We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary service, nice hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel to your Saves list
Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av San Martin 116 Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Extraordinary service, nice hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Thought the hotel looks a little old and used from the outside, inside the rooms are actually very nice, clean and new! Good blankets, good bed and new tv. Big plus is the large and pretty garden with chairs and sunshades in the middle of the hotel! Service at the reception was exceptional! Especially the girl called „Lady“ was superfriendly and helpful! Breakfast was ok, great fresh juices, but eggs were for an extra charge :(

Distance to the main square is about 10 minutes and another 5 to the Santa Catalina.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    116
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
149
32
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hotel located really near with the historical center of Arequipa. The room was clean, quiet, with heater. Breakfast was big enough with food choices. Staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. You can even do a spanish and yoga classes there. Beat place in whole Peru where we were stay ever.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I loved this hotel. The garden was a big reason I made a reservation there, but everything about this hotel was friendly and comfortable. The staff were incredibly helpful. The room was comfortable and attractive. The breakfasts were good especially when we realized there were 2 chefs there to make us additional items beyond the continental breakfast served. We stored luggage there while on a Colca Canyon trip with no problem. We enjoyed the Peruvian cooking experience a lot and as part of that the Pisco sour "class" led by the owner of the hotel. We recommend you try Casa de Avila.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the breakfast menu offered that is over and above the continental. We did not real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Everything was great. The food, service, rooms and cleanliness were all above and beyond anywhere else for the value. I will recommend Casa de Avila to anybody. The location was also AMAZING. It was just a five minute walk to the plaza de armas.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We picked this hotel from reading other reviews on Trip adviser and are very glad we did. We have a 5 yr old and he really enjoyed the GARDEN AND YARD area to watch the Turtle and talk to people and run and play.
The staff are some of the most accommodating hotel people I have ever met.
The room was OK and good sized with a nice Bathroom and shower. Dated but clean. Breakfast was included with bread, jam, cheese, fruit, fresh juices etc

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed at Casa de Avila last weekend with two friends. The hotel staff was accommodating when we arrived late, however a miscommunication caused my friend to miss his scheduled trip up Misti. Nevertheless, the staff tried to make up for the mishap by giving us discounted prices and a late check out (there was hardly anyone else staying there). The hotel is average in general, but decent prices and good location. The garde is really nice and it wasn't loud. If you're gluten free/dairy free (like me), you'll have a hard time finding something for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I lived in Arequipa for approximately 4 months and stayed here when I first arrived with my husband.

Arequipa is an amazing city although the very centre and the streets around the Plaza de Armas can be really noisy. That is part of what makes Casa de Avila a great place to stay. The garden is a tranquil retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Added to this it is where the cooking classes are held which are also amazing, and it's only 5-10 minutes walk to the centre.

The staff team are fantastic and I have not encountered such an enthusiastic bunch in all my travels. They are so helpful and welcoming.

Added to this while the rooms are a little basic the beds are really comfortable and there is always hot water, which is not always the case in Peru.

I would definitely recommend staying at Casa de Avila.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel

Address: Av San Martin 116 Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila is well known for its hospitality and beautiful location. An oasis in the middle of the city with room surrounding a beautiful central garden. Original accommodation very appreciated by travellers looking for a special resting experience. Privates with hot water and comfortable beds. Simple and superior rooms according to your budget. Breakfast is served at the garden, surrouded by birds singing and beautiful flowers. Our staff is always helping you to enjoy your staying providing information and whatever needs you have. They like you to fill pampered. At walking distance from all attractions in the city and located in a safe area. Relation with mayor local operators to offer safe tours and activities Home of The Peruvian Cooking Experience, a great 2 hours on hand cooking activity, and Spanish School Arequipa, the famous Short term Spanish School. Internet, laundry services, game room, bar and all you need as a traveller. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.