We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked through G-Adventures” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prisma Hotel

Save Saved
You added Prisma Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prisma Hotel
Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 144 hotels in Cusco
Fremantle, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Booked through G-Adventures”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Prisma as part of our Inca trail tour with G Adventures. Nothing much to report apart from the hotel is situated in a prime position (5 mins away from the town square) however don't expect to get much sleep as the windows and walls are paper thin and you can hear everything.. The staff however are more than lovely and try their best to accommodate you so please do not take your frustration out on them! The bed sheets are clean and the showers are hot but do not dare flush toilet paper (it is forbidden!)... All in all it was an OK stay and believe me if you are doing the inca trail you will be staying here on the last night and you will be thankful for a nice hot shower and clean bed!!!

Room Tip: Please ask for a top floor room away from hustle and bustle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    65
    110
    28
    9
See reviews for
30
90
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are trying to compare hotels, it is easy to forget that you must compare apples to apples. Prisma is a good choice for the budget traveler. The rooms were simple, but clean. The food was much the same; simple but clean. I don't want surprises when I am traveling on a budget unless they are pleasant ones. This was a pleasant one. Unless you are willing to pay a premium, what more could you ask? The staff tried their very best to accommodate our requests. The shower, which is very important to me, functioned better than a high priced hotel we stayed in, in Machu Picchu. Imagine that! The location is easy to find and there was always someone at the desk and at the door.

Room Tip: Remember to bring your own toiletries. But, if you are missing an essential, there is a market at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was happily surprised.

From previous reviews was expecting a noisy, dingy, hostel-type atmosphere. Instead, I found a clean, well-maintained facility, with good service and, in back, a nice atrium and plenty of room to sit down and stretch out

Like most guests having done a trek with G Adventures, which has a service desk there, I stayed on the first floor, right off the lobby for two nights and after the hike another two nights on the second floor. Both rooms were spacious and functional, with working television and good hot water. Even the room off the lobby wasn't particularly noisy, though in both I could definitely hear traffic from outside.

Location is okay, not great, an eight or ten minute walk from the main plaza; the breakfast buffet nothing special but enough to get going in the morning. Biggest problem, as expected, was very sketchy wifi, which came and went.

The front desk was professional and neatly dressed (suits and ties); of the three people, usually two spoke some English and one spoke perfect English; among other things they booked with ease a good full-day driver and the usual taxi to the airport etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here with G Adventures and was a bit apprehensive given the reviews but actually, the hotel was fine!

Most of the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. You can store luggage securely and any valuables in the reception safe. Good security with a doorman at all times too.

The room is basic but clean. The windows are rubbish for noise but ear plugs sort that out fine for sleeping. Wifi is good in the common areas. Our friends had a newly returned room which was really nice with tiled bathroom so perhaps they're slowly rolling out the modernisations.

The breakfast is fine. The usual continental stuff, fruit juices, frankfurters, pasta and chips. The pasta is pretty tasty!

Location is good and walking distance from the markets and squares. Shop 2 doors down for water and snacks etc.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Tx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our G Adventure Inca Trail Tour, pre and post hike. The pre-hike visit we were placed in a room with a window opening directly out to the elevator. Besides listening to the elevator all night, we could hear all of the noise from the common areas of the hotel. On the post-hike stay, a male hotel employee just opened our door and walked into our room WHILE WE WERE IN BED! No knock, no excuse me, just heard a key in our door and then there is this weird guy standing in our room. I guess he figured out that he was not supposed to be in our room, and so he turned and walked out. No apology, nothing! And then while we were having a weird breakfast of pasta leftovers and salad, someone helped themselves to a pair of earrings that I had left on the table in our room. When we asked the desk staff about the missing earrings, we were told that they had NEVER had a complaint of missing items, EVER. A manager was NEVER made available to speak to us. The incredibly rude desk staff repeatedly said that there was no manager to speak with us. She was off that day and EVERY DAY we asked for her.
Overall the hotel appeared to need some work. Broken tiles in the bathroom, shabby overall.
Housekeeping was poor. The room's floor was not cleaned during our stay. Some nice-sized dust bunnies began to take shape beneath the table and behind the nightstands. Also, the shower was dirty before we even used it!
G Adventures should consider using a different hotel because this place is a dump with poor customer service. Actually, the staff at this hotel doesn't even seem to have ANY idea of what good customer service entails.
Overall, we give this hotel 2 THUMBS DOWN!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here as part of g-adventures inca trail/city stay.In all I stayed 8 days in a 10 day period.Despite booking several months in advance and requesting a double bed, we spent our first 3 nights in a room with 2 singles. My husband went on the inca trail but before he went we requested a double bed for his return. In the 2 days I was on my own I was given a double bed. Before I left the hotel (the day before he would be back I reconfirmed that we would have a double bed). Got back from Machu Picchu to find we did have a double BUT on the ground floor right beside the area where people congregate and use the wifi. We accepted for the first night back butrequested a double on a higher floor for our last 2 nights. We were told that would be okay and check back 9am, which we did. We explained all this to the woman receptionist who obviously didn't want to give us another room, said they had many guests coming in etc. When we were persistent she kept us waiting 2 hours only to hand us a key to the first room we'd had (ie with 2 singles). Despite it being written on our paperwork she said wehad never requested a double- then, when it was obvious we were't backing down a double room was available in a few seconds. With the exception of this woman the rest of the staff are helpful-but obviously room requests are not passed on!Later when I mentioned this to the afternoon staff an alternative double room was offered!!!!!! (Which made us realise it was available!!) Breakfasts were so bad that we started going out instead of facing last night's leftovers from the restaurant eg. Pasta, cold chips, sad looking fruit, weird looking cereal etc.

Room Tip: Be persistent if you want a double bed-they seem very random with room allocations. Choose level 4 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed here for one night before and one night after our trip to the Inca Trail with G Adventures. I had pretty low expectations coming here, as the G Adventures website warns of rolling blackouts and no hot water, which was not the case at all. We arrived areound 9 am to check in and luckily our room was available for check in. We were given some coca tea to drink in the lobby while we filled out the paperwork. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean and hot water only took a few minutes to get. Breakfast is included with your stay, not really what I am used to for breakfast, but lots of fresh fruit and some other odd things to choose from. Our second night, after returning from the Inca trail, they had already assigned rooms to us, so check-in was very quick. Again, hot water wasn't a problem in the room, just had to wait a few minutes for it to warm up. I did find the hotel kind of noisy, but that was really the only complaint I have. The wifi worked fine for me, though as previously mentioned, not available in all rooms (worked in our room the first night, not in our room the second night). The location is great, very close to the main square, lots of restaurants, and a grocery stre nearby. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The bellboy/doorman was super energetic at opening the door and storing/retrieving luggage. The front desk answered all the questions I had.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cusco
Best Value, Qui...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#69 of 144 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Bar/Lounge, Bes...
Show More
0.7 mi away
El Puma Hotel
El Puma Hotel
#79 of 144 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
#36 of 144 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Char...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hoteles De La Villa Hermoza
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cusco Plaza II
Hotel Cusco Plaza II
#84 of 144 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
3-star, Mid-ran...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Samay Hotel
Samay Hotel
#88 of 144 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prisma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prisma Hotel

Address: Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 144 hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Prisma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prisma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.