We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel to your Saves list
Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av San Martin 116 Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Arequipa
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Can't fault it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed here, meeting my sister who had be volunteering in Arequipa for 6 months. I can't rate this hotel highly enough given the price. Sister couldn't either and she'd been there fore 5 months! Free wifi internet, and although basic the rooms were clean, with beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    118
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
151
32
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Myself and 2 friends stayed at Casa De Avila for 8 nights in November. We stayed in one of the family rooms which was spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Plaza which was perfect for us since we found the Plaza quite busy and noisy so it was peaceful at the hotel. The garden is amazing, a great place to relax after breakfast before leaving to visit the City. Every morning we would go down to the garden to look for their pet turtle named Paka. The best part of our stay was the staff, so helpful and they would always greet us with a smile. They provided us with excellent information for tours to the Colca Canyon, City tours and El Misti. The breakfast was good but basic, bread with jams, cereal, cheese, delicious juice, coffee and tea. But you can order a la carte for a few soles (we loved the fried potatoes)! While my friends we're hiking in Colca Canyon, I enrolled in some spanish classes that I truly enjoyed. Our only regret is missing the cooking classes, I guess we'll have to go back!

We highly recommend this hotel in Arequipa! A huge thank you to the staff, particularly to Natalia, Raquel, Lucia and Milagros!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is certainly not a luxory hotel, but it is great for you money you paid.

The hotel location is reasonably close to the center. Rooms are clean and the garden is beautiful( with a turtle pet it is extra fun).

The best is the service. The staffs are very helpful. They speak good english and always offer honest advices. I joined the cooking class organized by the hotel and it was great fun.

During my stay in Arequiba I got serious diarrihea from a restaraunt in the center. The hotel staff (Lady, also our chef for the cooking class) tried her best to help me, she got me some pills and hot coca tea that was supposed to help. Although my stiuation was a bit too heavy for the the pill she gave, I truely appreciate her effort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable opinion. I feel proud of my staff and think its the best value of the hotel. I see you gave us a great evaluation, but if you think we can improve, we will be pleased to receive your advise. Too bad to know about that stomach problem. I am reporting your case for statistical purposes, but will be good for you to publish the name of the place. Besides that, I hope your staying in Peru will be something to remember as a beautiful experience.
Thanks again and keep having a wonderful life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palo alto, calif
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I am so glad we choose Casa de Avila to stay in Arequipa. The staff was all so very kind, helpful, thoughtful...I can't say enough. The room was clean. The garden is lovely and gave the place such an international feel. It was peaceful. Filtered water is provided on the deck by the garden. Breakfast is a simple but good start to the day. They also offer a small menu for very little expense for those who want a bit more to eat. The whole place felt so safe...they lock the front gate come sundown and quickly let you in and out. The walk to the plaza is nothing. We walked our feet off. The staff arranged taxi's and even made us a small evening meal before we left to the bus station for an overnight bus to Huacachina. I found this to be a special place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion. Our goal is to make you feel comfortable, safe and to enjoy your staying with us. And all of our staff is devoted to that. If we did it, we are very happy.
Hope your experience in Peru is unforgettable and we share part of those memories. Have a wonderful life and maybe see you again!
--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Charming place with nice rooms. Staff was always helpful, i can wait to visit Arequipa again and visit this place. The place is a short walk away from the plaza de armas, where you can visit a market, some tourist spots and restaurants to eat some good food.

Can't remember if they offered a breakfast but i had some good time resting in the yard after some day trips I did in Arequipa.

i would definitely go there again. Unfortunately, the place is not the best for party people, cause is very quiet and peaceful, and besides that u can learn some good spanish there, as there's a language schoool based there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The rooms of Casa de Avila overlook the gorgeous courtyard garden which is also the home of Spanish School Arequipa where I was attending classes. All of the staff were amazing particularly the receptionists who actually took the time to get to know me and would often have a bit of a chat.
The place is kept exceptionally clean, breakfast is good quality with more than just the standard bread and jam and there is free wifi. It is only a short walk to Plaza de Armas. The hotel security is kept tight, especially at night.
The staff definitely made this place special for me!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were so happy to find this island of tranquility in downtown Arequipa. The hotel is well run by a group of charming young women who are friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms may be small but they overlook a large garden which is a perfect place to relax or to take Spanish classes and cooking classes. We even spent a fun afternoon learning how to make a pisco sour. It is a safe, short walk to Plaza de Armas And when we return to Arequipa there is nowhere else we would want to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel

Address: Av San Martin 116 Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila is well known for its hospitality and beautiful location. An oasis in the middle of the city with room surrounding a beautiful central garden. Original accommodation very appreciated by travellers looking for a special resting experience. Privates with hot water and comfortable beds. Simple and superior rooms according to your budget. Breakfast is served at the garden, surrouded by birds singing and beautiful flowers. Our staff is always helping you to enjoy your staying providing information and whatever needs you have. They like you to fill pampered. At walking distance from all attractions in the city and located in a safe area. Relation with mayor local operators to offer safe tours and activities Home of The Peruvian Cooking Experience, a great 2 hours on hand cooking activity, and Spanish School Arequipa, the famous Short term Spanish School. Internet, laundry services, game room, bar and all you need as a traveller. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.