We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to all expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andean Explorer Train

Andean Explorer Train
PeruRail Av Pachacutec Wanchaq, Cusco 5184, Peru
+51 84 581400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 100 attractions in Cusco
Type: Scenic Railroads
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy the beautiful Andean landscape of Peru on board of a luxury and magical way to travel between Cusco and the Lake Titicaca. Travelling in the Andean Explorer is a unique experience, a route between mountains, clouds, snow-capped mountains and puna finishing in the majestic Lake Titicaca. Its coaches involve you in an environment extremely decorated with the elegant style of Pullman trains of the decade of 1920. Its tourist shows, the 5-fork lunch, dining cars, observatory-bar car outdoors, among other attractions.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lived up to all expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This train trip was pre booked for us as part of a package tour of Peru and after several days of strenuous walking and climbing we really appreciated the comfort and relaxation. Although owned by Peru Rail the train is operated by Orient Express and it certainly lived up to its name. We were entertained by an Andean music group in the station while waiting to board the train. They then joined us on board and entertained in the observation coach. The seats were very comfortable and tablecloths etc pristine. The staff were attentive and professional and the food was beautifully presented. The few minutes 'half way house' stop along the way helped to stretch our legs and gave the shopaholics yet another chance to buy at the little market! The scenery was spectacular all the way. We lost count of all the little blue 'thunder boxes' in the villages!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Andean Explorer Train, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mrs. Elizabeth H,
We appreciate you for taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community and we would like to thank you for traveling aboard the Andean Explorer train on this occasion. We hope to see you back soon.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    93
    40
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cancelled”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The journey on the Andean explorer today was supposed to be one of the highlights of our trip to Peru. Late yesterday we received a call from the travel agency to inform us that the train was cancelled due to the protests in Juliaca which started on Tuesday. I fully understand that the safety of the passengers and property is of prime concern. However by the time the agency was notified every tour bus was full. At 9 pm we were notified that they had managed to arrange for a private car, guide and driver to transport us to Puno. It would have been extremely difficult if we had to make these alternate arrangements on our own.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Andean Explorer Train, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Lucelle S,
We understand your discomfort and we apologize for the inconvenience this may has caused you. Unfortunately, due to this type of circumstance we are forced to cancel trips. Once again, we are sorry for the inconvenience and we are always at your service.
Sincerely,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levis, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A full day on train, nice but long...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We did this nice ride from Puno to Cusco. The train is nice, clean, the lunch was good but not a fancy one. They do some kind of divertissement on board, music and dance, Pisco Sour hour. But for us it was to see the view on the way, who was interesting. After all the scenic ride become all the same and if we have to do the choice again , next time we will take the plane.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Andean Explorer Train, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mrs. drmartine,
Thank you for choosing Perurail as your travel option on this occasion and for sharing your comments with the Trip Advisor community and us. We hope this will not be the last time to see you aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Only if you are a train buff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Advertised as one of the top train trips in the world. Was supposed to take 10 hours from Cusco to Puno. Took us 12.5 hours. Delay was due to a an accident that blocked the tracks, which was not the fault of the train company. We had to change trains to the one that was coming from Puno to Cusco and those passengers had to get on our train. The staff did not clean the train we transferred to, so we, the passengers had to bus the tables and remove dirty table cloths. Staff was always in a hurry and did not provide good service. Also, the train company should have provided complimentary water due to the delay, but the passengers had to pay for everything.
Once it gets dark, there is nothing to see. After about four hours, I was done. In retrospect, we should have flown to Puno. Only two hours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Andean Explorer Train, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mr. CraigVes,
We are sorry for all the inconvenience. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you. However, we would like to thank you for your preference with Peru Rail and for taking the time to share your comments with our community.
Sincerely,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Do Yourself a Favour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Sharon and I had been recommended that we up-grade from bus to train for this portion of our trip from Cusco to La Paz by our travel advisor and WOW what an awesome day.
The train leaves from Cusco 4x a week at 8am and takes about 10 hours to get to Puno about 6pm. The scenery is amazing and constantly changes as you slowly wind your way up to the heights of the Altiplano ... slow enough so you can leisurely take in the wide and masive landscape views and get small snap-shots of the lives of the many people who live along the tracks.
You will be fully entertained with on-board fashion shows, live andean music, beautifully prepared and tasty cuisine, pisco sours and local wines.
There is a stop 1/2 way during the day at a local market on the side of the tracks for some recreational shopping.
The carriages offer plenty of comfort with wide window views to take in the scenery ... seats are very comfortable. There are plenty of seating options arranged to cater for groups of 4 or 2's either sitting facing each other or side by side ... get to the station early so that you can ensure you get the best option for you depending on the size of your party.
All the entertainment occurs in the rear carriage which also has a outsde viewng platform for those with asperations to take that perfect picture or just those to take in some fresh air.
Eat, drink, immerce yourself in the entertainment, and take in some absolutely amazing scenery.
One of the highlights of our trip .... you just have to take this option if you intend to travel overland between Cusco and La Paz.
Breathtaking !!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at Andean Explorer Train, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mr. jacksdad100,
We would like to special thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share them with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to know that you had an outstanding experience aboard the Andean Explorer train, and we appreciate your preference with PeruRail on this occasion. We hope to see you back soon aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andean Explorer Train also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Andean Explorer Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andean Explorer Train, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Andean Explorer Train to your Saves list