We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela to your Saves list
Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela
Calle Jerusalen 606 Cercado | Cercado, Arequipa 01, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Arequipa
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel really deserves its 3 star designation. On the north end of the tourist district, La Casa de mi Abuela gets its share of tour groups and manages them well. Rooms are in two and three story buildings scattered around a large, grassy courtyard that includes a small pool. A double rents for S/59 and an excellent (and al fresco) buffet breakfast was S/15. Rooms are small but full featured. There's a strong and steady wi-fi signal in the rooms. A stellar new hotel near Colca Canyon, La Casa de Mamayacchi, is under the same management.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    97
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
37
87
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I do not recognise this hotel from some of the immediately preceding reviews. We found it comfortable and quiet apart from various nearby animals. Lovely gardens. Delicious breakfast. Restaurant could have been better but it was adequate. Walking distance to the cathedral and the monastery. Also don't miss the big food market just beyond the plaza major.

Room Tip: First floor is much better than ground floor
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I am at this hotel as I write this review. As a solo female traveler, I was placed at the far end of the property with what sounds like a chicken/ rooster farm over the brick wall. I heard the roosters crowing much of the night. The sound of footsteps, toilet flushing, tv, and bed springs in the room above are noisy. The room is outdated but clean. There is no hair dryer in this room. I cannot log on to the supposed wi-fi and have had to find a common area to use my computer. The shower head drips a thin stream of water.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I am trying to find another room in this hotel. I have no idea if there is a good one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

very beautiful setting behind a wall in Arequipa. reasonably close walking distance to the main attractions in Arequipa. quiet rooms with comfortable beds and good hot showers. the pool is lovely-but very cold (no heating) There is a table tennis table and computer room. Free wifi quite good, and breakfast is very good

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lovely hotel; the rooms were cosy, clean and comfortable and the staff were super friendly and helpful (including an immediate express back to the airport to retrieve a coat). The hotel is located just 15-20 mins walk from the main plaza which was perfect for us in terms of (less) noise at night, but convenient location nonetheless. Breakfast was varied and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

It was like a scene from a horror movie....

As we pulled into the dimly lit alley way, we looked at each other. Was this it? A Peruvian contact had booked the hotel for us -- we didn't thank him. Perhaps we were just unlucky with the room. The three of us were taken to a room which appeared to be untouched since the 1970s. Two beds downstairs and two upstairs on a wooden floor which looked likely to collapse at any moment. The dust was thick, the furniture filthy, the bathroom....well that was bizarre.

The bathroom was almost like an outside toilet, with its own roof, which had somehow been cobbled together to end up inside rather than outside. It had it's own tiled roof....inside the room. Hot water? No...but then that's not unusual for Peru. Clean? No....

The actual room was dark, dingy and dirty. We only paid $43 for the night....and we still felt ripped off. The furniture, the couch in particular, was covered in stains...I'm not even confident what sort of stains they were. Human fluid? I don't know.

The beds? They were actually OK if you didn't mind turning onto your side and looking at the peeling paintwork or dust on the curtains.

Away from the rooms, and the big notice at reception which warns you that no valuables will be safe in your room and that walking outside after dark is not recommended, the place was OK.

The garden area with the pool is perfectly nice and the restaurant area is nicely done - although the food was dire.

Breakfast was nice - sitting outside on the terrace enjoying the sunshine helped.

Overall, this place should not be labelled as a hotel. Rather a hostel masquerading as a hotel. Is it OK for a night? Possibly...we survived although we moved immediately the next day.

Arequipa is a lovely, picturesque city. This side of it doesn't need to be seen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Mixed quality in this hotel. My room was poor and below par in terms of maintenance and fire safety. Other rooms in different buildings were up to date. Garden is nice and pool is quiet for middle of city. Security guard at front door! Breakfast is great. 3 blocks away from city center. One block away from mini supermarket and some restaurants. Environment is noisy.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela

Address: Calle Jerusalen 606 Cercado | Cercado, Arequipa 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Arequipa, "La Ciudad Blanca", only six blocks away from the main square and in an area bigger than 3,500 mts2, lays “La Casa de mi Abuela”. The most traditional and recommended Hotel in Arequipa that for three decades, has welcomed our tourist friends, within enviroments surrounded by gardens, enjoying the twetter of the birds and the peaceful quietness our guests deserve. En la Ciudad Blanca, a solo seis cuadras de la Plaza de Armas y en un área mayor a 3,500 mt2, está “La Casa de mi Abuela”. El Hostal más tradicional y recomendado en Arequipa, que por tres décadas, viene albergando a nuestros amigos turistas, en ambientes rodeados de jardines, gozando con el canto de las aves y disfrutando la paz y tranquilidad, que nuestros huéspedes merecen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.