We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel to your Saves list
Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av San Martin 116 Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Casa de Avila at the beginning of our trip to Peru, and we weren't disappointed ! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was really nice, really clean (one of the best room we stayed in during our 3 weeks trip). We had a room on the first floor and it was really quiet...we didn't get disturb late at night or in the morning by people walking in the garden. Also, the shower had plenty of hot water so no problem on that side ! The hotel is located at about 10 minutes walk from the main plaza, so it's not too far, but far enough from the noise and the traffic. I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Arequipa :)

Room Tip: Any room is great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglemilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you very much! I am letting all our staff know about your opinion. Their hard work is mainly devoted to make you feel as you are describing in the review. Hope you can be back any time. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Very Attentive Staff (best so far in Peru) that did there best to make the stay very pleasant and personalized. Relaxing garden and great room (value for money). One minus; during our 6 night stay the water went cold twice (including our departures day at 5 am so no time to have it fixed) ouch!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Offies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The atmosphere from the common garden area and staff service levels is this place's obvious strengths. Our room was quite plain and small, facing the garden. Room was not cleaned from one day to the other, but this might be the normal here...? Wifi worked not in the room, but very vell outside in the garden area. The staff members at this place is clearly well trained on paying attention to the needs of their clients. We received many advice on our stay in Cusco and for excursions in the vicinity. At times their interest in our wellbeing seemed almost a bit "forced", but the level of service level we witnessed is nonetheless a priceless quality about this place. They work very hard to serve their customers and we appreciated that very much. We were even invited to see the town along with the manager and other visitors, but we had to turn this offer down, as we were too tired that night. A highlight here is the breakfast in the garden area under the bright sun of cusco. We also tried the Peruvian cooking experience which they offer here. Very memorable! Our best recommendations for this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigurd_Solhaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The rooms are spacious and kept very clean. The garden is the big selling point for this hotel as it's beautifully kept and full of sun loungers as well as tables and chairs. We enjoyed heading out to sight-see early in the day and then coming back to enjoy the sunshine in the the afternoon. The hotel sells snacks and beer in the reception so it's a bonus to be able to enjoy a drink in the sunshine!

The hotel is ideally located if you don't want to be right it in centre of Arequipa as it's in a quiet and safe suburb but still only a 10-15 minute walk from the main plaza.

The breakfast buffet is really good and there is the option to pay for extras such as pancakes (where are really really tasty!) and eggs, bacon, omelets etc which only work out to be about £1 extra.

We stayed for five nights and during that time we signed up for the Cooking Experience and opted to do the market visit/tour and pisco making lesson too. It was all excellent and was great that it was all run at our hotel. The market tour was really interesting and we had the opportunity to taste lots of different and unusual fruits and some other sweet snacks. The cooking was great fun as everyone was made to feel involved in the process and the outdoor kitchen is an ideal location. The hotel also offers Spanish lessons and yoga classes which give the hotel quite a unique buzz during the day.

The staff were always really helpful and friendly. On our first morning the shower wasn't getting hot but I let the receptionist know and she promised to get it sorted within 15 minutes (the showers are gas heated). By the time I'd had breakfast and come back to the room the water was lovely and hot and continued to be so during the remainder of our stay. The receptionist thanked me for letting her know as I'm sure they get fed up of people not bothering to say when there's a problem then coming on TripAdvisor and giving negative feedback when it's then obviously too later to do anything about it!

We were sad to leave Casa De Avila as it felt like the perfect place to come back to after a day of sightseeing.............plus it's such a lovely surprise when the resident tortoise turns up!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scalaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were very satisfied by the courtesy and competence of the staff, as well as from the hotel itself which is clean and excellently furnished. Breakfast is served in the elegant third floor with an exclusive and simply pleasant atmosphere. It is located 10 - 15 minutes walking from the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed there in june 2014. Nice, clean hotel with a beautiful patio. Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast buffet. They offer tours, too. We chose the 3 day private tour to Colca Canyon. Our guide was Frank Delgado. He was born in the Colca Canyon region and knows a lot about the culture, plants and animals in this area. Nice, professional guy, very highly recommended as a guide !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Only stayed here a night, but the staff was very friendly and helpful. We shared a private room and bathroom, which had a tv. Very relaxing garden outside. Walk to the downtown was about 10-15 minutes. I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tifferly04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Manager at Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks a lot. Too bad you didn´t take longer to enjoy garden, weather and cooking experience. We will keep on doing as best as we can to help you providing a good service at reasonable prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#9 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#1 of 92 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#5 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#2 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel

Address: Av San Martin 116 Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila is well known for its hospitality and beautiful location. An oasis in the middle of the city with room surrounding a beautiful central garden. Original accommodation very appreciated by travellers looking for a special resting experience. Privates with hot water and comfortable beds. Simple and superior rooms according to your budget. Breakfast is served at the garden, surrouded by birds singing and beautiful flowers. Our staff is always helping you to enjoy your staying providing information and whatever needs you have. They like you to fill pampered. At walking distance from all attractions in the city and located in a safe area. Relation with mayor local operators to offer safe tours and activities Home of The Peruvian Cooking Experience, a great 2 hours on hand cooking activity, and Spanish School Arequipa, the famous Short term Spanish School. Internet, laundry services, game room, bar and all you need as a traveller. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing