We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Sweet Home-Mirador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Home Sweet Home-Mirador to your Saves list
Home Sweet Home-Mirador
Asociacion San Marcos A3, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights in total - first in single room, then in 4 bed dorm. beds are comfy (but in dorm is a downward slope, but magazines under lower end of bed help ;-) ) cold at night but plenty of blankets provided. Lovely sitting area overlooking Cuzco, staff very friendly and helpful. Great view from hostal and only short walk to city centre, restaurants, shops etc.
First few days had to stop every few steps on my way up the stairs to the hostal but gets better after a few days. Not all taxi drivers or people know the hostal so had to drag my luggage around unnecessarily, but owner Luis speaks english very well and is always ready to help in person or by phone if you struggle to make it there. Helpful advise and selling of tickets) for tours and busses. Nice breakfast provided also w egg, juice, tea, pancake and 2 buns. Hot water in shower. Well working Wifi plus computers for use.
Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Home Sweet Home was like a home away from home. We stayed here after the 5-day Salkantay trek. It was one of our best stays throughout our travels. The hostel / family run B&B is located on a hill over looking Cusco.
Every morning we woke to the amazing view while enjoying the filling breakfast of eggs / pancakes, bread, jam, coffee and juice.
We stayed in a dorm room on the top floor and it was always very clean, secure and with comfortable beds.
They had a great range of books & dvds and the people running the hostel were always more than happy to help us out with any information about Cusco.
The hostel attracted a very positive, social group of travellers.
A very comfortable / chilled hostel to return to after a tiring 5 day trek! :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We spent the best part of a week in this hostel and were very pleased with it overall. The rooms are very reasonable in comparison with others in the area and the complementary breakfast includes eggs or pancakes.

The staff there were very nice and accommodating and we were able to leave our things locked up there for a couple of days while we went to Machu Picchu. Only nigles were that some attention to detail and a slightly more proactive attitude would improve the customer experience a lot, for example one of the bathrooms was slightly faulty the while time we were there and the lock on out door needed fixing but overall only minor worries.

It´s a bit of a walk up the stairs but the view is great so don't be put off by it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011 via mobile

High up but worth for the stunning view - just take it easy... you are on holiday, isn't it?!
Because of it's altitude it get's fresh at night and in the morning. It's a basic hostel but with the most friendliest staff i've ever met on my round the world trip. Keep in mind, It's much cheaper to buy bus tkts with the hostel, instead in a travel agency. I made this mistake!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

This a very good hostal. We had the private room with the views and it's pretty special. Yeah, you have to walk up to it, thus the work. It is hard work but you then have the views and it's nice and peaceful. it's only 10mins walk to all the bars and restaurants. Stayed here a week!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Guys are really helpfull and provide relevant advise.
Room with a amazing view. At least it's worth only for the view. But the breakfast is excellent, the people really kind and prices very interesting.
It's a place where to stay

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puno, Peru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hostel is amazing! The staff are so friendly and give you all the info you need. It´s at the top off a hill but it´s good practice for the Machu Picchu trek, and taxis are very cheap any way. It´s about 5 mins from the main square. The hostal has a really homely feel and it you´re guaranteed to meet some cool people there. Also, the breakfast is first class by hstal standards. It consists of coffee, milk, pancakes, jam, bread, eggs (fried or scramled) and tea. Internet facilities are good and lunge areas have a fantastic view of cusco and the surrounding mountains. In the evening, there is sometime not an english speaker on duty, but that never caused us a problem. I highly recommend this hostal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Sweet Home-Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home-Mirador

Address: Asociacion San Marcos A3, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Home Sweet Home-Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Sweet Home-Mirador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.