We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaqchao Organic Chocolates

Chaqchao Organic Chocolates
Santa Catalina 204 | 2ndo Piso--Second Floor, Arequipa 0000, Peru
+51 54 234572
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 205 Restaurants in Arequipa
Cuisines: Organic, Bar, Coffee Shop, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Chaqchao is an Organic Bean to Bar Coffee and Chocolate cafe. We offer dessert options to go along with your drink choice which change daily. On site you can see how we make our organic chocolate bars and participate in chocolate making classes. Along with the coffee we have a bar section where we sell Artisinal Peruvian beer in bottles and on tap. Our Balcony is the perfect place to chill and watch the sunset.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had a great time visiting Chaqchao. We had spent the day touring around and were ready to find a place to relax. We stumbled upon Chaqchao, after reading good things about it online we decided to check it out. Everyone there was wonderful. We got REAL ice coffee and sat in the sun reading. Perfect way to spend an hour. We signed up for the chocolate making class for the afternoon. It was both entertaining and imformative. We were happy to leave with a yummy drink and a bag full of our own chocolate! YUM!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    40
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This adorable hole-in-the-wall coffee shop is not only quaint and a perfect hang out spot, but also serves some of the most delicious chocolate and coffee drinks I've ever had. They also have a great selection of craft brews which is a very uncommon find in Arequipa- so if you're a beer enthusiast, you've got to check it out. All of the employees are incredibly friendly and primarily from different countries, making for a very traveler-friendly atmosphere. The chocolate making class is well worth the price. It combines a significant amount of education about the chocolate making process and of course some delicious chocolate to take home at the end. Chaqchao has quickly become my home away from home while living in Arequipa and I cannot say enough good things about it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chilled out place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Love that they are so organic there, they only use cacao beans and sugar in their chocolate bars - which are delicious. You can even get these bars for a pretty good price, depending on size and extra ingredients (f.ex. quinoa), they vary from 9-14 Soles. Their coffee mocha is great and they also have some great cookies, though slightly overpriced. Stay away from the vegan brownies unless you are prepared for the different taste! ;) Great wifi and nice staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaqchaoChocolates, General Manager at Chaqchao Organic Chocolates, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello!

We are so glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and our chocolates! Sorry to hear that the value was not as good as you expected for our baked goods. We do often have to charge more than expected, because the cost of organic ingredients varies depending on the product. However, we do strive to have a fair mark-up on the costs.

As far as the vegan brownies go--we agree with that! Our vegan brownies are also gluten free. Many times customers who have never tried vegan food, or products made with quinoa flour, do not expect the taste. That being said, many of our customers also love the vegan products more than the conventional baked goods, so they are worth a try!

Thank you so much for your feedback, and good luck on your travels!

Best,

Carrie Anderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This upstairs store is a great little retreat. There is indoor or outdoor seating and good selection of coffee or chocolate drinks as well as Microbrews. The beer prices are high but I suppose that has to do with their rarity. This is great chocolate! I tried the chocolate nibs and was immediately addicted. I purchased the raw nibs and went back for more a few days later. I also asked for the recipe so I could continue to indulge back home. It is apparently Peruvian owned although the employees all seem to foreign-born (english speaking). Nice attention to design details in this shop. Stop in for an afternoon boost.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaqchaoChocolates, Owner at Chaqchao Organic Chocolates, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello!

So glad you enjoyed our space! You are spot on with the beer prices--unfortunately, there is very little supply of artisanal beers in Arequipa. We hope that there is more interest in our region soon, and maybe they will be more commonly available! We would certainly love an even greater variety as well.

As far as our staff goes, we have a mix of local and foreign employees and volunteers. This gives us access to new ideas from different parts of the globe, as well as Peruvian voices so we can relate to all of our clients. You probably did speak to a native English speaker, but we have also had individuals from France, Quebec, Holland, and South Korea! We never know who is going to come to us next.

Thank you again for reviewing our shop. All the best to you on your travels.

Cheers!

Javier Chavez
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most fun in Arequipa. Chocolate making.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Chaqchao taking a class of chocolate making. We are a family of four with two teenage boys. We all loved it. Javier was an amazing and enthusiastic teacher. We also met a few other travellers from Alaska and CA. A great time! Got to make chocolate and learn the dos and don'ts. A must in Arequipa. Things like this make travelling still fun (after 11 months on a round the world trip).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaqchao Organic Chocolates also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Chaqchao Organic Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaqchao Organic Chocolates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.