We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granja Heidi

Granja Heidi
Cuesta San Blas 525, Cusco, Peru
(084) 23 8383
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 407 restaurants in Cusco
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was my favorite meal out of all the places we ate during our 10 days in Peru. And one of the cheapest too!

I had the daily lunch special (which changes every day). So tasty! The lunch special included crema de zapallo (my new favorite soup - sort of like butternut squash but better), a small salad, a drink, the main course (teriyaki chicken), and desert, all included in the price. Delicioso!!!!

I wish we had had more time in Peru so that I could have gone back to eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    187
    69
    8
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“clean and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I would reccomend this for lunch. They often have a lunch special that is a good deal and it is very clean and reasonable for San Blas.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Charming Place to Eat and Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I are staying in Cusco and learned very quickly that one of the best ways to avoid altitude sickness is to eat a larger meal at lunchtime and then eat a very small meal at dinner. We asked our hotel (Torre Dorada) for a recommendation and were referred to the Granja Heidi, which is located just a couple of blocks outside the main Plaza de Armas square.

It´s kind of a hole in the wall place from the street level, but once you ascend to the second floor, you´re in for a treat. The interior is charming. Clean wooden floors and tables. The owner appeared to be German or Austrian and he just seems to be enjoying life. They have a regular menu, or a special (28 soles, which is like $10) that includes soup, a main course, and dessert. A steal.

I believe there´s also free Wi-Fi and there are definitely also magazine racks along the walls, so they invite you to linger and enjoy yourself. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City Gal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This meal was one of the best in Cusco, for it's simplicity.

At Altitude, it is best to eat light. The soups at Granja Heidi were delicious and flavourful. I had a side dishes of olives, which came with so many big marinated olives. For barely no extra money, my companion got a whole basket of fresh bread.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Happily close to our hotel on San Blas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

On our first day in Cusco, at Amaru Hostal, and breathless and lightheaded, we asked the front desk where we should go for lunch. She said to try Granja which was 2 doors down - so very easy to get to. We did. And we came back for more. The ambience is warm and owner Carlos taught us how to deal with the attitude. But forget all that! Carlos' cuisine was stunningly subtle with waves of enjoyable refined flavours. Every meal was good and every meal was one of our best in Peru.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granja Heidi also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Granja Heidi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granja Heidi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.