We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect gourmet restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAP Cafe

MAP Cafe
Plazoleta Nazarenas 231 | Museo de Arte Precolombino, Cusco, Peru
51-84-242476
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 405 restaurants in Cusco
Price range: $13 - $60
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Londrina, PR
2 reviews
“A perfect gourmet restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Food was amazing, the mix of flavours and spices, mix perfectly, and gave me a sensation that a long time, I didn't felt. The staff is really prepared, and nice, and the ambient wonderful, inside the museu de arte precolombiana de Cuzco.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    358
    100
    26
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, england
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Promises much but delivers less”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went because from a visit to the co-located museum it looked great. We got off to a bad start - the only menu they offered us (and this happened to everyone was the expensive fixed price 3 course dinner menu. The a la carte menu was only offered on request. My food (ceviche and lamb steaks) was good, my wife's (salad and a well done lamb) was less so.At this price you expect better. That said,service was excellent and location superb.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It takes some finding and is an interesting contrast to its surrounds but this ultramodern restaurant was a real suprise.
The food is excellent and well presented but I'm afraid that I will not bother with guinnea pig again - local freinds talked it up but I'd say don't bother - there are many better choices on teh menu.
Wine choice was pretty good and the serviice was delightfully understated.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, ambience and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a wonderful restaurant... the food is very creative, beautiful preesnted and great flavors. We had lunch here twice and were not diappointed. The gaspatcho soup was amazing as was the rest of the food. The service was perfect, attentive but not overbearing. You can not miss at this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinghorn, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Take care this is not a cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Amazing location. Nice staff. Amazing food. But it's not a cafe as advertised during day. Makes a nice posh restaurant.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAP Cafe also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region

Been to MAP Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAP Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.