We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prisma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Prisma Hotel to your Saves list
Prisma Hotel
Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Birmingham, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Like the other reviewers, I stayed here as part of a G-Adventures tour in mid December 2014. I added on a couple nights before and after my G-Adventure trip. I would absolutely recommend staying there the night before the trip in order to meet up with the group and to be on site bright and early to leave on your adventure in the morning. HOWEVER, I would NOT stay there for any additional days - I would spend the money to stay elsewhere. The Prisma, while adequate and in a decent location, is extremely noisy. My room also did not have any toiletries - had to ask for soap! Front desk staff ran the range from rude to great. So I would recommend it for the stay associated with G-adventures, but consider another hotel, if you can afford it, for any extra days.

Room Tip: away from lobby - higher floor is slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    83
    133
    35
    9
See reviews for
38
113
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Generally was food, the bedroom was clean and big. However, there was a lot of noise in the bedroom, so you can here everything from outside. There was not too much privacy.

The breakfast was the worst thing ever. They have a nasty ham, just two different fruits, four types of cereal with the same flavor, just one yogurt, at the end we didn't take it. It looks that they took al the past overs and put it in a table.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for three nights as part of a G Adeventures tour - lots of tour groups stay here. The room was basic, but quite clean. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay, the first one was a bit odd with no external window - the room opened into the atrium and was very noisy. The second part of our stay we asked to switch rooms as the windows were so thin and the traffic so loud it was like sleeping on the street! Breakfast was a bit hit and miss, so mornings yummy bread with avocado and fruit, other mornings (possibly when tour groups had got up and left early) much less choice. I'm not sure we would stay there again, and if it hadn't been booked for the tour we probably would have looked for nicer accommodation which is plentiful in this amazing city.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

We experienced some very kind and helpful staff here. We ended up staying here longer than we planned and there was no issue with staying in the same room. There were a few phone calls to be made to change bookings and many taxis to get to explore cusco. The staff were always happy to help us out and there were several occasions the staff came out to speak to taxi drivers so we got to the right place for the right price. It was definitely a home away from home for us and we felt comfortable here. The wifi was a bit average at times, it depends where you are in the hotel. Lucky here were lots of couch areas and good wifi in the lobby areas so skyping family at Christmas wasn't a drama. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the beds were comfortable, bathrooms were very clean and there was lots of closest space a floor space for our luggage.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

The first night i stayed here i was on ground floor, i barley slept the windows are paper thin and nicely located outside my door was a lounge area which kept me awake all night with people chatting. If you're off to do the Inca Trail the next day i would request another room on another floor.

Its such a noisy hotel it never stops, not only from guests but the traffic outside and general city sounds.

The wifi is so bad, barley connects however they do have a desktop PC you can use.

Food at breakfasts is pretty good, its clean however and in a good location.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

We had to stay at this hotel as it was part of a tour booked with G...
Pros: Simple, clean, ok location, G adventure service desk inside, good free breakfast lots of options

Cons: on noisy street, not best area, rooms on street very loud when tiring to sleep, rooms on inside have no windows, hotel itself is loud as it is a hub for tours... Walls thin, beds ok

There are TONS of hotels in the area, some better neighbourhoods and some closer to the main plaza.... Other hostels around have better social scene, and other hotels have more quiet relax vibe

We stayed at 4 other hotels in Cusco, preferred all of them over this place

Fine if booking a tour with G ( kinda have to stay here)

Room Tip: Do you want a street view which you hear street noise all night, or a room on the inside with no win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Let me preface this review by saying that I gave it 4/5 stars because this is not a luxury hotel. However, this hotel met all of our needs and really ended up being a lifesaver for my boyfriend and me when our evening flight out of Cusco was cancelled and we were stranded. The Prisma Hotel took us in at 10:30pm with no problem.

Prior to that mishap, we stayed here for several days with a G Adventures tour. Rooms were clean and nice. Some of the rooms even had a balcony overlooking the entire city of Cusco. The staff was so efficient and friendly.

Some cons:
-wifi only available in the lobby, and it's shotty
-rooms get really cold and the space heaters don't do a damn thing.
-if you're on the first two floors, prepare to be woken up by tour groups shuffling in and out super early in the morning

Some more pros:
-there's a computer in the lobby to meet all of your wifi and computing needs
-location is really centralized and wonderful. Everything is in walking distance.
-if you're suffering from some altitude sickness, the staff will offer you an oxygen tank and breathing apparatus.

All in all, this place was good enough for me to write this review. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: choose floors 3 and up if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prisma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prisma Hotel

Address: Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Prisma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prisma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.