We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpfull” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cabildo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Cabildo to your Saves list
El Cabildo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   M. Ugarteche 411 | Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpfull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel fo 2 nights with an intermission. The staff was helpfull and welcoming. The rooms were fine so were the beds.
My only reservation is the restorant - boring, the kitchen sent adifferent dish then ordered. As our stay in Ariquipa was short I cannot say a thing about the location. One thing for sure, not close enough to restaurants to choose from.
Their distance from the center has one merit - no Diesel stink/

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
35
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

There were few other guests when we arrived, but the welcome was warm and the room was clean and comfortable. It's quite a schlep to the centre of Arequipa but the hotel's restaurant served up a passable meal and the very friendly waitress was keen to please. A good overnight stop.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, NZ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A minus could be the hotel is quite a walk from the main town plaza but it is in a nice quiet area with only the occasional dog barking at night. The room was adequate and clean. The breakfast was excellent even when we had to leave very early they made sure we had everything we needed. We ate in the restaurant for two nights and found it on the expensive side but the meals we had were cordon bleau. The staff were pleasant and eager to assist. We left our bags in our room when we left for Colca Canyon and they were still there when we returned the next day, so we had the same room for another night. The view wasn't fantasic, it looked out to another side of the hotel but we were only there to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Differently they has been exposed on a plaque in its front door, it seems more a 3 star hotel than 5 one. But it is a good place to stay in the city. Its facilities are brand new and well conserved, good cofee break in the mornings, large beds and clean bathrooms. It seems to has a swiming pool but hasn't. The service in general manner is very good (as most people in Peru) but the price is a little bit above comparing what it provides against others of same level in Perú. The location is quite far from historical downtown, but taxis is very cheap in town. If you do not like to be in hostels and do not need to stay in a paradise resorts & spas, this will be the place in Arequipa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Lovely modern hotel - huge bed with walk in shower with great water force. Buffet breakfast with omelets cooked to order. Pleasant terraced garden and a patio and gym on the third floor.
Coca Tea available free on tap in reception. Ariquipa is at 2500m but if you are heading to the Colca Canyon or Puno at 3900/4000m altitude sickness can be a problem.

Room Tip: Make sure you get your 'fix' of free Coca Tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minett, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We thought the hotel was great. Only complaint was that the room was a little cold at night. Good location close to some great restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel is located in a residential area, 15-20 minute walk from the center.
Spacious, very clean rooms, nice design of the entire hotel, great outdoor area (garden, terrace, grill area).
We've had dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was all good.
The service is impecable, the staff is great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cabildo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cabildo

Address: M. Ugarteche 411 | Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cabildo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your El Cabildo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cabildo Arequipa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cabildo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.