We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Que Rico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fusiones Restaurant - CLOSED

Fusiones Restaurant
Av. El Sol 106 | Galerias la Merced, Int. 208, Cusco, Peru
51 084 233341
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: Peruvian, Bar, Café, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Discover fine Novoandean cuisine. In Fusiones we honor our Pachamama (Mother Earth), its valleys, its resources, and its people, who's past is our inspiration and future our motivation. We apply the best international culinary techniques to local ingredients to create a unique experience for our guests. This, together with our excellent service, delightful atmosphere, and magical location, with balcony tables overlooking the Plaza de la Merced, calle Mantas, Av. El Sol, and partially the Plaza de Armas make Fusiones the right choice for dinning in Cusco.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Que Rico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A friend of ours who lives in Cusco took us to this restaurant and we really liked it. I highly recommend the chicken with quinoa risotto served with a delicious sauco berry sauce (an andean berry similar to blue berries). Such a unique blend of flavors and my favorite meal while in Cusco. Probably not a good idea to eat here on the first day in Cusco, as eating heavy food doesn't always goes well when adjusting to the high elevation - and this food is on the heavy side.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Well-Presented Bland Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Although highly rated, we were disappointed. We only visited the restaurant once, so our comments should be taken with some reservation. The food was well-staged, but it lacked in flavor. The quinoa risotto with chicken was almost tasteless. One of our group, however, praised the alpaca kebab.
Overall, you can find far better food at much better prices elsewhere in Cusco,

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
680 reviews 680 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
1,724 helpful votes 1,724 helpful votes
“Peruvian-Asian Fusion Cuisine Made a Delicious Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Fusiones is located inside of a small shopping mall just off a busy street corner on Av. El Sol, about a block from the main plaza. You don't really notice this place as you walk by, as there is just a small sign inside a doorway. It's upstairs at the mall, so you walk up the stairs inside to reach it.

Inside, it's Asian-styled (indeed, the place was full of Japanese tourists), with red and black accents and dark wood tables. The menu is called "Fusion" because it takes Peruvian dishes you see all over and mixes them with spicy chiles and asian style sauces. The result I must say was impressive. Prices are moderate, about 15 PEN ($5) for an appetizer and 25 PEN ($8) for a main course. Menus are in both English and Spanish.

We ordered a couple dishes which sounded just ok (spring rolls and stuffed chili peppers), but both turned out to be outstanding. These are unlike any spring rolls I've ever seen, and gigantic. The chili peppers were stuffed with meat and veggies and were delicious especially with a spicy sauce they brought on the side. The Aji de Gallina was definitely the best we've had in Peru so far, even tastier than we had at the Orient Express hotel. Nothing fancy, just use of spices and sauces that makes things really yummy.

We had a delightful surprise with Fusiones, very happy we stopped by.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

It's difficult to pick a place to eat in Cusco as there are so many good restaurants; however, be sure to try this restaurant located on a corner of the main plaza. Any dish is perfect, any dish! Great atmosphere, clean, delicious!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrible Service and Not the Great Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We visited Fusiones because we liked the look of the menu when shown it on the street outside. When we went upstairs the only tables were those on the balcony (cold in July!). We were offered a free pisco sour and told to wait just a little and a table would open up. It was over an hour before we got a table and when we did our food was okay, but not worth over an hour wait. It was actually a little cold.

I would not recommend this restaurant because they were understaffed and looking for money more than for quality.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fusiones Restaurant also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fusiones Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.