We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay but very cold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welcome Cusco Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Welcome Cusco Hostel to your Saves list
Welcome Cusco Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Asociacion San Marcos A3, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 273 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay but very cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights to begin with and then an additional 4 nights after returning from Machu Picchu. The view from the hostel is amazing, well worth the steep climb up the stairs (it gets easier over time!).

Breakfast is great with pancakes, bread rolls, butter, jam, eggs and tea/coffee. It does get very cold though, as we could see our breath when breakfasting in the dining area/tv room. We had plenty of blankets and an electric radiator, but as June is mid-winter, we still needed our sleeping bags too.

Room 2 has dodgy electric sockets, which short circuited our room heater but the view was incredible. On the whole, the staff were friendly and helpful and it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great hostel, the staff make an effort to take care of things. The room we had was small but had the best view in town, was clean, had loads of blankets plus a heater.
Breakfast is good, and you get that great view again while eating it.
The big screen tv and collection of dvd's available to use in a common area.
The walk up the hill is not that bad, and worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights in total - first in single room, then in 4 bed dorm. beds are comfy (but in dorm is a downward slope, but magazines under lower end of bed help ;-) ) cold at night but plenty of blankets provided. Lovely sitting area overlooking Cuzco, staff very friendly and helpful. Great view from hostal and only short walk to city centre, restaurants, shops etc.
First few days had to stop every few steps on my way up the stairs to the hostal but gets better after a few days. Not all taxi drivers or people know the hostal so had to drag my luggage around unnecessarily, but owner Luis speaks english very well and is always ready to help in person or by phone if you struggle to make it there. Helpful advise and selling of tickets) for tours and busses. Nice breakfast provided also w egg, juice, tea, pancake and 2 buns. Hot water in shower. Well working Wifi plus computers for use.
Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Home Sweet Home was like a home away from home. We stayed here after the 5-day Salkantay trek. It was one of our best stays throughout our travels. The hostel / family run B&B is located on a hill over looking Cusco.
Every morning we woke to the amazing view while enjoying the filling breakfast of eggs / pancakes, bread, jam, coffee and juice.
We stayed in a dorm room on the top floor and it was always very clean, secure and with comfortable beds.
They had a great range of books & dvds and the people running the hostel were always more than happy to help us out with any information about Cusco.
The hostel attracted a very positive, social group of travellers.
A very comfortable / chilled hostel to return to after a tiring 5 day trek! :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We spent the best part of a week in this hostel and were very pleased with it overall. The rooms are very reasonable in comparison with others in the area and the complementary breakfast includes eggs or pancakes.

The staff there were very nice and accommodating and we were able to leave our things locked up there for a couple of days while we went to Machu Picchu. Only nigles were that some attention to detail and a slightly more proactive attitude would improve the customer experience a lot, for example one of the bathrooms was slightly faulty the while time we were there and the lock on out door needed fixing but overall only minor worries.

It´s a bit of a walk up the stairs but the view is great so don't be put off by it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

High up but worth for the stunning view - just take it easy... you are on holiday, isn't it?!
Because of it's altitude it get's fresh at night and in the morning. It's a basic hostel but with the most friendliest staff i've ever met on my round the world trip. Keep in mind, It's much cheaper to buy bus tkts with the hostel, instead in a travel agency. I made this mistake!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

This a very good hostal. We had the private room with the views and it's pretty special. Yeah, you have to walk up to it, thus the work. It is hard work but you then have the views and it's nice and peaceful. it's only 10mins walk to all the bars and restaurants. Stayed here a week!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Welcome Cusco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Cusco Hostel

Address: Asociacion San Marcos A3, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 273 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Welcome Cusco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden place with unique atmosphere. The family run hostal with its amazing view is waiting for you. Located in the heart of Cuscos picturesque neighborhood San Blas, above the city center, it's a perfect place to chill and calm down. And at the same time it's close to the touristic spots of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Welcome Cusco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welcome Cusco Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.