We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qorichaska Hostal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Qorichaska Hostal to your Saves list
Qorichaska Hostal
Calle Nueva Alta 458, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Lima, Lima, Peru
1 review
“worderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It was wonderful to be in this hostal with my students all the rooms were clean an comfortable.
The service was excellent and the reception was too. I hope this year I'll be there with other students.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qorichaska, Gerente at Qorichaska Hostal, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
We are pleased that you and your students spent pleasant days in Cusco and in the hostel Qorichaska, are invited to visit us again with a very special price and best service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    39
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
15
39
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

i only stayed for a couple of nights and i really loved the place. my standards a pretty normal when choosing where i'm staying, SAFE and CLEAN, and i got both and more from this hostal. the rates were great especially compared with the hotel close to the square. its location was quite surprising, only a few blocks from the main square which to me is a big deal.the added bonus for me was the breakfast, really good and overall my experience was simply great.

Internet connection was decent and the rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villages, FL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Built in an old colonial house this hotel is wonderful. The staff speak English and offer help constantly. The breakfast included was eggs, fresh blended papaya juice, bread. Tea, coffee and coca leaves were available 24/7. Extra warm blankets were offered but there were wool blankets on my bed so heavy I could not move all night. Great selection on TV. Location was about four blocks from center Plaza de Armas so restaurants were always a quick walk away. One day I needed to use a printer and the hotel manager walked me to the print shop a few blocks away and told them what I needed. Front gate is always locked so security is tight. Huge open courtyards and arched walkways to rooms.
Low season rate I paid was $19.00 a night for a single incl breakfast, all the advice I could ask for and lots of hot herbal tea! Loved this place!

Room Tip: they asked me if I wanted on the bottom floor or upstairs and I took a bottom floor room in 2nd cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Only stopped here one night but the circumstances made it a welcoming visit. Arrived back at Conde Meloc Hostal after a hell journey from MP at 2345 hrs to be told that our room had been let out, ouch. After 40 minutes of phone calls the lady said that we could stop here. Got here at 0030 hrs the guy at reception was so helpful and asked if he could do anything to help , sorted room out quick, and left us to sleep' breakfast in morning was lovely and served with a smile , very rare in Peru . All in all brilliant service

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Full of character. When we arrived the owners invited us to join in with a party they were hosting for the local village children as a Christmas treat. It was early morning and we were dancing and having fun, eating huge bread buns and hot chocolate. This was all at the hostel and we felt lucky to have been invited, it certainly was a good start to the day. We stayed for 5 nights over Christmas and Miguel could not have helped us enough. He booked trips and stored our luggage when we went to Machu Picchu. The rooms are on two floor set around 2 courtyards. They are clean, have hot water showers, wifi and cable tv. The breakfast is great too, bread & jam, scrambled eggs and pure fresh juice. The only downside its a bit cold, particularly in the rooms so you have to wrap up most of the time but everything else outweighed that. Its also close to the central plaza, only a 10 minute walk. Cusco is stunning and this just adds to it. Miguel is a gem and speaks really good English,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calamba, Philippines
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The place has charm. The rooms were chilly but you get to have really good beds, tv and a bathroom with really hot water.
(+)
They leave an extra think blanket for you in the cabinet right away.
You can ask for more pillows if you want
Theres dinning chairs and a table for you inside your room just in case you want to eat there i guess.
Good wifi
Staff was very friendly and helpful and really tried to please you.
Breakfast was good.
Tea all day long =)

Suggestion: i wish they'd convert a room for a common area with books or a tv so that guests dont just stay in their rooms when it rains or while waiting for the bus.

So of course we went to see Machu Pichu but before going we made sure to book the same room when we got back from our trip for an extra day to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Clean, big and very nice hostel. Serves a good Peruvian continental breakfast. Good kitchen access and very nice staff. Free tea all day long. Cable tv in nice rooms with comfy beds and excellent showers.

Rooms built around 2 courtyards in an old colonial building.

5/10 minute walk from town centre but still well located, near to Plateros street, Ave de Sol etc.

Be sure to eat and drink at Paddys in town at least once, well worth it.

Good hostel, fairly priced, a bit classier than some.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qorichaska Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qorichaska Hostal

Address: Calle Nueva Alta 458, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qorichaska hostel is a colonial style house located in an old historic downtown district of the city of Cusco, about 3 blocks from the "Plaza de Armas", this colonial building has a 300 years old and has authentic stone arches is also restored and perfectly preserved.Finally, a widening of the hostel with a modern building which houses a harmony with the old building, showing its great beauty, both the colonial and modern. So it has a courtyard where travelers can enjoy a pleasant atmosphere and friendly manner of a family of CuscoCusco Hostel, Peru Hostels, Hostales en Cusco, Backers Hostels, Peru Hostales ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Qorichaska Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qorichaska Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.