We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and out of teh way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Lago Estelar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Lago Estelar to your Saves list
Hotel El Lago Estelar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino al Molino de Sabandia, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice and out of teh way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice and relaxing place, little out of the way from the city. there is a shuttle that takes you to the city square twice in the morning and returns back at 5 pm.
Nice breakfast in the morning, but sometimes not ready when it opens the door. Friendly and helpful staff, most of them speak English.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    42
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
29
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arequipa, Peru
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Map of location is off by 45 minutes drive, street repairs require exerting from service entrance, crossing a soccer field, to find that there is no heat or AC in the hotel. Restaurant and bar during evening hours are as cold as a walk-in cooler. Food was less than average in quality. Requested an iron to spiff up my shirts, no irons......have to use their service @ $7.00 per shirt. Attempted to cancel with Expedia but never could connect.

Will not return to this place!

Room Tip: Not wort Not where it says they are and pictures do not tell of hotel location or obstacles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were only supposed to stay at El Lago Estelar one night, but extended our stay because we liked the hotel so much. The grounds are spacious and home to various pets (ducks, llamas, horses), as well as a pool, soccer field, and small pond with kayaks and paddleboats for guests. The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable, with WiFi, lots of TV channels, a spa, and a gym (that could use some updating). The restaurant was delicious, we ate all of our meals there and were never disappointed. They're also pet-friendly, although pets aren't allowed in the rooms, They have a separate area for them, but were super accommodating in letting us move to a room with a terrace and set up our dog's crate there. It was a great place to spend a few relaxing days.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor that face the pool have terraces that open up to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was in a short vacation with my family and we had good days. The breakfast is good as well as the food for lunch and dinner - I recommend "El doble"-
Clean pool, games for kids and space to play soccer, volleyball and to run or just read un the yard. The hotel is in the middle of the country and the air is very clean and nights are quiet.
They also have some pets -ducks and alpacas- and a small lake where you can use boats for free. Also, at the entrance, a boy rents horses to ride through the country.
At the end, we enjoy our stay so much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I took my family for a quick get away and this is a great place in Arequipa's countryside, away from the noise and city crazyness. However it is a little too far from downtown Arequipa where most of the attractions are located. If you just want a place to rest, this is a great hotel, very quiet. However if you want to walk around downtown and visit museums and go to some of the great restaurants, this hotel may be a little too far. My biggest problem was leave in the morning when it was sunny and warm and having to come back to the hotel to pick up coats for the afternoon/evening. Besides that, the people at the hotel do their best to make you feel good. They have breakfast at the restaurant overlooking the small lake. I just would like to see more choices of healthy food and they need to pay more careful attention when claening the bathroom.

Room Tip: Look for rooms closer to the lake and looking towards the Molino (south), they are quiet and you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMBAS
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is located in the middle of the country in Arequipa and is equipped with swimming pool and a large natural park of lawn.
The room is large and conformable, but very very cold without any possibility of heating. The restaurant is also very cold as for the diner where a fire was in the hearth but any strong to have a reasonable temperature for the diner.
The swimming pool is small and the temperature of the water in August is probably less than 15°C
It is possible to meet some domestic lama very close from the hotel
The hall of the hotel is very large
Equipment like safe wifi don’t operate in our room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and had a fantastic time. The hotel felt really relaxed. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The hotel has its own restaurant and the food was very tasty. I was pleased to see that they also had a selection of vegetarian meals. The pool area was clean and tidy and the hotel has a lovely view of the volcano. The hotel is a good way from the centre of Arequipa (15 mins or so in taxi) but that is the only downside, the breakfast was tasty but it would have been better as a buffet selection I think.

Room Tip: Some of the ground floor rooms open onto the pool at the rear or the lake at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel El Lago Estelar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Lago Estelar

Address: Camino al Molino de Sabandia, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Lago Estelar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a lakeside hotel in a very natural place. Estelar El Lago provides perfect harmony between business and pleasure with the perfect location and surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel El Lago Estelar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Lago Estelar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.