We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, lovely place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal El Remanso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostal El Remanso to your Saves list
Hostal El Remanso
Calle Bolivar 403 | Cercado, Arequipa ARE 01, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 127 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed here for just one night but the staff treated us very well. They let us leave our bags when we did our Colca trek (the front gate is kept locked so it's safe), sorted our laundry for us (just 3 soles / kg) , booked us a taxi to the bus station and were always friendly, chatty and attentive - service with a genuine smile. The room was big, the bed comfy and the showers warm. Plus the view from the roof is great and the location (2 minute walk from the main entrance to Santa Catalina) is perfect - quiet and central. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at this hostel twice. The first time we arrived due to an early bus at 8 AM. That was not a problem at all: the spacious room was available and payment could be done after we had rested, according to the lady who welcomed us. The double room was enormous and very clean. Unfortunately there was no natural light, but the facilities made up for that completely. The bathroom was like a 5-star hotel: big, clean and modern. Hot water!

Because of our positive experience we went back to the same hostel one week later. Now we arrived very late, which was also not a problem. The lady recognised us directly and gave us the triple room at the front. That room was of the same quality as the double room, but even bigger. Bathroom is similar, so again very good. There is furniture to put in your clothes.

In general: the place is very new and they are still working to improve it. Very kind people running the place. They understand English, but hardly speak it themselves. You get big towels and soap for free.

It is very close to the main plaza and even for a baby it is literally a stone-throw away from the Monastery. Bear in mind that this is a bit of a party street, so some disturbance of street noise and music on Friday and Saturday is inevitable. With earplugs you sleep like the aforementioned baby.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the street will be quieter but lack natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here only for night night since we had a bus to catch the next morning. We arrived at 06:30, way earlier than our announced arrival time but that didn't matter. The receptionist welcomed us with open arms and showed us to our room, which is newly renovated and very clean and spacious. This is the place to stay in Arequipa if you want quality! The price is good as well!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

An authentic colonial building, located within 7 min of the main square. I was nicely surprized by the spacy and very clean rooms offered at a reasonable price. The roof terrace offers a panoramic view of the city with the Santa Catalina Monastery just in front of you. Don't miss to have your breakfast on this terrace. The hostal is a small family business that cares for each guest to feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
1.7 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
2.0 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#9 of 89 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
2.5 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#5 of 89 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
476.8 mi away
Park Hostel
Park Hostel
#13 of 127 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Villa Arequipa
Casa Villa Arequipa
#7 of 127 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Remanso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Remanso

Address: Calle Bolivar 403 | Cercado, Arequipa ARE 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, just three minutes walk from the Plaza de Armas.10 rooms including six bedrooms with private bathrooms and four with separated bathrooms.Breakfast included.Nice roof terrace with city view.Services:wifi, cable tv, computer, hot water, 24/24h Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hostal El Remanso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal El Remanso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.