We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa to your Saves list
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Alfonso Ugarte 403, Cercado, Arequipa 01, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Arequipa is an interesting colonial city in Peru. At its heart is the welcoming Casa Andina Private Collection Hotel. It´s a converted former Mint and while its modern wing is not particularly special the rooms in the original part of the hotel are very impressive. the only drawback is the sound of guests rolling their trolly bags outside as they depart early in the morning. The hotel has a very good restauarant but above all is the wonderful staff led by their helpful and very professional young manager, Erick. This is a perfect location for anyone visitng the wonderful Colca Canyon but I found the hotel to be a bit chilly in the public areas especially in the evenings when the sun went down. I have, however, no hesitation in recommending it to anyone visiting this interesting city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    153
    34
    8
    7
See reviews for
92
312
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our five week trip of Peru. It's in a good location just a ten minute walk from the Plaza de Armas. The public areas were lovely, being part of the old mint house. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it it did look very elegant. Breakfast was good and served in an open courtyard (chilly in winter but there was a heater which warmed it up a bit). Staff were friendly and helpful.

We were in a superior room, which was in the annexe built on at the back of the original building and lacked the character of the public areas. Although it was clean and comfortable, it was nothing special and felt like an ordinary chain hotel room you can get anywhere in the world. Likewise the bathroom, which, to be fair, was spacious and perfectly adequate.

We had a pleasant stay in Arequipa and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Arequipa is a lovely city whose altitude is just right for acclimatising to the Andes, so spend some time here and try and ensure it is at this centrally situated but quiet hotel. The hotel is entered through an elegant courtyard of what appears to be a large spanish mansion. Reception and other rooms lead off this courtyard. Again the staff were most courteous and helpful, I'm really impressed with Peruvian hotel staff. Our room was in fact two rooms one having a sitting area, the bathroom was enormous. Very comfortable with the cosy feeling of being in an historic building. We had a very nice meal in the restaurant but were sadly the only people there, so I had to search out a waiter when we went in. The wine is a bit pricey.
A very adequate buffet breakfast was served al fresco, but with heaters, only spoiled by mobile phone users who were clearly earning more than the average crust.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room, don't know why!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights prior to going on a trip to Colca Canyon. Beautiful old building lovingly restored made for a memorable stay. Very well located close to the Santa Catalina monastery, the main square, cathedral and museum with the famous ice maden mummy. The staff were pleasant and extremely helpful when one of our suitcases failed to arrive. Great views from the upstairs terrace across to the snow-capped volcano. Wonderfully atmospheric lounge for an evening cocktail prior to strolling out for dinner. Very clean room with pleasant decor. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I will start this review with the PRO:
Nice location very central, nice staff well trained and very nice to enjoy breakfast under the sun in the patio.
The hotel is located in a nice historic building and this has lots of charm.
The CON:
We had a normal standard room and have to say that unfortunately being part of the Casa Andina means ... rooms all the same and as we came for a bad experience in Puno there were not that much difference here.
Except that the room was a bit more cleaned and we did not found any old apple in a corner... but I would have not done the under bed test...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for letting us know your impressions about our hotel.

We are very sorry to hear you had some inconveniences during your stay in our properties in Arequipa and Puno. Although, we would like to mention that being part of a hotel chain, our hotels share some standards and that might be the reason why you found the same type of rooms in two different hotels.

It is also important for us if our guests mention any problems they might have during their stay. This way there is always a chance to revert the discomfort and to offer better travel experiences to all our guests.

We would love to have a second opportunity to make things better and to offer you the real Casa Andina experience.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Enjoyed the hotel very much. The staff was the most friendly and helpful of anywhere we stayed in Peru. Milagros, our server at breakfast, was so helpful, with all kinds of tips on things to do. She always had a smile on her face. Frank was also great helping with restaurant reservations, etc.

The hotel location was perfect; close to the toursit sites and good restaurants. The breakfast was very plentiful as well. Overall very happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is not only beautiful but the staff was/is amazing. They went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and well taken care of, especially the bell boy Juan Carlos. Throughout our stay in Peru we stayed in other Casa Andina hotels and none matched the excellent service we received at Casa Andian Private Collection Arequipa. We will be returning to this hotel whenever we are back in Arequipa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa

Address: Calle Alfonso Ugarte 403, Cercado, Arequipa 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#9 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa is raised on the old "Casa de la Moneda" (old Mint), a national historic landmark built in 1794, what makes our hotel more a living museum than a hotel. Its strategic location only a few blocks from the Plaza de Armas in Arequipa makes it the ideal choice for business and leisure travelers. It features 41 rooms - 100 % non-smokers, among an Imperial Suite and two Senior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa Hotel Arequipa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.