We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful colonial style building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa

Save Saved
You added Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Alfonso Ugarte 403, Arequipa A01, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 85 hotels in Arequipa
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful colonial style building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This city centre hotel is very conveniently located for those wishing to walk around the old streets and sites. The general areas are situated in an old mint building and the rooms are in a modern addition at the back. The bedrooms are a good size and well-equipped and the other rooms are a spacious, stone architectural delight. The restaurant serves up good, but rather pricey. evening meals (and even pricier fizzy water!). The breakfast buffet has plenty of choice - although it is very cold sitting eating outside in the Arequipa winter and the waiters tend to hover over one too closely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    111
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
74
247
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were in Peru for 23 days, and stayed at many, many hotels, and I can highly recommended a stay at Casa Andina PC. It was a splendid experience.

From the moment our driver dropped us at the gates we were treated with great care and respect. Our bags were quickly gathered from the van, as we were seamlessly ushered to the office for a quick check in. Shortly after we were off to a wonderful 2 room suite in the historic part of the building (room 102) which is in the inner courtyard. I was a little concerned about the noise from the courtyard, but the walls of the room were very thick and this was not a problem. The very polite and attentive bell boy gave us the the history of the hotel, and answered the many questions we peppered him with in PERFECT English as he explained all the room functions. He even came back to open the door when we came back from dinner, as I could not manage to get the old fashion key to work. As some have noted, this may not have 5 star linens, or bedding, but it is visually lovely, in a great location, and offers very comfortable accommodations.

Breakfast offered many choices, and we really enjoyed the wonderful omelets cooked on the outdoor heated patio. We did not eat in the dining room for dinner, as we had other recommendations. The dining room did look beautiful, but there were very few people dining when we were there for 2 nights.

If you do stay and are not on a budget give Zig Zag restaurant a try, it's a nice stroll from the hotel. It is very safe to go out at night in the old town area.

Bottled water was provided in the rooms, along with robes, and a safe. The main courtyard is a fabulous place to rest, recover after a day of travel or site seeing. Sit out on the lovely couches and enjoy a drink from the bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in a Senior Suite (#102). Given the price and "private collection" brand, we expected more. No serious issues, just doesn't compare to some recent luxury stays elsewhere. No question the hotel architecture is beautiful in the common areas and suite. However, some details are lacking. The king bed wasn't overly comfortable, sheets not highest quality, pillows tired. Other things you come to expect in higher end hotels weren't there..."Bose" audio system, quality coffee maker (instead of kettle and instant coffee pouch), turn down, granite, etc. Also, aside from the amazing ceiling, the bathroom looked like one you might find at a 3-star hotel (eg. acrylic shower tub). Concierge was helpful but not always properly informed. Breakfast was good with average service.

The location is excellent. This may be the best hotel in the area but for the price would consider other options next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We kindly appreciate your time in sharing with us your recent experience at our hotel.

We regret that we did not meet your expectations and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you found within our rooms. It is very important for us to provide our guests with the best quality and service experience that reflects our brand. Therefore, we will certainly take into consideration every single one of your comments.

On the other side, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our preferred location, as well as our breakfast.

Once again, thank you for choosing Private Collection Arequipa, and we hope to receive you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old building with decent sized rooms just 3 minutes walk from main square. Rooms are modern and clean and spacious.

Staff very helpful and arranged chemist to bring tablets to hotel for me. Also made restaurant booking.

Upper terrace is sun trap with great views of the volcanoes. Free WiFi in rooms and 2 internet PCs as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

What a pbeasure !!! I booked a suite and this a simple one of the nicest hotel i went to.

Really well located into arequipa historic center.

Friendly staff.

Breakfast is really good

And the suite we had was so big!!

This is a really Nice experience in peru.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

the original building of this hotel is, as the reviews say, beautiful and interesting. Unfortunately most of the rooms are in a ugly, featureless, us-motel style building out back - with tired old furniture and windows that don't open (meaning in our case we were able to enjoy the smell of cooking on the landing). We found it very disappointing.

Room Tip: insist on the old part or, in our view, don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you shared your experience at our Private Collection Arequipa, since this represents an opportunity for improvement.

We regret we didn’t meet your expectations this time. We would like to mention, that the main building is made of Arequipa’s emblematic volcanic stone “sillar” and it dates from the 18th century, when it used to be the city’s Mint House. Most of our rooms, except form our suites, are located on an adjacent building that was constructed for lodging purposes. However, we are sorry to know that it did not meet your expectations. Regarding the windows, they are sound proofed and this is the reason why they cannot be opened.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you travel to Arequipa, you gotta stay in this hotel.
We enjoyed our time there, the hotel itself is build with white stones, it think it was an old monastery. which gives this magical atmosphere. I highly recommend. Service wonderful and the breakfast we love it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa

Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa Hotel Arequipa
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa Hotel
Address: Calle Alfonso Ugarte 403, Arequipa A01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#5 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#9 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its original grandeur, this storied pillar colonial mansion is the only 5-star hotel in Arequipa’s historic center – and is as much living museum as it is hotel. Inhabiting the 1794 former Casa de la Moneda (Mint House)—a National Historic Monument — it is Arequipa’s finest hotel and one of the most sumptuous hotels to stay in all of Peru. Brilliantly illuminated at night, the hotel is in the heart of Arequipa’s historic quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.