We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Nueva Espana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Nueva Espana to your Saves list
Posada Nueva Espana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Antiquilla 106 | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Arequipa
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You must stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed here before and after our trip to the Colca Canyon.
We had a room in the original part of the house. Perfect!
Clean, quiet and very safe. Super location--nice walk into the
main square. A 3 minute walk to a great supermarket with lots of ready made food.
The owners made sure all our needs were met. Arranged for our 2day overnight tour of the Colca Canyon in a perfect hotel and stored our luggage.
A delicious breakfast served in the morning on the veranda.
Spanish, English, French and German spoken.
WIFI is free and fast.
Do not stay anywhere but HERE when in Arequipa!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    39
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
72
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I liked being here so much I extended my stay by four nights. From the moment I arrived Grandfather Antonio reminded me that their guests were friends and not strangers - and that's exactly how it was. So much so that he would give me daily coaching on my Spanish, and advice on books to help. My room was cleaned daily and always spotless. The breakfast was gently provided by one of their staff - delicious juice, fruit and choice of eggs...Tonio, son on reception, was hugely helpful with the many sites to see in Arequipa (and there are many!) including ones that are off the beaten track - make sure you go to the Convent of Recoleta near the hotel and see the amazing library. Tonio also helped me book my Colca Canyon trip, advising me of the differences between the different tour agencies. If you are in Arequipa, you can't miss the Canyon - and I was pleased I went for the two night option there, lots of trekking possibilities. Also, don't miss Museo Santuarios Andinos. The hotel is a short walk from the main square - it was a relief to be away from the touristic bustle of the centre and also near a supermarket to pick up any things that I needed. Only a couple of days since I left and it feels too long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Don't be fooled by the surrounding neighbourhood. This hotel is charming, the owner very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast delicious up on the outdoor patio. Free wifi, cable TV, and hot showers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsby, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in the family room (1 double, 2 single beds) and everything was perfect. The room was clean, beds comfortable, Wifi fast in the room, quiet , no heating but wasn't necessary. The owners were exceptional , They provided any help we could think of. We could store our luggage for the day we went to colca canyon ad we could leave our valuables in their safety deposit box. Secure parking was round the corner for 15 soles per day. It was a 10 min walk to plaza de armas and a bigger supermarket was 3 min away. The breakfast was outstanding and the best we had so far: a fresh fruit bowl, omelette/ fried egg, fruit juice, bred rolls, butter, jam and a mix of different teas or coffee (instant). The owners even waved us good bye. All in all a 10/10 experience  and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We got a warm welcome and a lot of information about the city from the staff. We could use their facilities, like kitchen and luggage storage. The room was clean, enough space and it had a nice hot shower. The beautiful terrace with delicious breakfast in the sun was the best! A place to recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A charming hotel in a nice area of the town, located near by the center, which I found very pleasant, as it is a quite and peaceful place, like a oasis where you can have a good rest. The plaza de armas is only about a five minutes walk away. The owners are very friendly and helpful with everything. The rooms are cosy and clean. Breakfast, which I found excellent, is served on a nice terasse...All in all a very nice place, I recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The website Booking says the hotel is about 500m from the Plaza de Armas, that's not true, it's about 1km and some meters, just check on Google Maps. If I knew it, I would have looked for a hotel closer to the Plaza.

Positive points:
Clean rooms
Lovely staff
Good breakfast

Negative points:
It's not so close to the Plaza de Armas, the owner said that the path until there is not dangerous, but I didn't feel safe walking around there at night. It's about 15min walking.
The room we stayed at was a little bit dark

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#9 of 89 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#1 of 89 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#5 of 89 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Nueva Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Nueva Espana

Address: Calle Antiquilla 106 | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Arequipa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#9 Family Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Nueva Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Posada Nueva Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Nueva Espana Arequipa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Nueva Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.