We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place and helpful owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Nueva Espana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Posada Nueva Espana to your Saves list
Posada Nueva Espana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Antioquilla 106 | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Prague
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very nice place and helpful owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We cant agree moreč with all the reviewers wha just loved this place, so did we. Owners are very nice people and Jose´s ability to talk differrent european languages makes him one in a million in South America. he was always quite helpful as well as the others, even when they did not spek english. breakfasts were allright as was the shower, but i had not much sleep in there. beds vere quite hard to my liking, i had to do some practice in the morning to be able to go on, but was not able to sleep more then some 5 hours in there

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    36
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
62
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

though this hotel is over the bridge from the city center, it is packed full of charm and style. well worth the extra walk. Run by 3 generations of the family who are friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, cool and quiet. they look out into the courtyards of the hotel. Breakfast is served on the roof with views of the city and the surrounding volcanoes. Arequipa is a beautiful city of white stone colonial buildings

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Don't wanna bother you with the details. Places like this is the reason to why I travel the world! 5 points from Denmark!

(Very) hot water
Great included breakfast
Good wifi
Great beds
Private rooms and showers
Fresh and clean towels and bed linen

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights before and after a Cayon del Colca trip. The posada itself is very colorful, peacefull and has an authentic feel. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds were however are bit on the small side and we didn't have hot water one morning.

The family who owns and runs the posada are extremely friendly. Although they do not all speak English, they try their best to communicate clearly. They were very helpfull and flexible. For example, they arranged that our laundry was done in only a couple of hours so we would be able to go on the Canyon del Colca trek one day earlier and it was no problem to change our reservation at the posada at the last moment. The breakfast was fantastic with eggs and fruit etc. It is a 10 minute walk to Plaza de Armas, or a 7 soles taxi ride. We would come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile


This family run hotel couldn't be more welcoming and friendly. The traditional style building has a warm feeling and it is only a ten minute walk from the main square. The free internet was and big plus as was the helpfulness of the staff when assisting with my queries. If I am lucky enough to go to Arequipa again I will definitely be staying here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

A beautiful 200 year old home in a relatively quiet part of town. 20 minute walk to city center, but they will arrange taxis without any problem. Lovely courtyard with traditional Spanish flooring. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and the shower was large and had plenty of hot water. The 'papa' is a character and will talk your ear off (in Spanish) about what I gather was his experience marching with Martin Luther King. Breakfast was decent, but nothing exceptional. The manager/son? was quite charming and helpful and very concerned that everything was to our liking. The place had a great 'feel' - we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Firstly an apology to the owners for not writing this earlier. Myself and my wife stayed here in November last year. What a delightful place! Very few hotels of this (small) size can be so welcoming and atmospheric. All the staff that we encountered were extremely friendly and they arranged a super trip to Colca Canyon for us. Breakfast is served on the roof patio and so begins a lovely day in Arequipa. We were given excellent advice on where to go, what to see and what to avoid. All excellent tips. If you are looking for a down side then it could be argued that there are no good restaurants nearby but the town is a short walk away and staying here is so quiet. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Nueva Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Nueva Espana

Address: Calle Antioquilla 106 | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Arequipa
#8 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Nueva Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Nueva Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Nueva Espana Arequipa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Nueva Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.