We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect gourmet restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAP Cafe

MAP Cafe
Plazoleta Nazarenas 231 | Museo de Arte Precolombino, Cusco, Peru
51-84-242476
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 556 Restaurants in Cusco
Price range: $13 - $60
Cuisines: Peruvian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Londrina, PR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A perfect gourmet restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Food was amazing, the mix of flavours and spices, mix perfectly, and gave me a sensation that a long time, I didn't felt. The staff is really prepared, and nice, and the ambient wonderful, inside the museu de arte precolombiana de Cuzco.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katjeborba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, england
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Promises much but delivers less”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went because from a visit to the co-located museum it looked great. We got off to a bad start - the only menu they offered us (and this happened to everyone was the expensive fixed price 3 course dinner menu. The a la carte menu was only offered on request. My food (ceviche and lamb steaks) was good, my wife's (salad and a well done lamb) was less so.At this price you expect better. That said,service was excellent and location superb.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank taxdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It takes some finding and is an interesting contrast to its surrounds but this ultramodern restaurant was a real suprise.
The food is excellent and well presented but I'm afraid that I will not bother with guinnea pig again - local freinds talked it up but I'd say don't bother - there are many better choices on teh menu.
Wine choice was pretty good and the serviice was delightfully understated.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GADR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, ambience and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a wonderful restaurant... the food is very creative, beautiful preesnted and great flavors. We had lunch here twice and were not diappointed. The gaspatcho soup was amazing as was the rest of the food. The service was perfect, attentive but not overbearing. You can not miss at this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnySAN223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinghorn, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Take care this is not a cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Amazing location. Nice staff. Amazing food. But it's not a cafe as advertised during day. Makes a nice posh restaurant.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAP Cafe also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to MAP Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing