We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel to your Saves list
Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av San Martin 116 Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cute and nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at La Casa de Avila the night before our trek, left our bags there during our trek and rented a room for the day we returned. All in all, our experience was very positive.

The hotel is cute and clean. The rooms have nice showers, comfortable beds, tvs and free wifi. There is a great central garden area to hang out in and the cooking classes looked like a lot of fun. Staff was, for the most part, helpful. Some were more willing to go out of their ways than others, but they were responsive to our questions. The hotel is located on a quiet, residential, road about 5-7 minutes from the city center, which we liked. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    116
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
148
32
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

we booked via phone for 1 night one matremonial and one twin room. twin room was in the ground floor and matremonial in the first floor next to a spanish class room. besides that, the room was very very outdated, it was very very loud from the street but the worst was that the two or three rooms next to it were just undergoing renovation. nobody told us upfront about this construction and neither was it mentioned on the homepage.

anyhow, after asking the extreme helpful and nice receptioniests whether we could move to a twin in the ground floor as like our friends, we were told yes and prolongated our stay for another 4 nights at an agreed price (10 soles discount because of the five nights and two rooms)

so far we could live w/ the ongoing construction and the horrible first night.

however on our last evening there was a very shy knock knock on the door. it was one of the receptioniest ( the loveliest person we met in peru ) and she was crying. she said that her boss "talked" to her and that she can not give us the agreed price anymore. because it was only about 50 soles in total we did not make a big thing out of that and calmed her down, however it was shocking for us to see how employees are treated at this place. also, guests should be respected in a different way!!!

+ awesome employees
+ nice garden, altough can be fairly loud for european standarda ( just outside there is a medium sized road but cars blow their horns frequently)
+ cooking experience was great
- no information up front regarding ongoing construction ( especially the angle grinder work was very very loud)...neither on the phone nor on their website
- altough breakfast room is big, it is very cold and unwelcoming
- breakfast which is included in the price is very very limited ( besides good bread, tee, coffee, butter and 3 kindof marmelade plus the worst cheese we have ever eaten)...as others have written...you can order add' dishes for about pen 5 each.
- no safe in the room ( not that we felt unsafe but in countries like peru you do not want to carry all your valuables with you all the time...you just want to leave your them in a safe in your room)
- employees should be treated in a human way
- the rooms which have not yet been renovated are in a shaby condition ( see attached photos)

