We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Disappoints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Cafe

Jack's Cafe
Choquechaka 509, Cusco, Peru
51-84-254606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 427 Restaurants in Cusco
Price range: $7 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Yes, all tourists seem to go here and yes, there always seems to be a line but for good reason-- Inexpensive, large portions, tasty food and friendly service. We went twice for lunch during our visit to Cusco, and while we waited in line both times, it was worth it. Given the altitude, we could never eat large meals, so Jack's Cafe was perfect. I usually got the soup (the weather was a bit cool when we were there) and my husband would get one of their great sandwiches. The staff were always cheerful and friendly and we left satiated and happy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    353
    76
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you are looking for comfort food, definitely head to Jack's! I usually try to eat in more local restaurants, but every now and then you need some good meals that remind you of home. This was just the place! The food is truly delicious, and I especially enjoyed the jugo mixto.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Tremendous Quality and Value in Cusco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Jack’s Café is the kind of place I usually avoid. It serves international food, is very highly rated on travel sites and has a line of travelers waiting in the street at all hours. Usually I am looking for more local food and I never want to spend time waiting for lunch. Nevertheless, we joined the queue where menus are distributed so you can order before you are even seen to a table.

To my surprise once we were seated we never felt rushed. We had ordered fresh squeezed lemonade, pumpkin soup and chicken noodle soup. All were excellent. The chicken soup was tasty and hearty, much like we might make at home from scratch. The pumpkin was well spiced and delicious.

As we ate we watched food arrive at the other tables and it all looked delicious and generously portioned. In short, there was a good reason for the line to get in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Went there at the recommendation of a few friends and was not disappointed. The servings are large and well worth it. The smoothies are fantastic, the french toast was yum but my favourite is the huevos rancheros. Try it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Cusco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

One of our two favorite dining experiences on our trip to Peru. We had the gordo and huevos rancheros with cinnamon clove iced teas. The portion sizes are enormous and the taste was delicious. Best huevos rancheros I've ever had. The service was excellent and we had very nice conversation with our friendly server. Make sure you try this place when you're visiting Cusco.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Cafe also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Jack's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.