We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, quiet ancient retreat near main square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casona Solar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casona Solar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casona Solar
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Consuelo 116 | Cercado, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 107 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing, quiet ancient retreat near main square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wow. This hotel was once the house of some early Peruvian president or such, and it is just a great place to stay for the price and location. First, the staff and managers are all nice and interested in helping you enjoy Arequipa -- which is a laid back city with food and strolling and nearby places to hike and visit. The rooms have nice showers, clean rooms, around a back courtyard with a cactus garden and some interesting birds. I could hear a football game cheering in the distance, but there were no street sounds from our room. It was probably the ultra thick walls - which kept it climate controlled, too. The breakfasts were quite good and generous, and the common areas were relaxing, too, and that's where I got free wifi (wifi couldn't pierce the room walls). I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I'd recommend it to cheap travelers wanting to splurge, a romantic couple, or to travelers who like a nice hotel for a decent price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    26
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
35
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great location 2 blocks from main square and reasonable price. Beautiful old house in white rock with beautiful internal courtyard. Modern bathrooms with lots of water pressure. Triple room easily fits family of four.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed at this charming hotel with my daughter for 3 nights and loved the place. The service was terrific and friendly, the room was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were very good. No complaints at all. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were recently in Arequipa for a wedding and stayed at this charming inn downtown. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is excellent for seeing the sights of downtown Arequipa. The building has been restored and gives and very authentic feel of what an old colonial house looked like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delden, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We left our luggage behind in this hotel for doing a trip in the Colca Canyon. When we came back to pick up our luggage, the lady offered us a coffee. we refused the coffee because we were in a hurry towards the busterminal. But she didn't let us go without something, so she gave us desserts for on the go!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great experience at casona solar. The building is an amazing colonial structure. My room was just incredible with amazingly tall ceiling and newly renovated bathroom. Local friends say location is not very safe at night. I had no problems.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Room was nicely decorated, very clean and spacious. Location very good and the overall feel of the place much nicer than a hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Wheelchair accessible with soma help (tresholds).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casona Solar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona Solar

Address: Calle Consuelo 116 | Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona Solar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colonial hotel with 300 years of history.Hotel Casona Solar is a beautiful restored colonial gentleman’s house build in 1702 in the centre of the colonial city of Arequipa. Hotel Casona Solar has the atmosphere that Arequipa had in the 18th century. The thick walls are made out of the white volcanic stone Sillar and all rooms have the so typical high arched roofs and big doors that enter one of the two central courtyards. All rooms have modern bathrooms with toilet. In our bar we serve every morning between 6 AM and 10 AM a breakfast buffet.In our big garden you can enjoy the blue sky and the 320 days of sunshine that Arequipa offers year in year out. The average day temperature is 25 degrees Celsius and rain is rare. After a long day exploring Arequipa and the surroundings you can enjoy the cool mountain evenings at our fireplace while having a snack and a drink.On just a 2 minutes walking distance you will find the ‘Plaza de Armas’ one of the most beautiful main squares of Peru. Also the neoclassical cathedral, the monastery of Santa Catalina, the mummy Juanita and the typical colonial buildings in classical Spanish style are one step away. You can always see from every point in the city the perfect conic 5822 meter high volcano El Misti.In 1980 hotel Casona Solar recieved the title national momument by UNESCO and INC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casona Solar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casona Solar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.