We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel

Save Saved
You added Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av San Martin 116 Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 85 hotels in Arequipa
Arequipa, Peru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lovely green area and lovely people, it's near the downtown. There's a lot of peace and they have really nice activities like Peruvian Cooking Expirience :) Loved it. Excellent service and a really nice view to the garden from the second floor. There's a really nice and beauty turtle which is called as Paca :D Nice expirience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    99
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
122
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caraveli, Peru
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Arequipa where we stayed one night at the Casa de Avila Hotel. My husband, who is choosy about where we stay, was very happy with the excellent accommodations and extraordinary service we received from the hotel staff, especially from Armando and Sandra. They were both extremely courteous and gracious. We live in a small town in Peru and come to Arequipa once a month to do shopping. The hotel staff was kind enough to help us with the huge amount of purchases we made. They provided the storage room for us to leave most of our items. My husband was also pleased to discover that the parking garage was just a few feet away from the hotel and that the negotiated price was so reasonable. We normally have to pay six times the amount for a 24 hour stay.

The hotel is within walking distance from the Plaza de Armas and is a convenient location for getting around Arequipa. We had an excellent breakfast in an atmosphere that was more like home than a hotel. We really enjoyed the garden and were very pleased with our guest room which came with two sets of bath towels. My husband and I will most definitely return to the Casa de Avila and we highly recommend it to both family and friends.

Edgar and Lissel Navarro

Room Tip: Room 210 is a Suite on the second floor. It is worth the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trujillo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Casa de Avila is truly an oasis in a large city. The courtyard is a great place to relax with a book or take Spanish lessons (which we did)! All the staff are exceptional from housecleaning to the lovely breakfast hostess to reception, they were always available to help. Unfortunately we were ill for a few days but were lucky to be in such a clean and relaxing place that facilitated a faster recovery.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Arrived around 7am at Casa de Avila having had it recommended from a friend. We were very impressed with the welcome we received from Sandra and delighted to get an early check in after an overnight bus. The room was lovely and clean, fresh towels every day if you wanted them and cable tv. Standard breakfast included in the price and additional items (eggs, fruit salad etc.) available at a good price. Tea and coffee available all day, complimentary. The garden is a fantastic place to relax.

We intended to stay 5 days for a top up on our Spanish lessons but it was so good, we ended up staying 10! Having had 6 weeks of lessons previously, I feel I really accelerated my learning here. The teachers were excellent, emphasised correcting my speech as well as learning new material. Jeanette is very flexible and easy to talk to when arranging lessons, also an excellent conversationalist and teacher!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed in a double ensuite for five nights. Went to Chile for a week, and then returned to this same hotel for another five nights. Five minutes walk from the main plaza of a beautiful city. Large hotel centred around an open courtyard. Nice and quiet. Clean, comfortable room. Great breakfast. Friendly staff keen to help with your Spanish... there is a language school based at this hotel, and we took 20 hours worth of lessons both times we were there. Brilliant teachers; thoroughly enjoyed it. Plus there´s a friendly giant tortoise. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Room 118 is on the corner of the courtyard and especially quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have stayed in a couple of places so far in Arequipa, and Casa de Avila is by far one of the nicest. Located three blocks from the Plaza, very clean rooms, efficient and friendly staff. The place has a beautiful grass courtyard with a big tree in the middle, with tables and umbrellas. There is a shared kitchen, an internet lounge with three computers, hot water and coffee available all day. The breakfast was standard fare (bread, butter, jam and juice) but guests can order much more for 5 Soles per meal - we had nice fluffy pancakes with a little fruit and honey. Very tranquil place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Manager at Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear friends, we feel so happy to know we did our work correctly and you enjoyed your stay. We will do our best to keep and improve our service, thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

After a long day of driving, in which our back window broke, we had to spend the night on a cold, lonely and silent altiplano in Peru, about 100 km before Arequipa.

Arriving in this nice hotel the next morning was already very nice, but when they directly started to arrange that our car would be fixed, we knew this was the place...

Rooms are tidy, clean, perfect beds and good shower facilities... Right next to the city centre, but still quiet, if you want to... The staff is friendly and patient, with our hopeless Spanish, and go the extra mile.

It's not really budget, but it's well worth the stay!!

We certainly were very happy that we arrived at this hotel, after a night of cold and stiff sleeping in a broken car...

Room Tip: Pick a room near the garden, for extra views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel

Address: Av San Martin 116 Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 85 hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful central courtyard with all rooms surrounding it. Only two floors high. Silence, space and beauty. Staff always devoted to your needs. Internet for free. Casa de Avila Tourist Hotel is your best compliment to your visit in Arequipa. Enjoy it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.