We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Attentive Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel

Save Saved
You added Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av San Martin 116 Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
COLCA 1 DAY TOUR
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Miami
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Most Attentive Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very Attentive Staff (best so far in Peru) that did there best to make the stay very pleasant and personalized. Relaxing garden and great room (value for money). One minus; during our 6 night stay the water went cold twice (including our departures day at 5 am so no time to have it fixed) ouch!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    108
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
133
29
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamar, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The atmosphere from the common garden area and staff service levels is this place's obvious strengths. Our room was quite plain and small, facing the garden. Room was not cleaned from one day to the other, but this might be the normal here...? Wifi worked not in the room, but very vell outside in the garden area. The staff members at this place is clearly well trained on paying attention to the needs of their clients. We received many advice on our stay in Cusco and for excursions in the vicinity. At times their interest in our wellbeing seemed almost a bit "forced", but the level of service level we witnessed is nonetheless a priceless quality about this place. They work very hard to serve their customers and we appreciated that very much. We were even invited to see the town along with the manager and other visitors, but we had to turn this offer down, as we were too tired that night. A highlight here is the breakfast in the garden area under the bright sun of cusco. We also tried the Peruvian cooking experience which they offer here. Very memorable! Our best recommendations for this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The rooms are spacious and kept very clean. The garden is the big selling point for this hotel as it's beautifully kept and full of sun loungers as well as tables and chairs. We enjoyed heading out to sight-see early in the day and then coming back to enjoy the sunshine in the the afternoon. The hotel sells snacks and beer in the reception so it's a bonus to be able to enjoy a drink in the sunshine!

The hotel is ideally located if you don't want to be right it in centre of Arequipa as it's in a quiet and safe suburb but still only a 10-15 minute walk from the main plaza.

The breakfast buffet is really good and there is the option to pay for extras such as pancakes (where are really really tasty!) and eggs, bacon, omelets etc which only work out to be about £1 extra.

We stayed for five nights and during that time we signed up for the Cooking Experience and opted to do the market visit/tour and pisco making lesson too. It was all excellent and was great that it was all run at our hotel. The market tour was really interesting and we had the opportunity to taste lots of different and unusual fruits and some other sweet snacks. The cooking was great fun as everyone was made to feel involved in the process and the outdoor kitchen is an ideal location. The hotel also offers Spanish lessons and yoga classes which give the hotel quite a unique buzz during the day.

The staff were always really helpful and friendly. On our first morning the shower wasn't getting hot but I let the receptionist know and she promised to get it sorted within 15 minutes (the showers are gas heated). By the time I'd had breakfast and come back to the room the water was lovely and hot and continued to be so during the remainder of our stay. The receptionist thanked me for letting her know as I'm sure they get fed up of people not bothering to say when there's a problem then coming on TripAdvisor and giving negative feedback when it's then obviously too later to do anything about it!

We were sad to leave Casa De Avila as it felt like the perfect place to come back to after a day of sightseeing.............plus it's such a lovely surprise when the resident tortoise turns up!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were very satisfied by the courtesy and competence of the staff, as well as from the hotel itself which is clean and excellently furnished. Breakfast is served in the elegant third floor with an exclusive and simply pleasant atmosphere. It is located 10 - 15 minutes walking from the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed there in june 2014. Nice, clean hotel with a beautiful patio. Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast buffet. They offer tours, too. We chose the 3 day private tour to Colca Canyon. Our guide was Frank Delgado. He was born in the Colca Canyon region and knows a lot about the culture, plants and animals in this area. Nice, professional guy, very highly recommended as a guide !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Only stayed here a night, but the staff was very friendly and helpful. We shared a private room and bathroom, which had a tv. Very relaxing garden outside. Walk to the downtown was about 10-15 minutes. I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Manager at Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks a lot. Too bad you didn´t take longer to enjoy garden, weather and cooking experience. We will keep on doing as best as we can to help you providing a good service at reasonable prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel seems really Nice but it is way too expensive for what you get!
We just stayed there And for 55$, the wifi dis not work because there were too many people, there was no hot water And since all rooms give on the garden where you have breakfast, you get awake at 7 am by people who make breakfast (that don t try to be quiet).
And generously, They offre to refund 5 NS! What a joke! Avoid this place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking some time with your review. Even this is the worst evaluation we have received ever. My excuses and the excuses of all the staff in the hotel. Our main concern is you to feel comfortable and have no problems while staying. During your staying the whole city had a crash of Internet Service provided by Movistar (fire burned central tubes). We tried to provide internet using another connection but seems it was not enough. We regularly provide a 6Mbps Internet connection wifi using a router and two repeaters covering all the garden. Breakfast is served in the garden, and sorry if somebody made too much noise that early. We are fixing that, but I think the initiative of taking breakfast in the garden won´t be changed. Its great to have nature, sun, birds to begin the day. Our hot water service warranties a 100 to 120 F hot water provided by 3 gas water heaters. Sorry if that is not enough. And yes, I think 5 dollars refund is not enough if our service was not what you were expecting. We can refund the total. Please get in touch with our office. Your advise is helping us to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel

Address: Av San Martin 116 Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful central courtyard with all rooms surrounding it. Only two floors high. Silence, space and beauty. Staff always devoted to your needs. Internet for free. Casa de Avila Tourist Hotel is your best compliment to your visit in Arequipa. Enjoy it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.