We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hostel, excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta to your Saves list
Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta
Jiron Pumacahua 160, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 275 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great little hostel, excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here before and after our inca trail trek. The hostel is run by a great bunch of people who went out of their way to help.

Our first room (4 nights) was large with a double and 2 singles and private bathroom. It was on the lower floor right next to the reception area so it did get a little bit of background noise. Our second room was upstairs and was much quieter.

Rooms were simple but clean, with tv, free wifi and plenty of hot water. There is a nice rec room upstairs with DVDs, books, games, table football and ping pong.

Nice simple breakfasts, laundry service and secure storage whilst away on treks.

Location is in a quiet area, about 10 min walk to the main square

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    79
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
86
49
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albury
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

(2009) What a spot, a little hard to find at first as it's located just out of Cusco (about 15 minutes walk), staff were friendly but found it a little hard with our English, The Hostel is in a good location with minimal road noise and is a secure spot with a nice stroll into Cusco down some wonderful old cobble stone streets that have been around since the Inca's. Take your time and explore these street around the Hostel before heading into town. In a nutshell, Safe, Secure, friendly - would stay again

Room Tip: Watch your head on the low beam when you walk in, or you'll end up with a head ache...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Spent 2 nights before and 2 nights after our Inca Trail trek at this hostel and enjoyed our stay. The hostel is located just outside of the main touristy area which we enjoyed and was still within a short walk of the San Blas area. The staff were quite helpful with helping us to find our way around town. We had a number of problems with our flight to Cusco and arranging our Inca Trail trek and the hostel was very accomodating and flexible with our changing itinerary which was greatly appreciated. I would stay here again if I come back to Cusco.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed here because my girlfriend and I were pretty sick at the time, and it was the cheapest option of a twin private room at a place with a good review. However, not only is the hotel super cute/home-y, highly secure, and clearly family run, but the room itself was great! Plenty of outlets, a tv (not usually a huge fan but nice when you're sick with a fever), good natural lighting, night stand with light, and beds with plenty of nice blankets and comfy pillows! It also was attached to a comfortable, semi-private social room (shared with the other private but no one was staying there at the time so the room was all ours) and a private bathroom.
After we were better, we moved to one of the dorms, which was your typical dorm except with the same bedding as the rooms. Highly satisfactory. And they even make your bed.
Oh and that's the biggest thing. The service in this hostel is great–super helpful and not in that way like you feel as though they're trying to get something out of it. Free breakfast every morning before 10 (c'mon it's not even breakfast after 10 anyway). Javier's the main guy and he's the man—always busy but always ready to jump into action. Even called a pharmacist (his wife it turns out) to figure out what we had and what we should do.
Stay at Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta. You won't regret it. Tell them Peter sent you too :)

P.S. I put 4 instead of 5 for location simply because I would imagine that that's pretty much just a measure of distance from Plaza de Armaz for most. However it's easy to navigate, and only about a 10 minute walk, which is good for you anyway and isn't like it's through some weird part of town or anything. We got to hang out with a baby llama on the way one time so yeah, not necessarily a negative.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hostel had been recommended to us and we were not disappointed. It is about 10 minutes walk from the Plaza Del Armas but en route you can always stop in at Jack's for a full English breakfast if like us you are craving one by this point on your travels. The hostel is very clean, shared bathrooms are fine and the staff are extremely helpful. We were late booking and so availability was limited but the owner Javier went out of his way to make sure we were accommodated. We did have to move rooms and on one night where there was no availability Javier had to arrange for us to stay at another hostel but it was only a few minutes away and was also nice. The hostel was perfect for us as it was quiet and comfortable but close enough to the action. It was a nice walk by day and only 3 soles in a taxi at night. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

There isn't really anything bad to say about is place. The team were all super friendly with good English. They even organized for my wife to be taken to the drs clinic when she got sick and let us stay longer than our origional booking to recover. For the price including breakfast and clean rooms I think it would be hard to find better value in Cusco.
It's about a 15min walk into the main plaza, but safe enough until around 10pm, after that catch a taxi for S3 and your back in a couple of minutes.
Also have bag Holding facilities if your going trekking and a reliable and reasonable laundry service.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Really loved to stay here. The staff was nice and helpful. Facitilites and rooms are good. I had very good sleep during my stay. The breakfast was included, a pancake, coffe, tea, bread and jam. :) The price was excellent for those of us on a budget. I would highly recommend this hoste.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta

Address: Jiron Pumacahua 160, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 275 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta Hotel Cusco
Hospedaje Turistica Recoleta Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.