We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gruta Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Gruta Hotel to your Saves list
La Gruta Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle La Gruta 304 | Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 89 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of our motorcycle trip through Peru. Not a coincidence since the hotel owners also run PeruMotors for excellent motorcycle tours. The hotel is in a quiet residential neighborhood in easy walking distance from the main square. Makes for a nice combination of quiet sleeping and being close to the attractions of Arequipa in walking distance. Our room was large and the hotel gardens are lovely to hang out in. Would stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    37
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
31
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Set in a really quiet and safe neighbourhood, the price was fairly reasonable. Clean room with really good showers. Only downside was when I booked it, it said king and they gave us a double and single and didn't really understand what I meant when I questioned it but nonetheless they were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

A very nice, clean hotel in a quiet residential neighborhood a 10 or 15 minute walk from the Plaza de Armas. Really a great location if you don't mind the short walk... the payoff is tranquility. No barking dogs, honking horns or roosters. There's a great yard in which to relax and the staff is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aschaffenburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed in the Hostal for 3 nights to wander around an see Arequipa. While others tend to want to stay in the center of town, i slept in La Gruta which is about 5 Minutes by taxi (4 Soles) and was happy i did, because the short distance assured higher safety and no constant honking and exhaust fumes south american cities are famous for. Very happy for that.
The staff was friendly and were more than eager to help wih information, advice or anything that came to mind.
I especially enjoyed the "Reality Tour" which is offered by the hotel and few places around town. Taken in small groups, this tour leads you beyond the beautiful, superficial tourist display of Arequipa/Peru and takes you to the tough reality of some peruvians lives. Something i found fascinating and eye opening, while contributing with 70% of my ticket price to social projects in the poverty strucken regions of arequipa!
Overall i can only speak good and give out advice to allways use the taxi at night to get to it, which is, considering low prices and omnipresence of taxis, nothing to worry about!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very nice, clean and friendly hotel in a quiet residential area just outside the centre of Arequipa. The Plaza de Armas is within easy reach, only about 15min by foot walking at a leisurely pace.
The rooms are clean and our room was quite big as well.
The hotel also has free wifi and two PCs with internet access free to use for guests.
Can't comment on breakfast, as we had to leave at 4am.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Comfortable and clean hotel with attentive English speaking staff in quiet location. Nice leisurely 15 minute walk to Plaza de Armas and many restaurants. Inexpensive taxi ride to hotel in the evening. Very good breakfast included. Two nice courtyards with lawns, many flowering plants and furniture for reading or just relaxing. Good cable television (if you must see the Superbowl). Staff will gladly arrange for safe and reliable taxis for trips to the airport, bus terminals or distant restaurants. Quiet at night without the downtown traffic noise. I always try to stay at the La Gruta when I am in Arequipa. E-mail for your reservation. They respond rapidly. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here on two occasions, leaving our luggage between visits. The hotel is clean and secure, with friendly and helpful staff and a couple of nice courtyards. The only downside is the park at night, which sits between the hotel and the city centre/restaurant area. We walked home in the dark on 3 evenings with no problems, but I wouldn't feel at all comfortable walking it alone at night. If you are travelling alone it's probably wise to take a taxi at night, even though the distance to the restaurants is just a 10 or 15 minute walk. Apart from that, this is a terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.7 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 89 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel
0.7 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#6 of 89 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#5 of 89 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#1 of 89 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gruta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gruta Hotel

Address: Calle La Gruta 304 | Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Arequipa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gruta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel with beautiful gardens is located in an elegant residential area, yet only a few minutes away from the colonial city and commercial area. La Gruta has a helpful and friendly atmosphere, with large clean and very comfortable carpeted rooms. Highly recommended by the Lonely Planet - Peru, in its fourth edition of March 2000 (p.199), among the top-end places to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your La Gruta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Gruta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gruta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.