We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel in Beautiful Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puerto Inka

Save Saved
You added Hotel Puerto Inka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Puerto Inka
Panamericana sur km. 610, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 85 hotels in Arequipa
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel in Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of an Intrepid group. We got here really late and I would have liked to have time to enjoy the beach which looked very nice. This is a very cute hotel set in its own cove right on the ocean. You can hear the waves from the ocean in your room at night. The rooms are very simple, no TV and no Wi-Fi. The water for the showers is from the ocean so is very salty. There are a great bunch of Inca ruins behind the hotel. The food here was adequate, no one in our group got sick.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
13
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here as part of an Intrepid trip. What an amazing place in the middle of nowhere; a truly beautiful setting with all kinds of ammenities and amazing history right in its backyard (so to speak). My only disappointment is that we arrived after dark and left early the next morning so we didn't get to wander or have a game of volleyball, have a swim etc. We did, however, have an amazing bonfire for which the hotel provided the wood etc for a very small fee. It was magical. Dinner was the best I had in Peru despite the fact that the asparagus was from a jar or can.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the water if you enjoy the sound of the waves crashing on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Oh my heavens, this place is bad. It was a nice idea to be so secluded at such a starkly beautiful location, but this was a terrible place to stay. Our stop was a one-night as part of the Intrepid Travel "Majestic Peru" tour. In addition to the isolation, we had to pay for the food (which was not inexpensive - possibly because of the isolation) and could not truly shower. We were told they "treat" the water so we might find the taste to be a bit salty and unpleasant. Right. It's salty because the ocean is 50 feet away and the ground water they're using is ocean water. Hence, the soap won't lather - so a shower is pointless. Do you feel clean when you get out of the ocean? Neither do I. The light fixtures in the room were bare bulbs screwed into the ceiling - and they turn off their generator at night so you'll get no light between midnight and 6-ish. (Note to self: headlamp). Dry rot or something took up a significant portion of one wall. Beds were extremely firm.

Dinner was outside and quite chilly because of being right by the ocean during a time they consider "winter" (July). We were a group of 12, but dinner took an amazingly long time to serve. My arroz con mariscos was okay. Breakfast was so pathetic as to be humorous: packets of instant coffee, orange juice, bread and strawberry jam. We were told they couldn't make us eggs or anything else ~ despite the menu clearly showing breakfast items.

Long story short, if you find yourself here as part of a tour, broken down vehicle, or labor strikes, you are completely screwed. The Quebrada de la Vaca inka ruins are nice and unique in their lack of visitors, but try to avoid actually staying here.

Room Tip: Simply do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
386 reviews 386 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 204 cities Reviews in 204 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as part of an Intrepid tour. I expected it to be terrible after reading all of these reviews, but was actually pleasantly surprised. The rooms were fine- I had no issue with them, they were clean and fairly standard. Yes the location is the middle of nowhere but it's lovely. It's right on the beach and there are Inca ruins right next to the hotel to walk around. Breakfast was just bread and tea/coffee. The staff were nice. We ate in the hotel ( there's nothing else anyway!) and it was grand.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Went there as a part of an Intrepid tour. In the middle of absolutely no where. The location on the beach is lovely, and the Inca ruins nice to wander thru.

They stuck us on the top level. No TV or internet, which is not a big deal. Another group member requested another room, as their shower was moldy. There was hot water in the shower for about 15 seconds, and then cold water. Supposedly there is some treatment to the water, but it was 100% salt water. Absolutely impossible to shower or wash up after a too long coach ride. Itched like mad from the salt water until the next shower, the next day.

Of course, we had to eat at their restaurant. It was fine, and priced like other restaurants. We were the only group that night.

Room Tip: Try to avoid top level rooms. Good views, but steep steps and poorly lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Not somewhere I would choose to stay but we were forced to stay here due to the highway being blocked for several days due to miners protests. In the middle of no where... No phone or Internet and really not much to do. The view is nice but that is about it. The beds are awful and the food and service were miserable.

The best thing about this place is the talking parrot so that should tell you something! Also they jacked up the price of rooms 300% once they learnt ppl would be stranded for a few days. Just
not honest.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The location of this hotel is amazing - right on the beach with inca ruins to explore at the back - couldnt ask for anything more perfect!
we unfortunately only got to stay here for one night and to appreciate the tranquility of the area a few nights is a must.
the rooms were clean but be warned the water in the bathroom is sea water - so not great for your hair :-)
i felt that the food was quite limited and drink prices were more than all other places we visisted Peru
Breakfast was very limited - bread and jam - eggs are available and if you are not careful you will get given them without being asked and be charged for them - this happened to us and our rep had to sort out with the hotel staff - we did not have to pay in the end but could of done without the stress minutes before we left

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Puerto Inka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerto Inka

Address: Panamericana sur km. 610, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 85 hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Puerto Inka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Inka Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puerto Inka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.