to make a long story short:
this place has big potential but I woule choose another place where employees don't knock crying on the door of guests after they "talked" to their boss. the choise in arequipa is big enough to find a nicer place. would have been despite construction and shaby room a 4 but this employee treatment and not sticking to agreements is simply not acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Propietario at Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest, My name is Armando Espino. I am proud of being the owner of this hotel and proud of managing an excellent team. Your commentary is really unconfortable. As you can see most of the commentaries refer my staff as the most valuable Casa de Avila has to offer.
After knowing about the incident thru your commentary this is what I have.
Raquel, one of our receptionists was in charge of your account. When she asked you to pay the bill according to our agreement: 110 soles per night with discounted rate,your wife or couple blamed here and shouted her. And told her she was only going to pay 500 soles. 50 less than agreed. And did paid only 500 soles.
I cant confirm about Raquel crying to you for those 50 soles. What I can tell you is I will not punish her for 50 soles less not paid by somebody who shouts my staff. I prefer them to leave as soon as possible. Even without paying.
You stayed 5 nights. You enjoyed every night playing in the garden, taking pictures of the tortoise, and having a great time with us. In none of those nights or days you saw Raquel or any of my staff crying or complaining because me punishing them!
We called ourselves CASA , house, and we are the house for all our staff. They live with us, enjoy with us and receive an acceptable salary which is beyond the average in the city. I know Casa de Avila cant be the same without them and take good care of them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellent staff - well-informed, professional, helpfull, pleasant, smiling and warm - that is what makes this hostel the place to stay while in Arequipa. They can suggest and arrange various tours for you and answer all your questions about the city.
Another great advantage is the location. The place is situated in a quiet street, however it is only a short walk away from the main city square and all the action.
There is a beautiful, sunny garden where you can relax and have a break during daytime.
Even though a bit weathered, my room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable, and there was enough storage space for clothes, shoes and other belongings.
The bathroom is a bit small and there is only one shelf to store the toiletries.
The nights were pretty cold, however there was no heating provided. I wanted to wash my hair, unfortunately, the hair dryer was not available, which was the greatest inconvenience during my stay.
Breakfast was pretty basic, but tasty, with fresh juices, warm bread rolls and homemade jams, and the lady who worked in the dining room was very sweet and kind.
Internet was pretty slow and it did not function more often than it did.
My overall experience was very good and I would recommend Casa de Avila to all my friends travelling on smaller budget as a good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We originally booked 3 nights but ended up staying for 6 with a visit to the colca canyon in the middle and I could easily have stayed much longer, as someone else said this place is a true oasis in the city, the garden is superb, such a lovely place to relax and unwind. All The staff are exceptional, friendly and helpful, in particular Raquel who is so sweet, efficient and helpful.
It is only 3 blocks to the main square, there are a couple of small shops for drinks, snacks etc nearby and some very cheap (5 soles) for a 3 course lunch and a drink places just up the road. We booked 2 trips through the hotel, the countryside and the colca canyon both were excellent, with English speaking guides and a very good price. The rooms we stayed in were very clean, quiet and very comfy bed, they might have needed a lick of paint in places but were far better than many we have stayed in. The breakfast was good, basic but typical of Peru. Extra windows were being put in rooms that didn't have them so that shouldn't be an issue now. Overall I can not speak highly enough of the Casa de Avila and it's staff.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are lovely and you can see the tops of the mountains from the 2nd floor balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hostel is used as a school for cookery classes and spanish classes, and therefore is not like a traditional hostel and attracts a much older crowd. If you are looking for crazy nights and new travel companions, this is not the place for you.
Its main attraction is its location, less than a 10 minute walk to the main square but very quiet as a result of being just outside the centre. And its lovely main garden area, which makes it a very good hostel if you want to do a bit of sunbathing and read your book and have a glass of wine before you go out.
The rooms, however, are very basic and our room had no window, other than the window on the door, which made it a little bit depressing. The bathroom was also a bit on the grimy side and it felt as though it hadn't really been cleaned properly. But if you're happy to slum it a little for a night or two and you want to stay somewhere chilled, this is very good value.
The breakfast is very, very basic, however, so if you're not keen on a bread roll for breakfast then you'll need to mentally add the cost of purchasing a proper breakfast onto the overall cost of staying here.
The staff were incredibly friendly and very helpful, and although it doesn't have bar you can buy beer etc in reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your review.
Actually our cooking activity, is the 2nd prefered activity in the city according to Tripadvisor, and is attended mostly by young people (78% younger than 35 ).
Same or Spanish program, attended mostly by travellers looking to feel safe and comfortable during their trip thru South America.
Your room in the second floor has now windows, opened in May 4th to all the rooms in second floor.
Please I will apologize myself about the bathroom not cleanned properly. We have checked all our procedures because this is our main concern.
Breakfast is Continental, tea coffee or milk+bread rolls+cheese, jam, olives, butter+ fresh fruit juice. Fried or scrambled eggs, fruit salads, pancakes are available for 1.70 dollars!
This extra price balances our budget rate and I think it is not that bad.
We do not like noise during night time and yes, we do not promote parties night time at the hotel. But if you sit in the garden with a beer, chatting with guests, and enjoying, I am sure you will have a great time with us
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lovely green area and lovely people, it's near the downtown. There's a lot of peace and they have really nice activities like Peruvian Cooking Expirience :) Loved it. Excellent service and a really nice view to the garden from the second floor. There's a really nice and beauty turtle which is called as Paca :D Nice expirience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caraveli, Peru
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Arequipa where we stayed one night at the Casa de Avila Hotel. My husband, who is choosy about where we stay, was very happy with the excellent accommodations and extraordinary service we received from the hotel staff, especially from Armando and Sandra. They were both extremely courteous and gracious. We live in a small town in Peru and come to Arequipa once a month to do shopping. The hotel staff was kind enough to help us with the huge amount of purchases we made. They provided the storage room for us to leave most of our items. My husband was also pleased to discover that the parking garage was just a few feet away from the hotel and that the negotiated price was so reasonable. We normally have to pay six times the amount for a 24 hour stay.

The hotel is within walking distance from the Plaza de Armas and is a convenient location for getting around Arequipa. We had an excellent breakfast in an atmosphere that was more like home than a hotel. We really enjoyed the garden and were very pleased with our guest room which came with two sets of bath towels. My husband and I will most definitely return to the Casa de Avila and we highly recommend it to both family and friends.

Edgar and Lissel Navarro

Room Tip: Room 210 is a Suite on the second floor. It is worth the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel

Address: Av San Martin 116 Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila is well known for its hospitality and beautiful location. An oasis in the middle of the city with room surrounding a beautiful central garden. Original accommodation very appreciated by travellers looking for a special resting experience. Privates with hot water and comfortable beds. Simple and superior rooms according to your budget. Breakfast is served at the garden, surrouded by birds singing and beautiful flowers. Our staff is always helping you to enjoy your staying providing information and whatever needs you have. They like you to fill pampered. At walking distance from all attractions in the city and located in a safe area. Relation with mayor local operators to offer safe tours and activities Home of The Peruvian Cooking Experience, a great 2 hours on hand cooking activity, and Spanish School Arequipa, the famous Short term Spanish School. Internet, laundry services, game room, bar and all you need as a traveller. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.