We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco to your Saves list
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Calle Atoqsaycuchi No 416 - San Blas, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 275 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good budget option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here twice because the price is so much better than other places in cusco and the location up the hill helped get acclimatized for the inca trail!

Rooms upstairs are better. Room 10 has a tv. Downstairs rooms are noisy.

The terrace was lovely. Wifi works best in the lounge.

Breakfast is fine, just bread and jam. The coffee included is pretty good and strong.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    86
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
109
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

(First of all, I am rating this a 5 star HOSTEL, which it certainly is. I am not comparing it to a HOTEL - altho in some ways it's better than a few hotels I've been in too! lol) We arrived in Cusco (with trepidation. I am a slightly nervous traveller sometime) and had pickup arranged through the hostel which is a major bonus and got them in our good books right away... THEN we were absolutley blown away by the great service from the ladies on staff. They usher you up to the top of the amazing balcony, with FANTASTIC views over the city and make you coca leaf tea and you sit in the sun and suddenly Peru isn't so scarry anymore. lol. We were lucky enough to have a matrimonial room (I guess because of the matrimonial state of our relationship) so it was on the ground floor, very quiet, private ensuite. COLD THO!! oh my goodness it's cold. There were 6 blankets on the bed and I slept fully clothed. the second night we learned you can rent a small air heater for only a few soles, and it did take the chill off the room, which was amazing. the hot water showers work, they give you clean towns, the breakfasts are a greal deal and safe to eat (we learned the hard way to be very very careful in peru with the food....) and with your breakfast you get free coffee or tea. And the coffee is EXCELLENT. To get that great view of the city they are obviously a little way away from the center, but we never found the walk to be bad, there's alot of steps, so it's not like climbing straight up. We felt safe while walking, even in the dark. They safely stored our bags for us while we were in Aguas Calientes and even had them placed back into our room the night we returned, If you want a decent sleep with NICE people and good advice on everything, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spotlessly clean, staff 24hrs, great location (San Blas area) fantastic view from the terrace, hot water, breakfast, free tea throughout the day. Pickup from airport. Staff speaks Spanish slowly and patiently with all who can 'get by' but don't really speak Spanish fluently. I was there in October (low season), so was lucky that the place wasn't super full and the 6-bed-room I stayed in had 2 others at the most. Good way to meet other travelers/back packers. It's a hostel, so don't expect fanciness. That said, I would stay there again.
The many stairs are an uphill battle, especially for those of us not used to the high altitude of Cuzco, but the views from the top make it all worthwhile. They do help with getting taxis, but unless you need it at 5am (which I did to get to Poroy station - 25min ride), it's much cheaper getting a taxi off the street and/or sharing with other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Samay Wasi for a total of 5 nights while in Cusco, both before and after our trek. While they didn't have matrimonial rooms, we had two single beds in our room which was fine. Rooms were clean, we had hot water, breakfast was good (add fried eggs), and the views from their terrace were amazing! But what really made our stay was their excellent staff - everyone was so helpful and kind. Highly recommend this hostel in Cusco!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor - lower ones can get a bit noisy And FYI, wifi doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Personnel very nice and friendly, speaking fluent English, knowledgeable about the city and all attractions. Hotel with good WiFi internet connection, clean a nd with perfect breakfast. We were very satisfied both with my son and we enjoyed our stay in Cusco

Room Tip: Rooms on terrace with great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our stay in Samay Wasi was absolutely wonderful. The girls working there are really helpful and friendly, I even wrote to them before arrival and they had all what we asked for ready. The views from the balcony and breakfast room are breathtaking and the rooms are comfortable and not as cold as in other places. They have internet access, tea at any times and the breakfast is good. In the afternoon they gave us a delicious freshly baked cake as courtesy. Also they gave us a little present to remember them when we left, which we didn´t need cause we had a great time anyway but it was a very sweet thing for them to do. They have walking poles they can lend you for your trek (and in agencies they charge you extra for that) and you can leave your bags there. Also they arranged AND payed for our cab ride to the airport which was really nice. An overall amazing experience, will definitively go back.

Room Tip: the ones on the second floor with shared balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I arrived in Cusco and was only supposed to stay in Samay Wasi for one night. Ending up staying here for a total of 14 nights and coming back several times.

Beds are awesome, you do not feel cold during the chilly Cusco nights, the dorms have a good size, the view is AMAZING and the privates are good value as well..

all this is however beaten by: 1. the hot showers!!! and 2. The fabulous Judith, Paulina, Betty, Mari, Alicia and Zoreida who are always there to help you with a smile.

I really enjoyed my stay here. Thanks to all the lovely staff.

Buena Suerte.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco

Address: Calle Atoqsaycuchi No 416 - San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 275 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samay Wasi is located in The turistic San Blas neighborhood, in a small hill which give us an amazing view of the city, 10 minutes walking distance to Plaza de Armas, close to restaurants, pubs, souvenirs stores, etc.Personalized service that will make you feel like home.We offer you private and dorm rooms with private bathroom, 24 hours hot water, included breakfast, internet access (WiFi), kitchen facilities, luggage storage and pick-up from the airport or bus station to Samay Wasi when the booking is for two or more nighrts. Laundry service and tourist information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.