We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but front room too noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Horeb B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Horeb B&B to your Saves list
Monte Horeb B&B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle San Jaun de Dios 260, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 257 Cusco B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
198 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
“Great service but front room too noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights and then again for one more night after trekking (they hold your bags for free like most Cusco places).
Lovely staff - really friendly and polite and a good, safe location.
Only once during our stay did the hot water fail, normally it was fine.
Our room however - at the front off reception - was very noisy, mostly from the road but also from reception itself. I suspect it's not an issue if you are out back.
Breakfast is poor but fairly tipical - bread and jam or a fried or scrambled egg. Most days we were having to eat again before lunch.
I'd definitely stay here again but is want a room at the back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana,il
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Personnel changed often, but most were exceedingly helpful and friendly. Location is excellent, with easy walking access to everything we were interested in visiting in Cusco. Our 3-person room was clean but somewhat depressing with no windows (only an opaque skylight). Then again, we didn't go there to spend time in the hotel room. Breakfast was elegantly served and good. I would stay there again, but in one of the other rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Thanks a lot to Paola and the staff of Monte Horeb. We stayed here for three nights in total and really loved it. The rooms are clean and lovely. All the furniture is different in all the rooms, which really makes for a nice atmosphere.
Also, breakfast is really decent. Coffee, tea, bread, jam and eggs. All the things you need in the morning. The staff is very helpful and arranges everything that you need!
We came back one time in the middle of the night and our room was ready with the luggage, we left there, left for us in the room.
It is a really nice, safe place to stay when in Cuzco! Near the main plaza and around the corner from a nice little restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The staff at Monte Horeb were always keen to help and happy to brew a pot of coca tea.
Location is great - quiet spot (apart from one night when a bar was quite noisy but not madly late!) and rooms were clean and well maintained. Communal space was a bit spartan but a PC available which was useful. Overall a good start to our South American adventure - thank you to Paula and the rest of the team for getting our trip off to a good start.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a great, centrally located place to stay in Cusco. The best part about Monte Horeb though, is the service and care they provide while you're there. They were so kind, accommodating and went out of their way to make sure our stay was easy, comfortable and enjoyable.

A few highlights:
- We were staying in another apartment in Cusco and were leaving for a few days to go to Machu Picchu and then coming back to stay at Monte Horeb. They offered to hold our bags while we were gone for no charge and had them waiting in our rooms for us when we checked in.
- We had a nice, simple breakfast every morning. Fresh juice, tea, coffee, bread with butter and jam, and a scrambled egg. It was a great way to start the day! The girls even served my dad in bed when he wasn't feeling well enough to come out for breakfast.
- Hot water, clean rooms (they cleaned our room every day), arranged for taxis to and from the airport without any hassle and for a great price.

All in all, we had a great stay and I would definitely recommend Monte Horeb to anyone else visiting Cusco.

Room Tip: The ones off the street are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Really friendly and helpful staff. Facilities cover all you need at a good price: safe location close to Plaza de Armas, clean rooms, hot water and nice breakfast (fresh juice!). We spent more than a week at Monte Horeb in total (before and after our trek) and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

great place, the girls who run it are really kind and very caring about your needs. the place is very secure, they have security cameras and the gate is always closed, in spite of that they are always around to open it for you at any time. they can keep your bags after chek out until your departure time. the breakfast (wich is included) is great, you have orange juice, hot beverage, eggs and bread, real nice. they offers you hot beverages as a courtesy when you arrive and when you life in the middle of the nigh for your macchu picchu tours.
it is very clean, floors are wodden but carpet covered, plenty of hot watter, our room had a balcony and was very spacefull.
the location was amazing, a short walk from the main square.
overall was a great place, if i go back to cusco i would go back there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Horeb B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Horeb B&B

Address: Calle San Jaun de Dios 260, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monte Horeb B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Monte Horeb B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Horeb B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.