We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, quiet Hostal with exceeding Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gruta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Gruta Hotel to your Saves list
La Gruta Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle La Gruta 304 | Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Arequipa
Aschaffenburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Charming, quiet Hostal with exceeding Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed in the Hostal for 3 nights to wander around an see Arequipa. While others tend to want to stay in the center of town, i slept in La Gruta which is about 5 Minutes by taxi (4 Soles) and was happy i did, because the short distance assured higher safety and no constant honking and exhaust fumes south american cities are famous for. Very happy for that.
The staff was friendly and were more than eager to help wih information, advice or anything that came to mind.
I especially enjoyed the "Reality Tour" which is offered by the hotel and few places around town. Taken in small groups, this tour leads you beyond the beautiful, superficial tourist display of Arequipa/Peru and takes you to the tough reality of some peruvians lives. Something i found fascinating and eye opening, while contributing with 70% of my ticket price to social projects in the poverty strucken regions of arequipa!
Overall i can only speak good and give out advice to allways use the taxi at night to get to it, which is, considering low prices and omnipresence of taxis, nothing to worry about!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    34
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
26
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very nice, clean and friendly hotel in a quiet residential area just outside the centre of Arequipa. The Plaza de Armas is within easy reach, only about 15min by foot walking at a leisurely pace.
The rooms are clean and our room was quite big as well.
The hotel also has free wifi and two PCs with internet access free to use for guests.
Can't comment on breakfast, as we had to leave at 4am.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Comfortable and clean hotel with attentive English speaking staff in quiet location. Nice leisurely 15 minute walk to Plaza de Armas and many restaurants. Inexpensive taxi ride to hotel in the evening. Very good breakfast included. Two nice courtyards with lawns, many flowering plants and furniture for reading or just relaxing. Good cable television (if you must see the Superbowl). Staff will gladly arrange for safe and reliable taxis for trips to the airport, bus terminals or distant restaurants. Quiet at night without the downtown traffic noise. I always try to stay at the La Gruta when I am in Arequipa. E-mail for your reservation. They respond rapidly. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here on two occasions, leaving our luggage between visits. The hotel is clean and secure, with friendly and helpful staff and a couple of nice courtyards. The only downside is the park at night, which sits between the hotel and the city centre/restaurant area. We walked home in the dark on 3 evenings with no problems, but I wouldn't feel at all comfortable walking it alone at night. If you are travelling alone it's probably wise to take a taxi at night, even though the distance to the restaurants is just a 10 or 15 minute walk. Apart from that, this is a terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Lovely place situated away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but still within walking distance of the Plaza de Armas and restaurants. A private courtyard and gardens out the back to relax in the sunshine.
Rooms are clean, water is hot, and staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast included but small meals and drinks also available throughout the day if you choose to stay in.
No problem storing our luggage while we went off to the Colca Canyon for a couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

La Gruta Hotel was for us an oasis. The advantage of being near the centre af Arequipa, 15 minutes walk, and living in a very quit place. The rooms are large and clean and breakfast is very good. But the best of La Gruta is the always friendly and helpfull staff. The very nice young lady at the desk speaks english which made it for us a lot easier. She helped us with bookings and planning. Storing our bicycles and lugage for two weeks was no problem. PERFECT!

Room Tip: We had a room with an own roofterras and a beautifull view of El Misti. Loved it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am very dissapointed with this place. To begin, they said they will pick us up from airport for no additional cost and then they charged us the taxi rate that we had to wait fo rhalf an hour to be picked up.. Second, rooms were not available when we arrived this palce and we arrived at 15:30, we complaint about this but they did not hear our complaints, they did not even gave us an appologize. Third, room was not clean, hot water was defficient, very noisy at nights with dogs barking. Fourth, the hotel is located in a dark neighborhood and to get to the city centre we had to take a taxi because the way was kind of dnagerous and dark. We booked hotel for three nights but stayed there just for one night.

Room Tip: choose rooms that are in front of teh hotel, not in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Gruta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gruta Hotel

Address: Calle La Gruta 304 | Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gruta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel with beautiful gardens is located in an elegant residential area, yet only a few minutes away from the colonial city and commercial area. La Gruta has a helpful and friendly atmosphere, with large clean and very comfortable carpeted rooms. Highly recommended by the Lonely Planet - Peru, in its fourth edition of March 2000 (p.199), among the top-end places to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your La Gruta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Gruta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gruta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.