We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Historic Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa

Save Saved
You added Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Alfonso Ugarte 403, Arequipa A01, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 85 hotels in Arequipa
The Hague
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice Historic Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I will start this review with the PRO:
Nice location very central, nice staff well trained and very nice to enjoy breakfast under the sun in the patio.
The hotel is located in a nice historic building and this has lots of charm.
The CON:
We had a normal standard room and have
to say that unfortunately being part of the Casa Andina means ... rooms all the same and as we came for a bad experience in Puno there were not that much difference here.
Except that the room was a bit more cleaned and we did not found any old apple in a corner... but I would have not done the under bed test...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for letting us know your impressions about our hotel.

We are very sorry to hear you had some inconveniences during your stay in our properties in Arequipa and Puno. Although, we would like to mention that being part of a hotel chain, our hotels share some standards and that might be the reason why you found the same type of rooms in two different hotels.

It is also important for us if our guests mention any problems they might have during their stay. This way there is always a chance to revert the discomfort and to offer better travel experiences to all our guests.

We would love to have a second opportunity to make things better and to offer you the real Casa Andina experience.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    118
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
79
267
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Enjoyed the hotel very much. The staff was the most friendly and helpful of anywhere we stayed in Peru. Milagros, our server at breakfast, was so helpful, with all kinds of tips on things to do. She always had a smile on her face. Frank was also great helping with restaurant reservations, etc.

The hotel location was perfect; close to the toursit sites and good restaurants. The breakfast was very plentiful as well. Overall very happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is not only beautiful but the staff was/is amazing. They went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and well taken care of, especially the bell boy Juan Carlos. Throughout our stay in Peru we stayed in other Casa Andina hotels and none matched the excellent service we received at Casa Andian Private Collection Arequipa. We will be returning to this hotel whenever we are back in Arequipa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here three nights in August, split between a two day trip to Colca Canyon. the hotel has bags of charm and atmosphere even if this also means that some of the rooms in the old part of the building can be slightly musty and, indeed, as some comments have suggested slight noisy. for us this wasn't a major issue and added to the character of what is an excelent hotel. We were staying with two sons - 14 and 16. We had booked a normal and a superior room - no twin beds in the normal rooms.

On arrival a guest had been taken in ill, so they needed our superior room for him tostay an extra night. This wasn't an isue for us and to compensate, Eric - the young and dynamic manager offered to put us into the "Presidential" suite the following night and a superior suite on the third night. Staff were very helpful with luggage, restaurant advice and bookings, etc. Good restaurant in the hotel, breakfast was fine and a good sun terrace, where we wathced the painters try to paint one wall all,afternnon. Very entertaining.

We visited St Catalina Monestry - good guided tours with small voluntary vontribution, Plaza des Armes and ate at ChiChas, which was excellent. Only other comments was that the standard twin rooms were rather simple and would be smallish for alonger stay. But all in all a great place for a family visit.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is right behinf the monastry and only 5 mn walk from city center. We appreciated a lot the lobby and inside terrasse. Rooms are clean and spacious, but windows is open on corridor which is not always confortable so you need to leave with curtains closed! Breakfast are very nice and service mid range: depends on who helps you, it can be long. I tested the laundry and was perfect for a bit expensive cost, and stuff was not back before claiming for it 3 times at reception
I would however recommend this hotel in Arequipa for its situation , still the service and certainly for the quality of hotel itself

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The rooms are beautiful and spacious. Staff friendly and helpful and, well, location, location, location. It is across the street from the monastario, 5 blocks from the santorio museum and 2 blocks from the historic center with many restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

It was my first stay in such an hotel for that time. The hotel is in the center of Arequipa and it is really good situated, but there was such a noise at 4 am till I have to get up. Some people were talking a lot and didn't take care of the other. The rooms are small but clean. I just stayed there for one night and I think that it was enough.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are truly thankful for letting us know your impressions regarding your recent stay at our Private Collection Arequipa hotel.

We very much regret if you felt we were not able to provide you a pleasant experience while you were with us. At Casa Andina we always do our best to stand out on the service we offer to all our guests.

We sincerely hope we have a second opportunity to serve you and experiment the real Casa Andina experience.

Kind regards,

Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa

Address: Calle Alfonso Ugarte 403, Arequipa A01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#7 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its original grandeur, this storied pillar colonial mansion is the only 5-star hotel in Arequipa’s historic center – and is as much living museum as it is hotel. Inhabiting the 1794 former Casa de la Moneda (Mint House)—a National Historic Monument — it is Arequipa’s finest hotel and one of the most sumptuous hotels to stay in all of Peru. Brilliantly illuminated at night, the hotel is in the heart of Arequipa’s historic quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa Hotel Arequipa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.