We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel Above the Hotspots of Downtown Arequipa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gruta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Gruta Hotel to your Saves list
La Gruta Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle La Gruta 304 | Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tonawanda, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel Above the Hotspots of Downtown Arequipa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I love this hotel!
The staff are so friendly!
On the first day we arrived early, but we were still able to check in.
The front desk staff gave us a map of the city and helpful directions.
The hotel is nice and small, every room comes with a bath. There´s internet service available and complimentary breakfast of eggs, bread, ham, cheese, coffee, and juice.
Most rooms have a view of the hotel´s beautiful garden.
Although the hotel is located at the top of a hill (still walkable from the city center), I still consider its location fantastic because the hotel is very easy to spot for both tourists and taxi drivers. The area is quiet and residential, and right above a very big park.
If you´re too tired from all that sightseeing, the hotel has a limited lunch and dinner menu. The only bad thing is that all the orders tend to take an hour to cook.
We did not pick this hotel. It was part of our tour package with Karikuy, a great tour company that arranges private tours at a very reasonable price! Please give them your business!
I would recommend karikuy and this hotel to all my friends.

Room Tip: I know for sure that rooms 202 and 204 have a view of the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
31
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I was recently staying at the hotel and all accomodations were fine for the most part. I was walking back from downtown with 3 friends and we were within 1 block of the hotel when a taxi violently mugged me. My body was dragged behind the car before I was able to get away. Apparently this type of mugging is quite common, especially in this area.
When we returned to the hotel, the staff member was busy ordering a pizza and did not respond to the urgency for police or medical care that was needed. Thankfully other hotel guests were able to help.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The pluses for La Gruta are its helpful staff and its quiet location within walking distance of the city's main attractions, including the Santa Catalina convent. The minuses are that it feels quite spartan. The room I had was clean, but rather dark and uninviting. I arrived shortly after 7 AM, though, (the hotel arranged a transfer), and my room was ready, so I could grab some sleep after 24 hours of travel. Huge bonus! Unfortunately, a rather noisy retreat session of some sort held court during the day in the garden outside my room, making a late afternoon difficult. I was not able to stay long enough the next morning to evaluate La Gruta's breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here our first night in Arequipa. It is tucked in a neighborhood cul de sac only a ten minute walk through a large public park, from historic Arequipa Plaza de Arms. We really enjoyed the sunny quiet gardens and large bright room. We stayed in one of the suites which was a great value. Queen size bed, private bath, and balcony overlooking a garden, TV, mini fridge, with breakfast included. The staff was very kind and efficient. They will even securely hold your luggage for a few days if you want to take tours outside the city. Great Value!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

This place has a gorgeous garden and within 5 minutes of arrival we were watching the colibri (hummingbirds) zipping amongst the flowers. It's a haven away from the street noise, yet only a 15-minute stroll to the Plaza, cathedral and central area. Lovely rooms, great staff, and Arequipa is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Stayed 5 nights at La Gruta in a room with a comfortable queen size bed. The bathroom had dual flush toilet, sink, and large glass enclosed shower which was spotless. Sliding glass doors opened onto an enclosed grass patio with table and umbrella. Cactus and flowers surrounded the patio where we relaxed with a beer after a busy day of sightseeing. Our room had a stocked bar fridge. The breakfast included juice, buns, cereal, yogurt, ham and cheese, eggs, coffee and a selection of teas.
Found the staff to be very professional and helpful. An extra blanket was put on the bed when the nights got colder.
The hotel is located in a very quiet residential area a block from a major park and within walking distance to the Plaza des Armes. We walked to the hotel in the evening from the restaurants and never felt uneasy.
The hotel provided free transfer to the airport when we left.
We would certainly stay at La Gruta when in Arequipa again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

A nice comfortable hotel with all services for the tired traveler!

Stayed August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Gruta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gruta Hotel

Address: Calle La Gruta 304 | Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Arequipa
#18 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gruta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel with beautiful gardens is located in an elegant residential area, yet only a few minutes away from the colonial city and commercial area. La Gruta has a helpful and friendly atmosphere, with large clean and very comfortable carpeted rooms. Highly recommended by the Lonely Planet - Peru, in its fourth edition of March 2000 (p.199), among the top-end places to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your La Gruta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Gruta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gruta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.