfast provided also w egg, juice, tea, pancake and 2 buns. Hot water in shower. Well working Wifi plus computers for use.
Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Home Sweet Home was like a home away from home. We stayed here after the 5-day Salkantay trek. It was one of our best stays throughout our travels. The hostel / family run B&B is located on a hill over looking Cusco.
Every morning we woke to the amazing view while enjoying the filling breakfast of eggs / pancakes, bread, jam, coffee and juice.
We stayed in a dorm room on the top floor and it was always very clean, secure and with comfortable beds.
They had a great range of books & dvds and the people running the hostel were always more than happy to help us out with any information about Cusco.
The hostel attracted a very positive, social group of travellers.
A very comfortable / chilled hostel to return to after a tiring 5 day trek! :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We spent the best part of a week in this hostel and were very pleased with it overall. The rooms are very reasonable in comparison with others in the area and the complementary breakfast includes eggs or pancakes.

The staff there were very nice and accommodating and we were able to leave our things locked up there for a couple of days while we went to Machu Picchu. Only nigles were that some attention to detail and a slightly more proactive attitude would improve the customer experience a lot, for example one of the bathrooms was slightly faulty the while time we were there and the lock on out door needed fixing but overall only minor worries.

It´s a bit of a walk up the stairs but the view is great so don't be put off by it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I absolutely adored this hostel. It is located about a 20 minute walk straight uphill from cusco. I think this is one of the best parts however! The walk definitely helps you get used to the high altitude as many people stay here before heading to the inca trail. We stayed for three days pre-trek and it was time very well spent. Also, being so high up gives you the most romantic and unbelievable view of the whole city. It is quiet and peaceful and looks like you are looking down at the whold world from the balcony right outside the rooms. The staff are fantastic and even took us on a some guided tours of local sites for a very low fee. We loved them! They also cook you made to order eggs every morning with bread and juice and allowed us to store whatever we wanted in their fridge and to use their kitchen to cook at night. For a backpacker on a budget who doesn't plan to spend much time in the room, this place is perfect! But beware, in one sense you get what you pay for, as all backpackers know. The rooms are not the cleanest...but who cares! Put your hiking shoes on and get out there!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Sweet Home-Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home-Mirador

Address: Asociacion San Marcos A3, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 226 Specialty lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Home Sweet Home-Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Sweet Home-Mirador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.